We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
University Plaza Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Stockton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was wonderful. I have worked in the hotel industry for over 6 years both in housekeeping and customer service. This hotel surpasses all expectations. immaculatly clean rooms, friendly staff. Everyone smiles and makes you feel welcome. Our breakfast server Cheyanne was amazing! Great job!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jillybeanmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 478 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

The service was excellent! Thanks to Cheyenne, Dennis, David and the manager Chris they made our first visit thee best! We will be back for sure next weekend! We had the best time with the staff they kept our drinks full and smiles going we had such a wonderful time this afternoon I can't wait to come back!! Thank you all once again!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Serkloveschula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

And down this is the best place to stay it has all the amenities that you need and the staff goes above and beyond of what you would expect and the manager Nicholas Gray really stands out in my opinion and really helped me out when I needed it I also want to thank the whole staff for being so great

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Freddie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I visited the Stockton area for business and enjoyed staying at the University Plaza. The hotel is modern and has a nice green area for relaxing. The rooms are updated and nice, with plenty of room for working. The hotel is centrally located but there is not much around the hotel that you can walk to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I've always wanted to visit this local hotel and finally did so in April 2014 by going big and paying for the King Suite room. This was the most expensive and lavish room I've ever paid for and the experience was one of a kind. This type of room is located at the end of the hall with a double door entrance and once opened the room is split into 2 rooms which was awkward and if one of the 2 interior doors accidently closed you better hope you have your key card on you to open it! Being the end room, you have huge windows in both rooms looking out at the Stockton Waterfront. One room was the living room setup and included a full restroom, microwave, and fridge. The Second room was the bedroom with an additional full restroom, microwave, and fridge. Both rooms had balcony's with the bedroom balcony looking at the Stockton Arena and the living room balcony overlooking the pool and courtyard. I was, however, very disappointed that there was no tub to take a bath, but rather 2 showers with a single pane of glass (no door to shut). Water would splash from the shower onto the floor. Also, downtown Stockton is not safe and run down!

Room Tip: If you can afford the king suite on the 4th floor, its the best choice rather than the regular small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My daughter was married the last weekend of May, and we used the Waterfront Hotel as the place to put all of our out of town guests, and hold our rehearsal dinner, and hospitality. The rooms were great, and the service was friendly, and excellent from the staff. They went out of their way to make sure our 60 + guests were taken care of. The food at the rehearsal dinner and at a closing Sunday brunch was excellent, and everyone felt great about the event.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the water and the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woorace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

From San Francisco, we wanted a car show for dad, a pool, clean and nice hotel and to hit the Bass Pro Shop on the way home! As we searched for a hotel from here to there we came across the University Plaza in Stockton. We wanted something better than the Hampton Inns and Fairfield Inn. We found it! After much research, and upon arrival we were shocked! We were dropped into a resort setting, where we never wanted to leave!

The view of the river, the very clean room, the comfortable beds, the cute sundries shop, the amazing food, the ping pong, pool and amenities kept the kids busy and happy. This is the "best kept secret in Stockton" for sure. We arrived on Fathers Day at 3pm and the hotel was quiet! Not a lot of crowds, in fact we had the pool to ourselves! We carefully planned to be at the hotel when there was no formal affair (Father's day brunch was over) and it was a wonderful stay for us. We even had extended family meet us for dinner!

Two highlights worth mentioning: Engineer staff member Jose was extremely helpful when the lounge mats flew in the pool, he and my husband pulled them out...they weren't light either. He rushed to the pool when he saw the wind was blowing to save us from the umbrellas tipping over. He brought us the heat lamps while out on the patio in the evening. He was kind, professional and so helpful. You can tell he likes his job and has pride in working at such a wonderful establishment.

The entire staff additionally was so helpful, kind and respectful! Thank you for your security as well. They are under the radar..not seen but you know they are there! They even checked up on my brother who arrived for dinner making sure he was in the right place. We felt like VIPs for sure.

We will return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank titus w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockton hotels
3 mi away
Hilton Stockton
Hilton Stockton
#2 of 26 in Stockton
711 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Residence Inn Stockton
Residence Inn Stockton
#4 of 26 in Stockton
136 reviews
3.7 mi away
Courtyard Stockton
Courtyard Stockton
#5 of 26 in Stockton
118 reviews
3.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Stockton - March Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Waterfront Hotel

Address: 110 W Fremont St, Stockton, CA 95202-1902 (Formerly Lexington Plaza Waterfront Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Stockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stockton
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stockton
#3 Business Hotel in Stockton
Price Range: $127 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Plaza Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look no further. The elegant University Plaza Waterfront Hotel stands on the water's edge alongside Stockton's beautiful Delta waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your University Plaza Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Stockton
Lexington Plaza Waterfront Stockton
Regent Stockton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing