We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“swimming only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson Stockton
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Stockton
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I would only go here for the swimming. I had two rooms for the fourth of July. I had to ask for both rooms because they did not have any in the rooms: refrigerator, microwave, towels, coffee, coffeepot, clock and shampoo. The bath, lamp, and t.v. in one room was broken. The room service did not come until 5 p.m. and we had to beg for towels and wait longer. The decor was a joke. Bedspreads were mismatched, and bedside table was rickety. The rooms walls were disgusting. On the good side, the staff was chipper and the handyman was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Roman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoStockton, General Manager at Howard Johnson Stockton, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

We would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay with us. We are still in the process of remodeling our hotel so some rooms still have the old furniture, we are doing the best we can speed up our renovation process. We are happy to hear that you had a good experience with our staff and maintenance man. We are confident that if you give our hotel another chance and stay with us again we will definitely provide you with excellent service. Perhaps we can even give you an upgraded remodeled room. We would like to thank you for your time, we appreciate your review. Even though you were not 100% satisfied we are happy to have your feedback so we can continue to improve. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 301 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HoJoStockton, General Manager at Howard Johnson Stockton, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Love my stay here. People are so nice and do what it takes to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms are clean, everything works great! Only place I stay when in Stockton!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right next to downtown. Friendly staff will print and fax documents for free for you. If you are a vendor for the Assparagus festival they offer good rates. They also say they will be fully renovated by january.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Arrived after dark. First impressions were from the people loitering around the hotel, making me think I was in the middle of a drug/prostitution area. Probably was not as the surrounding area looked pretty nice. Hotel room took several tries to get key card to work. Had to fiddle with the toilet tank top get the water to stop running, and then each time it was used. Hardware missing in tub/shower leaving holes. Stringy dirt/something hanging from shower head. Entire room was dirty. Bed was horrendous, uneven, lumpy and uncomfortable. Ironing board but no iron. Rack for towels next to sink but no towels. Chairs at table wer fold up plastic. The whole property seems very unkept. I wanted to check out and talk with front desk in the morning when I checked out, but at 8am they were not open. Will never stay at that property again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKaseberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank SHARON M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockton hotels
0.3 mi away
University Plaza Waterfront Hotel
3.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Stockton East-Highway 99
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Stockton
Red Roof Inn Stockton
#12 of 26 in Stockton
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Stockton
Residence Inn Stockton
#3 of 26 in Stockton
136 reviews
4 mi away
Courtyard Stockton
Courtyard Stockton
#6 of 26 in Stockton
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Stockton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Stockton

Address: 33 N Center St, Corner of Center & Weber, Stockton, CA 95202-2321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Stockton
Price Range: $63 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Stockton 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently upgrading and renovating, we are working hard at improving our property for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Howard Johnson Stockton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockton Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing