We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Redwoods Haus Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$149
$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamalpais Motel(Mill Valley)
$119
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marin Suites Hotel(Corte Madera)
$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 San Rafael(San Rafael)
$91
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
11
21
3
4
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
21
3
4
10
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 49 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed in the Crow's Nest on top floor which had a lot of room and a balcony with ocean views while we were backpacking in the area . It was a weekday and the owner gave us the room for $55/nt and included a great breakfast with homemeade quiche. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, The rrom also had a fridge where we could store our food and a large TV. We did have to share a bath with other guests which was a little inconvenient. However it reminded us of a European B & B with a liitle more funk.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveoakhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

The place has a very "personal" touch, so it depends whether you like it. It is a bit "messy" in every respect. The garden a collection of items, the house full with stuff.
It is overpriced for the service provided.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank worldtravelBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

i'm joining the great scenery north and south of san francisco since almost 15 years, i stayed south of stinson in the bay area hotels and sometimes north in fancy sea ranch or further north in the oregon and washington b&b's. but if you want to meet real people in an authentic charming place, stay at the redwoods haus ...all other tourists and travellers may go to fake disneyland and sleep in anonymous motel6;-). i guess it's the mixture of old times surf feeling, a little bit of summer of love with a touch of the american artist-scene what makes redwoods haus so unique. where else plays the owner j.s.bach on the piano and old jazz tunes for breakfast? by the way: all the food is organic, fresh and selfmade, and mostly too much for us europeans. bbq and an open fire place is in the garden, a great spot for some red wine after a day in the mountains or the beach. you can't compare the interiour of the rooms with the hilton, of course, but everything is clean, you share one bathroom with some other guests, but that's no problem and not unusual for b&b's. so my advice is: support the local folks in stinson and help to preserve an authentic place in california before you'll only find the same faceless chains where ever you go!

Stayed: October 2008
2  Thank louis-ferdinand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

The place sounded and looked like a charm on the website. The drive was long to get to it, but the coast was gorgeous. We expected a cozy, charming & delightful stay...
After by pasing the place twice... ( looking for a charming B& B) We had to pull over to call for directions. We were right in front of the place not realizing it was "the" place! The house is hidden behind an old fence and walking up to the front door felt like walking through an antique yard sale. Upon walking into the house, we wondered if this really was a place for guests to spend the night. The rooms are old and tacky looking with beddings and towels faded and musty . Breakfast (??) was a mixture of old food left over from the morning before and the only thing worth eating was toast. The plates and cups are something you pick up at a thirft store and the food reeked of onions and yucky spices. I would NOT reccommend this place for ANYONE to stay at, unless you are a bum looking for a roof over your head to stay out of the cold foggy weather. The website is a TOTAL misrepresentation with pictures of the rooms being out dated and looking nothing like the real thing. How they have been in business for 22 yrs is beyond me.
The prices are outrageous for the dump of a place it is!
Don't be fooled.... PLEASE stay elsewhere.. You will be thankful you did!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
11  Thank Maritalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

The Redwood Haus is a fun and affordable B&B. I stayed a couple of nights at $80 per and was happy to escape the inland heatstorm then in effect (105 where I live vs 72 at Stinson).
The proprietors were congenial, and the guests were also quite pleasant--two sisters with their kids & dog, some retirees.

After the visit, I saw some of the harsh reviews here and was surprised at the acrimony. In short, Redwood Haus is closer to a European hostel than an American hotel or $250/night B&B. If you shudder in Lovecraftian horror at the prospect of shared bathrooms, pay up and get a hotel. I'm happy with the unpretentious Redwood Haus.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank StarkedSFeditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews