We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Food”
Review of The Siren Canteen

The Siren Canteen
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: A beach-side venue with great views and fresh fare. Beer and Wine too!
Restaurant details
Description: A beach-side venue with great views and fresh fare. Beer and Wine too!
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Expect a wait - but the line moves fast! The tacos and nachos are good and the beers are cold. Follow the rules and don't grab a table before you order...tables turn over fast. Great views of the beach!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SpanningTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marymstewart, Owner at The Siren Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Haha...thanks for following the rules! and for the great review. Much appreciated!
MM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 75 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2018

I think the headline says it all. This place is awesome. Beautiful beach, good food, chill atmosphere. In the first 10 minutes we saw 2 whales just offshore and a big school of dolphins playing with the surfers. We had margaritas. Then we had delicious nachos and tacos. Any questions?

Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marymstewart, Owner at The Siren Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

Thank you!!
MM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2018

It's a beach place -- what can you expect? There's a nice selection of casual food, burgers, hot dogs, tacos, etc., served right on the edge of the beach. Must have been six or eight kinds of burgers alone.

There are tables "inside," that is sheltered from the chill with windows overlooking the beach, and outside tables too.

Great if you are on the beach, or as we were, traveling up the coast.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TerryRxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marymstewart, Owner at The Siren Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2018

thanks!
mm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2018

We decided to come here for an brunch/early lunch on a relatively brisk but clear and sunny day. The setting was wonderful, a converted snack bar under an unused life guard station, rustic benches surround the snack bar windows and kitchen with an open picnic seating area flowing into a covered but open to the air area with benches and tables that look out over Stinson beach and the crashing waves through multi paned windows. Setting could not have been more photo worthy. What wasn’t was the food or the service. We had come here because friends had raved about the great food and yelp reviews praised the Mexican food. First off, it’s not Mexican food but a pretty limited menu of Tex-Mex food, all basically the same dish but rolled up in a non homemade flour tortilla (burrito) about 12-14 dollars or in a folded corn tortilla (taco) about 7 dollars each or on some house fried but not made tortilla chips (nachos) also overpriced or on sandwiched between two grilled flour tortillas with cheese (quesadillas). It was like when I was growing up and my mother would make a whole batch of the same dish and re-purpose it every meal there after. There’s some other variations like a breakfast burrito which can also be had as a taco or burgers with similar toppings but basically throw in some bottled juices or trendy kumbocha or beer in bottles or tap and you’ve done. All of what we ate, the veggie quesadilla and Gabe’s burrito (supposedly pork but I had trouble finding any) was edible and decent but overpriced. One of us is on a no/low salt diet and we were there at just about when they opened but apparently everything was already pre-made from the burgers to the sauces to the “Mexican” toppings and so they couldn’t really accommodate us, but we never got the feeling they even tried. Of course everything being made ahead and heated up was apparent with my burrito with some things in there refrigerator cold cooling down the other ingredients. The staff were nice enough but the owner, Gabe, seemed genuinely put out that we wanted to order something freshly made. We thought a burger was an easy option but was told that all the ground beef was already mixed with soy sauce. We were disappointed that the kitchen couldn’t find their way to pull out some unmixed ground beef and make a hamburger. I was also disappointed to find out they don’t have decaffeinated coffee, just regular or tea. I’ve never been to a place that served breakfast and didn’t have decaf as an option. Weird.
That being said the place was clean and the setting outstanding. I wouldn’t recommend eating here, there are too many better places to eat for the food and the money like just across the parking lot at the Parkside. I would recommend dropping by for a beer or tea at sunset to watch the view but eat elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank scottderrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marymstewart, Owner at The Siren Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Wow.
I am very sorry you had such a poor experience.
We try our best to please our customers.
We will try harder!
MM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

We stopped in at the Siren Cafe after a 13 mile hike and were so glad we did. It’s a little tucked away off the main road but the tacos and nachos were awesome! It was a very cold day so we didn’t try the milkshake but everything else was delicious and it had a great beach view.

Thank lynzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marymstewart, Owner at The Siren Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

thank you!
-MM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Siren Canteen also viewed

Stinson Beach, Marin County
Stinson Beach, Marin County
 
Stinson Beach, Marin County
Stinson Beach, Marin County
 
Bolinas, Marin County
Corte Madera, Marin County
 

Been to The Siren Canteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing