We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrive Hungry....”

Nena's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #132 of 537 Restaurants in Stockton
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nena's Mexican Cuisine is the best Mexican Cuisine in town! A Place that Feels like Home and Tastes like Mexico Un Lugar con Ambiente Familiar y Sabor a México
California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Arrive Hungry....”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family enjoys the buffet lunch. Food is always fresh, tasty, and plentiful. The waterfront view is very relaxing, the grandkids like watching the boats pass by.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank njoynlifeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    30
    10
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arnold California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Real Deal! Mexican Food at its finest”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Nena's has it all! Great food and wonderful scenery. The staff is very good and the owner walks through the restaurant to make sure her guest are happy. You do not see that very often.
I suggest you try Nena's at the waterfront warehouse.
Laurie Andrade
Arnold Ca

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firemanwife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great flavors one of the best in town”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Since relocating near the waterfront from their previous location the biggest change i've noticed is........nothing. That's a good thing as the food is excellent. I recommend lunch on the patio when the weather is pleasant . nice views of the waterfront and the baseball arena.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not my cup of tea.”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I truly can't remember anything about the food except that it was not my favorite place to get Mexican food. I didn't like the inside of the restaurant at all but they have moved since then.

Helpful?
1 Thank ladytisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nena's Mexican Restaurant Staff need to take some customer service classes”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was in Stockton, CA on Sunday so I decided to check out Nena's Mexican Restaurant. I have read the reviews (both positive & negative) but decided I see for myself. First of all, we were not seated by staff...we had to walk around until we found a place to sit. We were given chips & salsa to munch on and the salsa was pretty tasty. It seems like it took forever for the waitress to take our order. So we get our food and I couldn't believe the plate sized homemade tortillas!!! They were wonderful but I would have preferred regular sized tortillas because they're easier to deal with. I ordered the Camarones a la Diabla. The presentation was great but I was not impressed with my meal. The refried beans were tasty but they lacked texture...meaning they were runny and I actually needed a spoon to eat them. The Camarones a la Diabla weren't even spicy...and they had a sweet taste to them. Very disappointing!!! We also had some guacamole and it did not taste authentic. It might have been store bought and they added some onion & tomatoes. To top it off, our waitress saw that we were finished eating but took her time bringing the bill. I might give this place another try but the owners need to school their staff on customer service, :(

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyingSolo916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nena's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nena's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing