We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay - even though a bit out of town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn On Summerhill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn On Summerhill
Ranked #1 of 2 Summerland B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay - even though a bit out of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We only wanted to stay one night in Santa Barbara and most places would only take bookings for two nights on a Friday or Saturday, so we ended up staying slightly out of town at the Inn on Summerhill. The location is a bit noisy as next to a busy road but you cannot hear any traffic at all with the windows closed. The rooms are excellent - very clean, very modern and comfortable with a large bed. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the rest of the property and the lobby is nice to look at and well decorated. It's not far into town, and if you want a good value one night stay near Santa Barbara, then this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizPaul_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    31
    11
    6
    12
See reviews for
20
84
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

On our trip we stayed 2 nights at the Inn on Summerhill. First we were very disappointed cause there was road constructions right in front of the hotel and it stand awfully! We have been informed that it would stop at 4 p.m. Still we decided not to stay cause it was not what we expected at all! Because we had already made a prepayment, we would have had to pay for the first night and so we stayed. We did good! Afternoon tea and wine was served and we had delicious apetizers - homemade. In our rooms, it was very comfortable and clean! The nights were not really calm, but we knew that from other guests on trip advisor. We heard the Amtrak (why do they horn all night? In other countries, trains don't crash but still don't horn?) and the highway. The beds were good and so still we got enough sleep. Breakfast was delicious and we liked the breakfast room with its beautiful teapots. The cook prepared a speciality every morning and we got great surprises for breakfast on an upper level. It is not a place for families to stay, there's only tables for 2 outside. I think we haven't disturbed the other guests and we liked it a lot. In the evenings they served a desert. The chocolate tart could have been made in Switzerland - nothing from over-sweetened chocolate - Well done!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaiser96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in late July. Checked in a little late and the staff were very helpful and even left the cheese and wine out for us to enjoy after we unpacked. I will say however, the rooms are over crowded with funrniture and the bathroom had a petroleum smell when the shower was on.(not sure if it was the water, or heat/fan lamp) I let them know at the front desk, and it was taken care of while we were out. Not much of a view if you are on the bottom floor and the noise from the access road and the 101 are between you and the ocean. The breakfast was better than average and they had tasty snacks in the afternoon. Perhaps, I'm just not the B&B type because the other guest(much older) raved about the place.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor, if a view is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imjessesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

All the reviews for this place mention the noise from 101. They are accurate. Despite this we reserved a king room for three nights. The room was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding. Desserts in the evening were excellent. The service was adequate. Our kayak trip to the Channel Islands was incredible. I would highly recommend the Inn as long as one is aware of the only negative.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atowndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

My Boyfriend and I adore this B&B. It's relaxing and romantic, a great escape from our busy work schedules. The food and staff make it all the better. We have stayed in a few different rooms and never had a complaint. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcrosebud33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our anniversary. We had an amazing stay. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. We plan to visit once every year from here on!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peacock1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have had three days at this lovely Inn. The room, the staff, the food were all quite superb. You could not ask for more. Unfortunately highway 101 rune right in front of this property and at times the noise is high and it stays that way for most of the time although it obviously lessens a little over night but never goes away. If you are light sleepers you might not get the sleep you want.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sevvynuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerland
5.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#14 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
2.7 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#16 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
6.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
5.8 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Summerhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Summerhill

Property: Inn On Summerhill
Address: 2520 Lillie Ave, Summerland, CA 93067
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Summerland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Summerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn On Summerhill 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Amenities: Air conditioned, fireplaces, private bath w/Jacuzzi tubs, refrigerators, Cable TVs w/VCRs/DVDs, radios, clock, instant hot faucet for coffee/tea, ceiling fans, canopy beds w/pillow top mattresses, telephone in room and baths, voice-mail, balcony or patio in all rooms. Complimentary full breakfast, afternoon wine and hors-d'oeuvres, evening dessert, and turn down service. Friendly staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Inn On Summerhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Summerhill Hotel Summerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing