We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson Stockton
Nearby Hotels
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
La Quinta
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Stockton(Stockton)
$206
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Stockton(Stockton)
$199
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveler rating
49
22
43
39
159
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
22
43
39
159
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovie theaterclean roomsgreat customer serviceconvenient locationbusiness tripfree breakfastarenawaterfrontfreeway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 312 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

If I could give zero stars I would, this has to be one if the nastiest hotels I've ever seen! The pool was green and had slime floating on top, upon opening the room door there was trash on the floor, the quilt had not been washed since Jesus was in Pampers, and it smelled like wet sticky feet! We checked out 30 seconds after checking in. If this is the only available hotel, then sleep in your car!
Any good reviews of this location are fake, Id bet my life on it!

Room Tip: Go anyplace else!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoStockton, General Manager at Howard Johnson Stockton, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay with us. We would like to truly apologize that you were unsatisfied with your stay at our hotel. We understand your concern about our swimming pool. Unfortunately, all of our pool equipment broke and it took our pool company a little longer than expected to get our pool fixed because they had to wait on parts to be shipped in. We assure you that making sure our pool is up to standard is a high priority for us, along with our room standards. We are sincerely sorry to hear that our room was not up to standard. We wish that you would have expressed your concerns while you were still at our property so we could have upgraded your room to a brand new remodeled room. We hope that you will give us another chance to give you excellent service. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon! Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Even though we had reserved a family suit it wasn't available when we arrived. We were given 2 rooms instead which had stains all over the walls and seriously needed a good clean. I'm bemused how anyone could swim in the pool it was as green as the river. The bread for breakfast was stale. I'd be interested to hear if anyone ever inspects this hotel as pretty run down and not maintained. However staff are friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegriswoldstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoStockton, General Manager at Howard Johnson Stockton, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking your time and giving us your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize that the room you requested was not available, next time we will make sure we do not overbook room types. We would like to apologize that your rooms were not up to brand standard. We also understand that you were not satisfied with our breakfast. We are sincerely sorry that you encountered several problems during your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly though. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with excellent service. Again, we thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HoJoStockton, General Manager at Howard Johnson Stockton, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HoJoStockton, General Manager at Howard Johnson Stockton, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I would only go here for the swimming. I had two rooms for the fourth of July. I had to ask for both rooms because they did not have any in the rooms: refrigerator, microwave, towels, coffee, coffeepot, clock and shampoo. The bath, lamp, and t.v. in one room was broken. The room service did not come until 5 p.m. and we had to beg for towels and wait longer. The decor was a joke. Bedspreads were mismatched, and bedside table was rickety. The rooms walls were disgusting. On the good side, the staff was chipper and the handyman was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Roman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoStockton, General Manager at Howard Johnson Stockton, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

We would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay with us. We are still in the process of remodeling our hotel so some rooms still have the old furniture, we are doing the best we can speed up our renovation process. We are happy to hear that you had a good experience with our staff and maintenance man. We are confident that if you give our hotel another chance and stay with us again we will definitely provide you with excellent service. Perhaps we can even give you an upgraded remodeled room. We would like to thank you for your time, we appreciate your review. Even though you were not 100% satisfied we are happy to have your feedback so we can continue to improve. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews