We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Stockton
Post
Inbox
Search

“Fabulous Fresh Sushi”
Review of Toyos

Toyos
Ranked #110 of 628 Restaurants in Stockton
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you love sushi and you're any where near Stockton, you will enjoy the excellent rolls and sushi at Toyos. Tucked in a corner of the shopping center, it is SO WORTH looking for. Everything we ate was fabulous! If you ask the sushi chef, you'll get the freshest fish. We LOVED this place!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Harriet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed March 23, 2017 via mobile

We arrived and the place was fairly packed as it is a small space. We were seated immediately and menus and drinks provided. Then we were left alone for a bit as everyone seemed to arrive at the same time. The wait staff was friendly but a little overwhelmed. The sushi bar is a large one but most of the clientele sat at the tables .
Our appetizer was potato croquettes which was a bit different for a sushi restaurant. It wasn't my favorite. The Sashimi Deluxe was presented beautifully however and came with Miso soup and a salad and rice. It looked amazing.
We tried several rolls; The crazy monkey with the tempura asparagus in it was quite lovely with the added lemon zest as an accent. Absolutely delightful.
The Hawaii roll was good but the other two rolls eclipsed it by far. Our third roll, the Ninja was awesome. To be fair the Ninja and the Crazy Monkey rolls were both special rolls while the Hawaii is a fairly common offering. My first bite of the Ninja roll was surprising and the fried eel hidden inside is the secret that sneaks up on you. It was amazing and comfort" foodie" and unusual all at once. Really splendid.
As one of the offerings in the Sashimi platter was White Tuna which if you get to try it you will want nothing else.
All in all the food was really great but the service was a little erratic. They offer an extensive menu. They need more wait staff on a busy night. Friendly and helpful, but overwhelmed at times.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank DaddysMink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

Restaurant actually named "Toyo Sushi" . In Raley's Strip Mall near the 99. Service super fast and awesome. Owner takes personal attention to guests. Local favorite is "The Beast", which is various Sushi with beef strips, jalapeños, and scallions on top. Many varieties of Japanese specialties to choose from, sushi, sashimi, tempura, teriyaki, etc. prices very reasonable, and plenty parking in front.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank ETMATOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2016

I am going to go ahead and put my reputation on the line and say this place has the best sushi in town. The staff here are beyond friendly and give phenomenal service. I have been here a handful of times and have always left more than satisfied.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lataushaf2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Toyos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing