We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great special occasion destination”
Review of ROK bistro

ROK bistro
Ranked #12 of 377 Restaurants in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Evelyn
Transit: Caltrain Sunnyvale station
Description: Located on Historic Murphy Ave. in downtown Sunnyvale, Rok, Stone-Age Fondue & Steakhouse is a truly unique dining experience. Our signature specialty is called Hot Rok. Premium entrees are delivered to your table seared and sizzling on hot volcanic Roks. Diners bask in the aroma as their entrees cook right before their eyes. Every bite is hot, juicy, and delicious, ready to be enjoyed as is or dipped in a variety of our specially-created dipping sauces. We also offer the best part of fondue...cheese appetizer fondues and chocolate dessert fondues. If you combine Hot Rok with fondue in a pot (we call it the Rok n Pot) we guarantee a wonderful evening of dining enjoyment. Our full bar features fruit-infused vodkas and a wine list that offers many varietals by the glass. If coming just for the Rok, you can be in and out in an hour. If enjoying the Rok n Pot, you should plan on approx. 2 hours. Please join us for the ultimate evening of dining enlightenment.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great special occasion destination”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I had a very nice birthday dinner. The cheese fondue was decent; dessert fondue excellent with interesting things to dip and appreciated being offered "refills". Entree filets were also excellent and it was fun to cook my own. Would have appreciated a couple more options of sauces for the filet - blue cheese, wine reduction, Bernaise are potentials. Service was friendly. Got birthday dish of ice cream. We would return.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MGreene16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    42
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere at the Rok”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Rok Bistro in downtown Sunnyvale was a good experience. I thought that the location was great. There was live music playing and there were a lot of people who were clearly enjoying the warm summer night. The selections, portion, prices, and service was good. When you order a main entree you have the option to add half-portions of a salad, cheese fondue, and dessert for $19 which I thought was a decent price. I would suggest adding this order if you are really hungry. I left the restaurant full and all I had was the Cajun Chicken & S'more fondue.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank namis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun, Different and good Eating”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Fondue, steakhouse, fish, fabulous salads. Icebreaking restaurant for conversation, good food and fun.. Cook your food on lava rocks. Go exotic and order alligator, buffalo whatever the exotic food is available. Be prepared to spend some big bucks. $$$$$. You can go cheaper with just fondue and salad and have just as much fun.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caniwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the Best Dining Experiences Ever!”
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Rok Bistro is located on Murphy Street in Sunnyvale, CA. on a nice quiet street with many other restuarants. A lot of them have outdoor seating which gives the area a very nice ambiance.
The Rok Bistro concept began when the owner was visiting Zimbabwe and had a meal that was served on a hot rock. He thought the concept was so interesting that he found a source for these volcanic rocks in China and started marketing them as a way to cook. He also opened Rok Bistro which features a wonderful selection of certified Angus beef, seafood, vegatables, and buffalo served in the hot rock. I had the buffalo and it was a perfect cut of meat. The rocks are heated in an oven overnight to 700 degrees. The food is served on the rock and cooks at your table. Cut off a bite size piece and cook it to your own taste right on the rock.
We also had parmesian cheese fondue as an appetizer which was prepared right at the table by our waiter. It was excellent!
The owner, Steve, came over to our table after we expressed a lot of curiosity about the concept to our waiter. He was a great guy and spent about 15 minutes telling us how he the concept evolved from that original trip to Africa.
I highly recommend Rok Bistro for its ambiance, lovely decor, great food and really great service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dralbertfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Fondue and steak (meat on a volcanic rock) - yum!”
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Fondue and steak (meat on a volcanic rock) - yum!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ROK bistro also viewed

 

Been to ROK bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing