We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Stockton)
View Hotel
Rodeway Inn(Stockton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
7
8
11
18
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
8
11
18
24
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 68 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Got excellent "secret" deal at $52 / night compared to published rate of about $110. Good news was that staff were super-friendly and efficient, room was big, everything seemed clean. Bad news? Very depressed area, hotel was effectively empty (I counted about a dozen vehicles in parking lot), room showed wear & tear (frayed carpet at divider, stains on ceiling), limited service in restaurant. I'd not likely stay there again even though my heart goes out to the staff who obviously do their best to work under difficult conditions.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2017

Your feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional guest experience. Thank you for sharing with us about our staff and parking. Your voice is so important to us and we hope you'll return so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with a five star experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because we have a dog; while walking our dog early in the morning we found someone had broken into our vehicle and was still ransaking it! We were not the only people robbed; a motorcycle was stolen and 2 other vehicles were also broken into on the same night. The night manager came out while the sheriff was taking our report and apologized because she was supposed to patrol the area. The rooms are inexpensive but staying at here may cost you more then $ in the long run!

Room Tip: If you must stay at this hotel request to stay in the front buildings try to avoid the back of the hotel at all cost!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyndi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2017

We are continuously improving upon our services and accommodations and want to thank you very much for your comments about our area. We wish all guests to have a convenient and accommodating experience, and we thank you for sharing your rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We selected this hotel with some reluctance because at $62 a night, we were ready for a flea-bag. It turned out to be a pleasant surprise. It's an older hotel but the rooms were clean and spacious. Believe it or not, the $62 included a good breakfast, too. The pool looked clean. Randal the bartender was friendly and helpful. Debbie the breakfast waitress was friendly. The bar and breakfast were open despite there being very few guests. They must be struggling financially but all of the essentials were there for our stay so we left well satisfied.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry89509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2017

We are always striving to improve our offerings and that is why your input is so important. Thank you for sharing your feedback pertaining to our breakfast and pool. We hope you'll return to enjoy the continuous improvements made in our policies, accommodations and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We are very disappointed with our recent (Feb. 19, 2012) stay at the Clarion Inn & Suites in Stockton, California (on Waterloo Rd). We were in Stockton for my brother’s wedding and purchased 2 rooms. The hotel was basically empty and yet we were placed in the wing closest to the very noisy freeway. Not very good customer service by the very rude front desk clerk either. Since the rooms were stuffy, we tried to turn on the air conditioners and neither one of them worked. I called the front desk, and the front desk clerk, told me that there was no one that could take a look at them but they would make a note of it. They also needed to make a note of the pet stains in the carpet as well. So, after a very uncomfortable night, we got up, got ready for the wedding and went to the lobby for breakfast. However, there was NO breakfast as promised in our reservation. I even confirmed the time breakfast would be served when we checked in. We were told Sorry, ‘the lady that usually does breakfast didn’t show up’. REALLY??? That’s the explanation? One of the main reasons we choose to stay at this hotel was that it offered breakfast. Since the Groom stayed with us that night, I especially wanted to make sure he got something to eat. With all the issues we had with the Clarion, I will not stay or recommend this hotel ……very disappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dennisfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2017

Thank you for sharing this experience with us. We truly value you feedback with regards to our breakfast and service. Through guest feedback like yours, we are better able to further improve guest experience for future visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

The Clarion is an older property with a very convenient location if you're traveling in Central California on 99 or 5. There are lots of fast food places within walking distance and A Dennys across the street plus a restaurant/bar in the motel.

I never expect the older properties to be perfect - whenever you stay in an older motel, you expect to do without some of the extras or design features newer places have - the trade off is usually an economical price and/or good location.

I was here for one night to attend a going-away party given at a local venue nearby which is why I picked it - I booked a "King Suite" which normally runs close to 90 bucks but i had a free night from Choice Privileges.

- - - The check in process was easy, quick and the front desk staff was friendly enough

- - - The room (Suite) was huge. It had full size couch, 2 rooms, 2 TVs. Thinking it would be good for a family. TV's were old and not in best condition - kind of what you expect for an older motel. But honestly, it wouldn't take a lot of work to give the rooms and property a much needed make-over.

- - -The hallways smell of smoke, there's no security on the outside doors to the building. Many of the screens on the bottom floor have been pried off it appears from attempted break ins. This place really needs a paint job inside and out badly.

- - - When I first got to the room, there was actually garbage still there from the previous renter that housekeeping must have missed. The towels seemed as old as the property and could really be thrown out. Bed was comfortable enough but it seems such a waste of such large rooms with the 1970-1980's type furniture and set up.

- - - Restaurant/Bar - they give you a voucher for a free breakfast at the restaurant which i tried to use but after waiting nearly 15 minutes for anyone to seat me (there were 2 couples eating there - both said they'd been waiting nearly 20 min for their order. I went to the front desk and saw the waitress out front dishing with the housekeeper. No thanks. I heard the food was not very well from others and they suggested Dennys . I had to catch a plane in Sacramento so i skipped the free breakfast. The restaurant also looks like it hasn't changed in 25 years and could really use some new carpet and a paint job.

I had a cocktail the night before and the bar was a bright spot - Randall the bartender was efficient, friendly and probably the best thing this place had going for it.

- - - Location - like I said probably the best thing going for this place is the location. People complaining about freeway noise shouldn't be surprised - it is right off the freeway after all. it can be difficult to get out on Highway 88 during the evening rush hour as there are no lights.

- - - Check out - no one around for that either - so i have no idea what the process is like - i just left.

Being a Clarion - I expected more. This property is completely at the bottom of the low end for this chain IMO. If they spent a little to spruce up the place - update the rooms a bit (im not talking designer here - clean alone would be a start) they'd have a much better place. The curtains in my room were broken and i didn't want to touch them anyway - very stained and ripped.

So if you must stay here - i'd advise you to avoid the restaurant, bring your own towels and don't expect much above an older (much older) "Motel 6" type experience.

I really wanted to like this place but it needs a make-over and maybe some customer service training for the staff (Like actually be in the restaurant would be nice)

Room Tip: Suites are large and probably safe as they're at the end of the interior halls.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreampilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate the insight regarding our staff and bed. We hope to see you again in the future and to impress you with the continued improvements we make.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews