We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, a bit pricey”
Review of ROK bistro

ROK bistro
Ranked #13 of 377 Restaurants in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Evelyn
Transit: Caltrain Sunnyvale station
Description: Located on Historic Murphy Ave. in downtown Sunnyvale, Rok, Stone-Age Fondue & Steakhouse is a truly unique dining experience. Our signature specialty is called Hot Rok. Premium entrees are delivered to your table seared and sizzling on hot volcanic Roks. Diners bask in the aroma as their entrees cook right before their eyes. Every bite is hot, juicy, and delicious, ready to be enjoyed as is or dipped in a variety of our specially-created dipping sauces. We also offer the best part of fondue...cheese appetizer fondues and chocolate dessert fondues. If you combine Hot Rok with fondue in a pot (we call it the Rok n Pot) we guarantee a wonderful evening of dining enjoyment. Our full bar features fruit-infused vodkas and a wine list that offers many varietals by the glass. If coming just for the Rok, you can be in and out in an hour. If enjoying the Rok n Pot, you should plan on approx. 2 hours. Please join us for the ultimate evening of dining enlightenment.
Santa Clara, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great food, a bit pricey”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Fondue is always expensive. So the prices here are not totally out of line. But for the price, I'd like to see a bit nicer atmosphere. That being said, I've eaten here numerous times and the food is consistently good. The service can range from good to a bit slow. Portions are not huge, and have actually seemed to have gotten smaller since they opened.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrettSquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    44
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oahu
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun Concept”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Enjoyed Rok Bistro the other night while visiting Santa Clara. Wanted something different and that's what I got here. They bring your order seared but more on the raw side and you finish cooking it to your liking on a hot lava rock at your table along with a couple different sauces. Not only that it was delicious it was enjoyable to do it with the rest of your group. The sizzling and aromas all around you is great....it's like your in the kitchen and your the head chef and the food comes out great. Would definitely go back next time in town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanaloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for special occasions”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My most recent visit was for a work lunch, but have also been here many times for dinner. Yes, for dinner it can be a bit pricey, but lunch is a great bargain. At lunch, my fave is the hanging tenderloin. Soooooo good! Love the chimichurri sauce! And Mimi is a vey attentive server.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best. Restaurant. Ever.”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Rok Bistro has become our go to restaurant for special occasions and for entertaining when we have guests in town. The staff is wonderful. The food is incredible. And it's just so much fun to eat there! Every course is awesome - salads, cheese fondues, main courses that you cook yourself on those really hot lava tiles (and the veggies that come with the entrees are perfect), and of course the chocolate fondues. mmmmm For us it's definitely one of the pricier restaurants that we go to, but it's definitely worth it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliMom6008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing meat, regular atmosphere, friendly staff”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I come here whenever i can, the meat is amazing and the experience of cooking it yourself on a hot stone is worth the visit. Super friendly staff, always kind and helpful. A little bit expensive for the amount of food but it's high quality meat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maestropaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ROK bistro also viewed

 

Been to ROK bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing