We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Stockton!! From the Elite Softball team” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Plaza Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added University Plaza Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
University Plaza Waterfront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 West Fremont Street, Stockton, CA 95202 (Formerly Lexington Plaza Waterfront Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Stockton
Certificate of Excellence
Novato, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Stockton!! From the Elite Softball team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

If you are staying in Stockton, this is your place! The staff is amazing and the customer service is impecable. The staff are always friendly and helpful, and the rooms are very comfortable. The attention to detail, and their visitors is priceless.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the river, or the lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelly t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Ramon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Went to the University Plaza waterfront restaurant - The Delta Bistro & Lounge. Our waiter Charles was on the ball. This place was packed. We and several thousand other people were going to a concert next door. The bar and restaurant were pack. Everyone told us that any food order would take an hour or more we only had about 40 minutes. We found a table in the bar and Charles told us the sad news but also told us we could get the buffet from the restaurant. For $15 all you can eat buffet which was a bargain. Charles took our drink order and I thought well if the food orders would take long so would the drinks. Charles was on top of it. Got our drinks to us in less than 5 minutes. He also came back an got us a second round. And the drinks were awesome not watered down it was perfect. Charles was great and with this being our first trip to this Bar and Restaurant, I'm sure we will be back looking for Charles when we go to our next concert in Stockton.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blaw93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Anyone considering staying at this hotel needs to understand that the University Plaza Waterfront has a partnership with UOP to house some of its students. This fact is not clearly indicated on the hotel's website, and might have affected our decision to stay there had we known. Lacking that knowledge, we made an online reservation for a single weeknight just after Labor Day. Check-in was a bit of a circus -- only one person working the desk, and she was mired in dealing with some complex resident student problem. This seems really inefficient; it would be much better to have a desk employee who is dedicated to handling student issues so that the regular customers can check in or out in a timely manner. Sure, the desk clerk was nice enough, but the process was much slower than it had to be. When we made it to the head of the line, the clerk said that the hotel had "lost" our reservation and we would need to dictate all of our information to her again. According to the clerk, the hotel's reservation system is contracted out to a third-party website that is supposed to forward the reservation information on to the hotel via FAX(!), and the hotel's FAX machine is "unreliable." Pardon me, but 1997 called and wants its technology back! After that, it was time to stow the car. Be advised that here's no on-site parking for customers, so we had to park in the adjacent ballpark's lot. Not a big deal after the end of the baseball season when downtown Stockton is completely dead, but you have to wonder what happens during the summer. Finally got up to the room, and even though it was clear that the hotel was not even close to being full, the clerk put us in a room facing the ballpark and its parking lot. We couldn't even see the water or the pool, which are supposed to be some of the property's main attractions! After that, we noticed that most of the electrical appliances in the room (e.g., alarm clock, coffee maker, desk lamp) weren't plugged in, and quickly understood why: there were hardly any outlets in the room to use! The king bed and linens were decent, but the bathroom was kind of odd -- it had a glass door, so the entire living space was illuminated whenever anyone switched on the bathroom light. That disturbed our sleep a little, but the last straw was the drunken carousing students who woke us at 3:00 AM. Why doesn't the hotel separate the resident students from the regular guests, especially when they have plenty of available vacancy? Bottom line: the pool and bar look nice, so there's potential, but management seems to have no idea about how to run a hotel so that its customers will return. Please do yourselves a favor and stay elsewhere unless this hotel does the unlikely and gets its act together.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank urkelsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel was very quiet and pleasant. Staff were super helpful and nice. Can walk to restaurants and store. Safe, outdoor parking. In a quiet area of town, very pretty by the water. Clean, modern rooms. Good room service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 190LouiseG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, CA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a fine, upscale hotel in the perfect downtown Stockton location - you can guess it by the hotel's name! All the reviews below are on mark - nice rooms, fine bar, great views, etc. You will be pleased to stay here.

My only gripe is that it seems the staff is 'in training'. We were 'greeted' by mass confusion at the front desk (the hotel also serves a upscale 'dorm' for UOP students) but they eventually worked thru the check-in process. The 'rack rate' was $159 but the staffer told me she could offer us $139...we thanked her and moved on. The morning experience of purchasing some snacks and stuff from the shop there was equally confused...I beleive she doulbe charged me (for the couple of bucks I wasn't going to worry about it). Then, upon check out we were charged $159 (I asked for a receipt and that led to a hunt of the paerpwork??) and was told that she couldn't 'fix' it and would have her manager do so. We rec'd two subsequent receipts by e-mail (two!) both at the $159 pricing!

I normally don't focus on the negatives when travelling (hey, it's part of the experience) but this first class hotel would benefit from a trained, competent staff. Fix that and this is a gem of a hotel.

Fin

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhmvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel is a travelers dream!! The room was Gorgeous, the Bar inviting, and the Restaurant's food was Grub!! And even better than those great qualities were the people working them. They were Warm, Funny, and 100% on their Game. A Special Thanks to the Shuttle driver, Mike who got us to our Event (@Bob Hope Theater) in plenty of time and stayed late so we could get back to the hotel safely (and we really needed the help).

Many Thanks to the Great People at University Plaza Waterfront Hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Sacramento California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I'm back at work today after spending the weekend at this hotel. I enjoyed myself to the fullest! I loved EVERYTHING about it. The rooms, decor, lots of seating out on the lawn, the food, staff, and the pool area are just fabulous!! Its PRIME location is awesome, and you can easily forget that you are less than an hour from Sacramento. I will definitely share this beautiful property with friends, family and business colleagues. Oh, and the free guest parking and shuttle service! BIG + + + :0) Pick up the phone and book your reservation! This is definitely a hot spot for any type of event.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the corner suites. The view from this room is just incredible! You just have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarshaR128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockton
2.9 mi away
Hilton Stockton
Hilton Stockton
#3 of 28 in Stockton
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
3.7 mi away
Residence Inn Stockton
Residence Inn Stockton
#5 of 28 in Stockton
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast
3.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Stockton
3.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Stockton - March Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Waterfront Hotel

Address: 110 West Fremont Street, Stockton, CA 95202 (Formerly Lexington Plaza Waterfront Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Stockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stockton
#2 Family Hotel in Stockton
#3 Business Hotel in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — University Plaza Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look no further. The elegant University Plaza Waterfront Hotel stands on the water's edge alongside Stockton's beautiful Delta waterway. Recipient of the California Green Lodging Program Leadership Level award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your University Plaza Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Stockton
Lexington Plaza Waterfront Stockton
Regent Stockton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing