We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“NICE SURPRISE IN STOCKTON” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Stockton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Stockton
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stockton
Certificate of Excellence
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“NICE SURPRISE IN STOCKTON”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

If you are from the area, Stockton gets a bad rap for crime. That really is concentrated in one section of town and not close to this hotel. First, the location is charming once off the main road where you turn onto a canal street lined with shops. You sort of forget that you are in Stockton.

The staff is friendly and and very accommodating. I was there for a three day workshop leading me to work with the catering and event staff. I have to say the whole staff was a pleasure to work with as well as friendly smiles from the cleaning staff. The public areas are nice, with an open atrium area to sit have a glass of wine and conversation. The restaurant is okay for a non-resort location and the bar is adequate. There just isn't much to expand upon in regard to the restaurant and bar area.

The room I inhabited for three nights was nice with a king bed, work space, flat screen TV and sitting area. The bathroom was tiny by comparison to other properties but noting to worry about for one person. If two people are preparing to step out, plan to take turns. The most important thing is that the room is not overly dated and the bathroom is clean.

Just a short drive are chain restaurants or for a real home town treat just walk across the street to Arroyo's Restaurant. Be warned this is nothing fancy, just a local Mexican food restaurant since 1946 with really tasty food. On a warm night, walk out the main entrance to Canal St, and just stroll a few blocks along the shop lined street.

If you are traveling along Highway 5 and need a rest, stop by the Hilton and be refreshed for the next leg of your drive. The hotel is situated just a few blocks from the freeway. I was pleasantly surprised to find this level of service and accommodations in this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChipsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Director of Sales at Hilton Stockton, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel and the area surrounding the hotel. We are fortuntate to be in a great location with a completely remodeled hotel and wonderful staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    176
    65
    26
    23
See reviews for
136
78
36
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Hilton. We were pleasantly surprised at the nice interior decor, the comfortable king sized bed, the 24-hour fitness center, and the easily accessible business center where I could check my email. The front desk personnel were knowledgable and friendly. Reasons for only four out of five? 1) doors in the hallway all seemed to noisily slam shut 2) the breakfast buffet was not really up to par (tired melon, no berries, limited entree choices) for the money, 3) pool was cold. However, the jacuzzi was nice, and we enjoyed our stay. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator when there are sports teams there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trummerflute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Director of Sales at Hilton Stockton, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We appreciate your selection of the Hilton for your travels to Stockton.
We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Stockton for a Social and Sporting event that we host each year. The Hotel has always been most accommodating for our group, but the customer service by the housekeeping staff went above and beyond I feel duty bound to report this high level of service.

I have attached a photo of the note we left for housekeeping describing the earring my wife somehow misplaced in the room. We spent the better part of the evening crawling around on our hands and knees looking for the earring, but to no avail.

My wife decided to make one last ditch effort to see if Housekeeping might be able to find the missing piece. Frankly, I figured we had lost and and it was a lost cause.

But the exemplary staff at Hilton Stockton did FIND my wife's earring and she was overjoyed. The way they tell the story, they cleaned the room and found nothing, then one of the two women suggested they make one last attempt to find the earring and they found it hiding behind the leg of the couch. What dedication and service.

We did as promised, give a reward to each of the ladies responsible and my wife is one happy camper.

When it comes to customer service, I'm just not sure it gets any better than this.

The hotel is bright and clean, the staff friendly and helpful, the location is close to transit but not so much as to be noisy and the food at our banquets was quite good.

I give them top marks in all classes.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the canal side. Its a much better view and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbundes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Director of Sales at Hilton Stockton, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We are pleased that the earring was found. We are very proud of our housekeeping staff and will be sure to pass on your review to the housekeeping team. Look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our social and clay target shooting organization hosted our March event at the Hilton. Our experience with the Hilton, rooms, meals, hotel staff, was excellent. The Stockton Hilton worked hard to assure we had a good event. Excellent experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Director of Sales at Hilton Stockton, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. Glad you liked our friendly staff and the hotel. We are pleased that you have selected the Hilton Stockton as you hotel of choice and thank you for recommending the hotel to your friends.
We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel everytime I've come to Stockton (almost monthly for the last year). The staff are friendly and helpful. I always enjoy the view of the canal and now that the trees are in bloom, it's even nicer. Lots of choices for restaurants within walking distance. Always a nice stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caribbeandd_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Director of Sales at Hilton Stockton, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We are pleased that you have selected the Hilton Stockton as you hotel of choice.
We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very nice hotel...professional and helpful staff. I really loved the corridors overlooking the lobby/lounge area. There is a large water fountain in the lobby which gives it a very elegant but comfortable feel. Rooms were very nice and clean. Had a balcony with small patio set overlooking a water fountain. Would definitely return and recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Had a great room with a balcony with small patio set for two. These rooms seem to be a little bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Director of Sales at Hilton Stockton, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay and that you enjoyed hotel. Thank you for recommending the hotel to your friends and family.

We look forward to your next visit to Stockton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel was clean and nice. I liked the interior corridors overlooking the lobby. My only complaint was the water pressure in the shower. It was a bit too much and made showering uncomfortable. Everything else was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shell345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Director of Sales at Hilton Stockton, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay and that you enjoyed our service and the hotel. We will look into the extra water pressure in the room you occupied. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Stockton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockton
2.9 mi away
University Plaza Waterfront Hotel
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Stockton
Courtyard Stockton
#4 of 28 in Stockton
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Stockton
Residence Inn Stockton
#5 of 28 in Stockton
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Stockton - March Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Stockton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Stockton

Property: Hilton Stockton
Address: 2323 Grand Canal Blvd, Stockton, CA 95207-6554 (Formerly Stockton Grand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Stockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Stockton
#3 Family Hotel in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Stockton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service Hilton hotel in Stockton, CA offering a variety of amenities. Hilton Stockton is located in the San Joaquin Valley, on I-5, less than an hour away from San Francisco & Sacramento (near the Stockton Arena convention center & the University of the Pacific). Rooms/suites are modern and elegantly-decorated. Or, upgrade to an executive room with executive lounge access (in our lobby, near the front desk). Enjoy WiFi, mini-refrigerators, LCD TVs, large work desks and seating areas. Other amenities include our 24-hour complimentary business center, access to our on-site restaurant/bar/lounge, a 24-hour fitness room, outdoor pool/whirlpool spa, walking track, room service, 24-hour gift shop, ballrooms/meeting space (with Audio/Visual equipment rental), Starbucks coffee bar, complimentary parking parking and a digital room key for HHonors members (some restrictions apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Stockton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Stockton Hotel Stockton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing