We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD FOOD - LARGE PORTIONS”
Review of PAPAPAVLOS

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
PAPAPAVLOS
Ranked #202 of 534 Restaurants in Stockton
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD - LARGE PORTIONS”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The food and chance to dine outside on an unseasonably pleasant night added up to a nice experience at Papapavlos. The size of the portions is amazing. I ordered lamb chops – the plate arrived with four generous sized chops and a nice array of fresh vegetables and rice. The other people in our party had the same experience with the fish dishes they ordered. The Greek style salad that comes with the entrees was also on the large size – only nit is that I wish the dressing was a bit tangier. Good value – friendly efficient service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TominCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting assortment”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We really like the ambience of Papapavlos, particularly out front (not so much in back, though it is quieter for groups). The menu is diverse and the food is quite fresh. The breads, hummus and vegetables are memorable. An enjoyable place to dine with friends.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelingscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Stockton”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is the best restaurant in town. The service and food are excellent. Order the "Flaming cheese" - it is delicious and an exciting beginning to your meal. My favorite for lunch is gyro salad and for dinner is spanokopita. My husband loves the steak and the pasta. My sone loves the lamb. My daughter loves the pasta. Grilled vegetables are delicious. Save room for dessert. Perfect place for special ocassions.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“over rated”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The food is ok but not all that. Portions are small and pricey and they don't offer enough healthy and vegetarian items. Even though the restaurant is clean and pleasant, the service can be stuck up and the clientele is a bit too arrogant and bourgeois for me.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank kruemmelchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredibly disappointed”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I went for a dinner with some colleagues based on some recommendations from locals. I found the restaurant to have a great atmosphere and was quite busy for a Wednesday evening. That said, the disappointment started once our entrees arrived. I ordered the Papapavlos Combination and found it to be rather bland. My colleague ordered the Gyros plate which had a measly four strips of meat - somewhat overpriced given the plate's $19 pricetag. For the prices that they charge for entrees, I expected something a bit better. Certainly better values in the Lincoln Village area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VikingFromTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PAPAPAVLOS also viewed

 

Been to PAPAPAVLOS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing