We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn On Summerhill
Nearby Hotels
Summerland Inn(Summerland)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
93
37
11
8
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
37
11
8
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanta barbaraevening dessertroad noisebreakfast in bednoise machineocean view balconyfour poster bedsan ysidrothe sliding glass doorjacuzzi tubbirthday weekendlight sleeperromantic getawaywine and cheeseceiling fanyogurtgreat weekend
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 162 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We only wanted to stay one night in Santa Barbara and most places would only take bookings for two nights on a Friday or Saturday, so we ended up staying slightly out of town at the Inn on Summerhill. The location is a bit noisy as next to a busy road but you cannot hear any traffic at all with the windows closed. The rooms are excellent - very clean, very modern and comfortable with a large bed. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the rest of the property and the lobby is nice to look at and well decorated. It's not far into town, and if you want a good value one night stay near Santa Barbara, then this is the place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizPaul_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

On our trip we stayed 2 nights at the Inn on Summerhill. First we were very disappointed cause there was road constructions right in front of the hotel and it stand awfully! We have been informed that it would stop at 4 p.m. Still we decided not to stay cause it was not what we expected at all! Because we had already made a prepayment, we would have had to pay for the first night and so we stayed. We did good! Afternoon tea and wine was served and we had delicious apetizers - homemade. In our rooms, it was very comfortable and clean! The nights were not really calm, but we knew that from other guests on trip advisor. We heard the Amtrak (why do they horn all night? In other countries, trains don't crash but still don't horn?) and the highway. The beds were good and so still we got enough sleep. Breakfast was delicious and we liked the breakfast room with its beautiful teapots. The cook prepared a speciality every morning and we got great surprises for breakfast on an upper level. It is not a place for families to stay, there's only tables for 2 outside. I think we haven't disturbed the other guests and we liked it a lot. In the evenings they served a desert. The chocolate tart could have been made in Switzerland - nothing from over-sweetened chocolate - Well done!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaiser96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in late July. Checked in a little late and the staff were very helpful and even left the cheese and wine out for us to enjoy after we unpacked. I will say however, the rooms are over crowded with funrniture and the bathroom had a petroleum smell when the shower was on.(not sure if it was the water, or heat/fan lamp) I let them know at the front desk, and it was taken care of while we were out. Not much of a view if you are on the bottom floor and the noise from the access road and the 101 are between you and the ocean. The breakfast was better than average and they had tasty snacks in the afternoon. Perhaps, I'm just not the B&B type because the other guest(much older) raved about the place.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor, if a view is important to you.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imjessesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

All the reviews for this place mention the noise from 101. They are accurate. Despite this we reserved a king room for three nights. The room was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding. Desserts in the evening were excellent. The service was adequate. Our kayak trip to the Channel Islands was incredible. I would highly recommend the Inn as long as one is aware of the only negative.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atowndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My Boyfriend and I adore this B&B. It's relaxing and romantic, a great escape from our busy work schedules. The food and staff make it all the better. We have stayed in a few different rooms and never had a complaint. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcrosebud33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews