We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Restaurant in Northern California” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocoro Japanese Bistro & Sushi

Cocoro Japanese Bistro & Sushi
Ranked #5 of 511 Restaurants in Stockton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Northern California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I've been addicted since the day it opened. If I could have arranged it we would have had our wedding reception here!
Consistently highest quality raw fish; talented chefs prepare wonderful meals. If you don't care for sushi you can still have a top notch dinner from the cooked items. Spicy-crunchy scallop roll best ever.
Now that they offer a selection of draft japanese beer it is even better.
Sometimes we've waited an hour for a table in peak season, but it is worth it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    21
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
385 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Fun, and Great Variety of Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was with a family group of seven, all ages. We tried a diverse amount of menu items, from the daily special, to a number of sushi rolls, tempuras, gyoza, miso soup etc. EVERYTHING was supurb. Quality of food as well as plating were all top notch. Service also was excellent, knowledgable and prompt, even with a busy lunch crowd. Location on Miracle Mile also very good and for quality/quantty of food, prices very fair. Will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ETMATOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Excellent Sushi bar and restaurant. Always very crowded, especially for the after work crowd. Down on the Miracle Mile. A fun place to be

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Amazing food! Inventive and extremely fresh!! Try the salmon, bacon, pineapple roll- it's an explosion of flavor!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brookside Area the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Cocoro is great, we always order the Asparagas Beef Wrap with our various sushi rolls. The fish is FRESH and the combinations include old favorites and exciting new flavors. You cannot go wrong at this restaurant, but the Brookside location is very small and meant more for takeout than eat in. Enjoy!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sk8rsm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocoro Japanese Bistro & Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Cocoro Japanese Bistro & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing