We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday @ the Bar”
Review of Elephant Bar and Restaurant - CLOSED

Elephant Bar and Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Stockton, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“birthday @ the Bar”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I choose the Elephant Bar for my birthday lunch/dinner; it's always delicious and the service is friendly and prompt. Hubby had half sandwich with soup and salad. Presentation was beautiful and tasted great, I was told. Yummy, tomato bisque! The Mongolian beef was tasty but not overly spicy. The woody, warm peppers add to the heat but you need not eat them to enjoy this dish. Oh, for my birthday I got a sundae "on the house."

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grammawa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good variety -- younger crowd”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Some items were good, some average. Somewhat inconsistent. More of a younger crowd. Have been a couple of times, may not return with other better resturants nearby.

Helpful?
Thank love2roam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Trying too hard...”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I've been here twice and felt the same each time. It seems like they are just trying too hard to be cool. Their food isn't as good as the decor in my opinion and even the decor seems overdone. There were many things on the menu but not many I would choose. I wasn't at all happy with the service we got as we had to ask for silverware three times and for drinks twice. I'm not sure if they are understaffed or just don't care but I've tried twice and won't go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrystalique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodi,ca
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent bar service”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I have dined here 4 times. The service at the bar is excellent. We prefer to order our meal there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank akaylia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very good food lots of flavor”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have been here a few times I love the food so good. We celebrated a birthday here and the staff is always great very nice the bar area is very nice good drinks great prices.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlene U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing