We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying to find an identity”

The Firehouse Grill and Brewery
Ranked #47 of 377 Restaurants in Sunnyvale
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Trying to find an identity”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This place can't decide if it's a real brewery, a sports bar, or a 'breastaraunt.' I only had the beer and skipped the food. This was only because there appeared to be nothing on the menu I couldn't get at a hundred other places. Happy hour prices(M-F 2-6) make this a good after work joint. Other than that, I can't say that it has any particular draw. Unless you have a thing for waitress in skimpy outfits.......

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slovaktoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    30
    19
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ohio, USA
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 834 helpful votes
“Good beer, good burger, good service….works for me!”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Two colleagues and I ate at Firehouse Grill and Brewery following a series of meetings during a recent business trip. We left the hotel with no plan other than to head to Murphy Avenue based on the advice of one of the locals folks we had met with earlier in the day. My only suggestion was that the name of the place included “Pub” or “Brewery.” We let the GPS do the work and we soon honed in on Firehouse Grill and Brewery.

We found the place with no problem; the GPS guided us right in. Murphy Avenue is a very nice street lined with shops and restaurants. We were a little worried about parking, but found a garage at the end of the street, just across West Evelyn Avenue. Parking was free when we visited.

When we drove by, several of the advertisements in the window featured the servers dressed in tight top and short skirts. Not quite “Hooters” but working in that direction. As we had a young lady in our group, we gave her the option of trying one of the other places, but after walking in, we realized that this was a lot more upscale than Hooters, so we decided to give it a try.

Firehouse seemed to have a lot of seating, and while we arrived a little after 6:00 PM, we were seated immediately. We were given the option of sitting in the quieter area, which we took, but it was still bit noisy for conversation (not bad, but not that quiet either).

Service was excellent. The young lady helping us was quick, courteous and generally knowledgeable about the menu. She made sure that we got a couple of rounds in before happy hour ended at 7:00. We also tried one of the happy hour $5 appetizers, the coconut shrimp. She said it would be a god size to share between 3 people, and I guess it was for an appetizer (there were 6 shrimp). Very tasty.

We covered a wide range on our dinner orders. The young lady in the group had the chicken stir-fry, which she said was good, but had too much soy sauce. The other guy in out trio had the half-slab of ribs. Big portion! He liked the meal, but it was too much to finish. There were several items on the menu that looked good to me, so I asked the server for a recommendation. She said that the burgers were hard to beat so I went with her suggestion of the Bacon BBQ Burger. Good choice! Great burger with a good sauce on it. The steak fries were also quite nice (not greasy at all).

My bill for the evening including a couple of beers (OK, three) and tip was $35. Maybe a little pricey, but not bad. I would certainly return.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OhioHick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Excellent television sports coverages”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The place gets way too loud though. Selection of appetizers seems dismal--standard greasy bar food, and are more affordable at Happy Hour. However, note especially that the extra spicy hot wings are so nuclear spicy hot, they should be ingested with the utmost caution. Service is consistently questionable--waited over an hour for order of appetizers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarthAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced with small portions - but good anyway”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Maybe because the location is great (Murphy's historic street) they put the prices high... But they have their own beer! A plus for that. But if you are hungry in this street, look around, close there are better restaurants.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrickSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
“Do NOT go to this place with group”
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Food is over price, but the atmosphere is good. The beer is good. But this place charges more than it should be when you go with group more than 6. We have a group lunch there, it automatically charges 18% tips before it calculates tax. After that, it recalculate tips according the amount after tax.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank singulaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Firehouse Grill and Brewery also viewed

 
 

Been to The Firehouse Grill and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing