We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run dont walk!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Stockton
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Stockton
Inglewood, California
2 reviews
“Run dont walk!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

If I could give zero stars I would, this has to be one if the nastiest hotels I've ever seen! The pool was green and had slime floating on top, upon opening the room door there was trash on the floor, the quilt had not been washed since Jesus was in Pampers, and it smelled like wet sticky feet! We checked out 30 seconds after checking in. If this is the only available hotel, then sleep in your car!
Any good reviews of this location are fake, Id bet my life on it!

Room Tip: Go anyplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoStockton, General Manager at Howard Johnson Stockton, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay with us. We would like to truly apologize that you were unsatisfied with your stay at our hotel. We understand your concern about our swimming pool. Unfortunately, all of our pool equipment broke and it took our pool company a little longer than expected to get our pool fixed because they had to wait on parts to be shipped in. We assure you that making sure our pool is up to standard is a high priority for us, along with our room standards. We are sincerely sorry to hear that our room was not up to standard. We wish that you would have expressed your concerns while you were still at our property so we could have upgraded your room to a brand new remodeled room. We hope that you will give us another chance to give you excellent service. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon! Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    19
    38
    39
    130
See reviews for
78
47
32
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Even though we had reserved a family suit it wasn't available when we arrived. We were given 2 rooms instead which had stains all over the walls and seriously needed a good clean. I'm bemused how anyone could swim in the pool it was as green as the river. The bread for breakfast was stale. I'd be interested to hear if anyone ever inspects this hotel as pretty run down and not maintained. However staff are friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegriswoldstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoStockton, General Manager at Howard Johnson Stockton, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking your time and giving us your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize that the room you requested was not available, next time we will make sure we do not overbook room types. We would like to apologize that your rooms were not up to brand standard. We also understand that you were not satisfied with our breakfast. We are sincerely sorry that you encountered several problems during your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly though. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with excellent service. Again, we thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stockton hotels

Stockton
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I would only go here for the swimming. I had two rooms for the fourth of July. I had to ask for both rooms because they did not have any in the rooms: refrigerator, microwave, towels, coffee, coffeepot, clock and shampoo. The bath, lamp, and t.v. in one room was broken. The room service did not come until 5 p.m. and we had to beg for towels and wait longer. The decor was a joke. Bedspreads were mismatched, and bedside table was rickety. The rooms walls were disgusting. On the good side, the staff was chipper and the handyman was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Roman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoStockton, General Manager at Howard Johnson Stockton, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay with us. We are still in the process of remodeling our hotel so some rooms still have the old furniture, we are doing the best we can speed up our renovation process. We are happy to hear that you had a good experience with our staff and maintenance man. We are confident that if you give our hotel another chance and stay with us again we will definitely provide you with excellent service. Perhaps we can even give you an upgraded remodeled room. We would like to thank you for your time, we appreciate your review. Even though you were not 100% satisfied we are happy to have your feedback so we can continue to improve. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Love my stay here. People are so nice and do what it takes to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms are clean, everything works great! Only place I stay when in Stockton!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockton hotels
0.3 mi away
University Plaza Waterfront Hotel
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Stockton
Red Roof Inn Stockton
#12 of 27 in Stockton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Stockton
Hilton Stockton
#2 of 27 in Stockton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
3.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Stockton East/Hwy 99
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Stockton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Stockton

Property: Howard Johnson Stockton
Address: 33 N Center St, Corner of Center & Weber, Stockton, CA 95202-2321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Stockton 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently upgrading and renovating, we are working hard at improving our property for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Howard Johnson Stockton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockton Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing