We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“European Elegance With Down Home Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn On Summerhill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn On Summerhill
Ranked #1 of 2 Summerland B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“European Elegance With Down Home Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband booked three nights at Inn at Summerhill for my "big" birthday getaway trip recently. We usually love quaint little inns and B&Bs and prefer them over hotels. We've had one experience where we got up and left during the night at one B&B from hearing noisy neighbors in the next room. I hoped this would not be one of those experiences when my husband voice a little concern about noise at this inn. But noise wasn't an issue even though this inn is situated above Hwy. 1 across from the beach. With the balcony doors closed, there's very little noise. And if you decide you want to turn on the music that is piped throughout the room and bath, even better. So do not run away from this place. Run to it. It's really worth the bit of nearby traffic blips.

Inn at Summerhill was really wonderful for this getaway. We stayed in Room 15 with an ocean view with an ample balcony (and view of the front parking lot and street). The room was quite superb with sumptuous canopy bed and elegant French country/English country furnishings. An armoire was part closet, part entertainment unit with a fridge filled daily with complimentary bottled water. Ours also came with a large tray of chocolate dipped strawberries and wine for my birthday. We feasted on the strawberries for the three-day stay.

Breakfasts were was sumptuous as the beds, served in the dining room or on the front patio or in your room, as we did the first day. Teas, coffee and fresh juices are self-served, along with a table filled with muffins, scones, croissants and other pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt and cereal is available to serve yourself while you wait for the wonderful chefs to prepare your hot meal. The first day our fare was a delicious frittata accompanied by wonderful chicken apple sausage links. Another breakfast was fluffy scrambled eggs with scallions and feta and bacon strips. Everything was beautifully prepared and plated and tasted fabulous. We enjoyed warm cookies one evening after returning rather late from our outings. The kitchen was closed, but we were offered tea and drinks with our cookies. Very nice. Although the Inn offers wine and cheese tastings every evening, we were always off exploring and wasn't able to experience it.

My husband treated me to a luxurious massage and facial on the first day at the Inn. Pamela was my clinician and she was perfect! Wish I could transport her back to Texas with me as she gave one of the best massages and facials I have experienced in some time. I left the spa area feeling extremely relaxed with all the kinks out, and ready to face a day of exploring Santa Barbara and playing on the beach.

The staff at Inn at Summerhill were young and vibrant and friendly and helpful. One young lady, in particular, and I did not get her name, was extremely engaging and helpful. She even carried my heavy suitcase upstairs for me, which I did not expect. The cleaning staff was wonderful as well. Everything was perfectly clean and pristine every day and every evening they appeared for turn down service with chocolates.

We hope to return to this lovely inn to explore more of the beautiful California coast. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of being in the Inn at Summerhill and didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: We loved our Room 15. Lovely and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vaustin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    30
    11
    6
    11
See reviews for
18
76
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I read reviews about the noice on Hwy 1 in front of inn and decided to book anyway because of all the nice comments. It is noicy highway, and it is loud, but because we live in an urban area, it did not bother us. We were on 2nd flood and we slept with the deck door open!
The room had very nice furnishings. Bathroom somewhat small, but many times that is the case in a BB or inn. Front desk was very helpful selecting a restaurant and making reservations for us.
We were offered breakfast in our room, which we accepted. Liked the convenience, but food would have been warmer if we had eaten in dining area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slhwk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We only wanted to stay one night in Santa Barbara and most places would only take bookings for two nights on a Friday or Saturday, so we ended up staying slightly out of town at the Inn on Summerhill. The location is a bit noisy as next to a busy road but you cannot hear any traffic at all with the windows closed. The rooms are excellent - very clean, very modern and comfortable with a large bed. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the rest of the property and the lobby is nice to look at and well decorated. It's not far into town, and if you want a good value one night stay near Santa Barbara, then this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizPaul_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

On our trip we stayed 2 nights at the Inn on Summerhill. First we were very disappointed cause there was road constructions right in front of the hotel and it stand awfully! We have been informed that it would stop at 4 p.m. Still we decided not to stay cause it was not what we expected at all! Because we had already made a prepayment, we would have had to pay for the first night and so we stayed. We did good! Afternoon tea and wine was served and we had delicious apetizers - homemade. In our rooms, it was very comfortable and clean! The nights were not really calm, but we knew that from other guests on trip advisor. We heard the Amtrak (why do they horn all night? In other countries, trains don't crash but still don't horn?) and the highway. The beds were good and so still we got enough sleep. Breakfast was delicious and we liked the breakfast room with its beautiful teapots. The cook prepared a speciality every morning and we got great surprises for breakfast on an upper level. It is not a place for families to stay, there's only tables for 2 outside. I think we haven't disturbed the other guests and we liked it a lot. In the evenings they served a desert. The chocolate tart could have been made in Switzerland - nothing from over-sweetened chocolate - Well done!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaiser96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in late July. Checked in a little late and the staff were very helpful and even left the cheese and wine out for us to enjoy after we unpacked. I will say however, the rooms are over crowded with funrniture and the bathroom had a petroleum smell when the shower was on.(not sure if it was the water, or heat/fan lamp) I let them know at the front desk, and it was taken care of while we were out. Not much of a view if you are on the bottom floor and the noise from the access road and the 101 are between you and the ocean. The breakfast was better than average and they had tasty snacks in the afternoon. Perhaps, I'm just not the B&B type because the other guest(much older) raved about the place.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor, if a view is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imjessesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

All the reviews for this place mention the noise from 101. They are accurate. Despite this we reserved a king room for three nights. The room was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding. Desserts in the evening were excellent. The service was adequate. Our kayak trip to the Channel Islands was incredible. I would highly recommend the Inn as long as one is aware of the only negative.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atowndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My Boyfriend and I adore this B&B. It's relaxing and romantic, a great escape from our busy work schedules. The food and staff make it all the better. We have stayed in a few different rooms and never had a complaint. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcrosebud33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerland
5.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
2.7 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#28 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carpinteria Inn
6.2 mi away
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Summerhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Summerhill

Property: Inn On Summerhill
Address: 2520 Lillie Ave, Summerland, CA 93067
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Summerland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Summerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn On Summerhill 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Amenities: Air conditioned, fireplaces, private bath w/Jacuzzi tubs, refrigerators, Cable TVs w/VCRs/DVDs, radios, clock, instant hot faucet for coffee/tea, ceiling fans, canopy beds w/pillow top mattresses, telephone in room and baths, voice-mail, balcony or patio in all rooms. Complimentary full breakfast, afternoon wine and hors-d'oeuvres, evening dessert, and turn down service. Friendly staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Inn On Summerhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Summerhill Hotel Summerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing