We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Stockton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
University Plaza Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Stockton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel has very nice amenities, my favorite being their grounds around the pool area. Outdoor pool tables, fire pits, lots of seating and right on the water. All of the staff were very friendly, accomodating and professional. Located right next to Stockton Arena (which is a pretty nice arena).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Readhed62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 479 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I read previous negative reviews about the area. I disagree for I am picky about where I stay and I did not see anything bad about the location or hotel. Very nice staff abd helpful and I went there to do a photo shoot of a model and I loved the room and nice grounds and lots of stuff to do in local area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubenV76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Beautifully manicured lawn(even if it was fake;)..pool and spa with furniture you'd expect to find in Vegas or at the W hotel..food was awesome (try the steak sandwich or salmon) A few of the staff knew me by name by the end of my 3 day stay. We were up early everyday so one thing I never was able to take advantage of was that HUGE bar and courtyard..they have outdoor pool tables and ping pong...yes pool tables! I could only watch families out there enjoying themselves because I had to sleep but I'm coming back soon so that is one thing I will be sure to take advantage of more. Rooms were clean.. beds were VERY comfortable. Can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard or arena view...I didn't have either but my coworkers did so I will be sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We loved staying at the University Plaza Waterfront Hotel, eating dinner at their restaurant, and docking our boat at the guest dock at the Stockton Marina next door. Unfortunately, our boat was robbed and vandalized overnight while we were sleeping on our trip last weekend. This hotel looks great in pictures, but is in a very bad part of town. We will no longer be staying at the hotel because we cannot trust our boat to be safe at the security gated marina next door. Nice hotel, but unsafe area!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Rooms are kind of dorm like. Decor all though not all blue just seemed to dark. My air conditioning was not working and temp outside was unbearably hot. Called front desk to have fixed. Maintance must have come up while I was out as room cooled down to 74 from 87. Left for dinner and when I came back later it was 81 again. It was a miserable night. Next morning looked for the coffee maker and there was not one. What hotel doesn't have a coffee maker in the room now days?

Room Tip: requesting a room overlooking the water and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ploegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Picturesque views.. Sits right on the waterfront. huge park & wharf across from it. The Hotel is situated In old Downtown Stockton right next to the Events center & stadium. Rooms are modern & clean. Staff very friendly & accommodating. WIFI works excellent, refridge & Micro in all rooms. Large pool area & many Lounge chairs to relax & take in the views. Came here for an energy training (saveonmyutilities.myambit.com) The place has small to medium sized conference rooms

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

with upscale surroundings and a great view I enjoy a day of recreation and great food. The bar is exceptional and the dining area is first class. This facility offers the best in food and above average rooms in the area. All employees are very friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors have a great view of downtown Stockton and afterdark the waterfront w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockton hotels
3 mi away
Hilton Stockton
Hilton Stockton
#2 of 26 in Stockton
713 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Residence Inn Stockton
Residence Inn Stockton
#4 of 26 in Stockton
136 reviews
3.7 mi away
Courtyard Stockton
Courtyard Stockton
#5 of 26 in Stockton
118 reviews
3.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Stockton - March Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Waterfront Hotel

Address: 110 W Fremont St, Stockton, CA 95202-1902 (Formerly Lexington Plaza Waterfront Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Stockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stockton
#2 Family Hotel in Stockton
#3 Business Hotel in Stockton
Price Range: $126 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Plaza Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look no further. The elegant University Plaza Waterfront Hotel stands on the water's edge alongside Stockton's beautiful Delta waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your University Plaza Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Stockton
Lexington Plaza Waterfront Stockton
Regent Stockton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing