We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can Get Busy in The Summer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Parkside Cafe

Parkside Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Mateo, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Can Get Busy in The Summer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good food, nice out-side lanai dining, a stone's throw to the beach, service tries to keep up when it is busy in the summer. We tried both breakfast and lunch, and both were adequate. Parking next to the restaurant EARLY, then at the beach lots - if you're lucky.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dakine94110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    96
    41
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
266 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Lazy Sunday Afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

It doesn't get much better than a Sunday lunch at Parkside. This was our first visit and we were quite impressed. The atmosphere and cozy and bustling, the wait staff knowledgeable and efficient, the food delightful. Being seafood lovers, we both ordered the giant scallops....what a treat! We would highly recommend putting Parkside on your "to-do" list if you haven't already.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 182jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mother's Day eve”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Dinner at Parkside is always a treat we look forward too and on this occasion it certainly didn't disappoint. Six of us enjoyed delicious choices, mine a smoked salmon salad and my husband a fresh halibut. Very tasty. The Parkside is a 'Cafe' which can mean a mediocre dinner but we've never experienced that here. We find the staff friendly and cordial under most every circumstance and always enjoy coming back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Idame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible Service and mediocre food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We were looking for somewhere to eat and the Parkside looked good from the outside. We were asked if we had a reservation and but when we said no the waiter decided there were open tables and seated us. Then, as our granddaughter wrote [see below], they decided they needed the table. We contacted the manager and were brushed off: they needed the table. So, if you plan to eat there, make certain you have a reservation. Oh, and the food was, at best, mediocre.
Jessica may be only 11, but she expressed our frustration very well!

Dear Manager of Parkside Cafe,

My family and I ate dinner at your restaurant in February 14, 2014. Our waitress (#5) was very rude. She offered my mother vinegar for her fish & chips. She didn’t bring it. We had to ask again. My family also ordered bread but did not get it till we were done eating. When I was still drinking my drink waiter #5 said “We need this table. You need to leave.” Because they needed our table for a reservation. We were going to get dessert but we never got offered anything like that.

Because of this experience and poor service and how rude our waiter (#5) was, we will never come again.

Thank you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Do not Drive By!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

After 5 hours on a motorcycle it was time for a feed. We approached Stinson Beach with the intention of driving through but thankfully we didn't.

We both got a pulled pork on Brioche Club Sandwich (many choices available). It was nothing short of perfection. The sandwich was made with the freshest ingredients. I was half expecting to see Babe the pig limping around the kitchen missing some flesh, so melt in the mouth was the pork. The lettuce and avocado was so fresh. Both plates were accompanied by a nice serving of fries.

Service was quick and friendly. The price was very acceptable especially considering the quality of the food. There was a great selection available on the menu to suit all needs.

If you're on Highway 1 don't drive by Stinson Beach!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Garfield120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkside Cafe also viewed

Stinson Beach, Marin County
Stinson Beach, Marin County
 
Stinson Beach, Marin County
Stinson Beach, Marin County
 

Been to Parkside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing