We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place for a short getaway to Stinson and Mnt Tam”
Review of Sandpiper Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stinson Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandpiper Inn
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This inn is less than a block from the beach- 2 blocks from main intersection to town- yet quiet. Always thought we had to rent a house for a week. The kitchenette meant we didn't have to eat out. (Got some GREAT taco's at the Lunch Box.!) Everyone there relaxed, helpful and friendly. Nothing fancy but definitely pleasant and clean. They really do have a great movie collection as well. And it's reasonably priced for the area.

Walk from Inn to great hiking. Boogie boarded this weekend. Plan to return soon with friends doing Inn to Inn weekend trip.

THANKS! (If you're getting rooms w/ kitchenettes- try for room 6 for more privacy. Not a big deal though.)

Room Tip: Choosing between 5 and 6- go for 6. More privacy. Not a big issue tho
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoniFanforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Sandpiper Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 100 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very clean, close to the beach and trail heads - this place is a gem! I can't wait to go back. The bed was pretty hard in room #4 but the kitchen and everything else was perfect! The front desk staff helped us choose which hike to go on and they were very nice. The neighborhood was quiet and clean. The ability to hike in the AM and beach in the PM all with out driving is great! Beware to Highway One if you have never driven on it also get gas before you get the Stinson as there is NO gas in town.

Room Tip: The Cabins look super cute, but the rooms with the kitchenettes are a great value and just as nice.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids aged 11 and 9) stayed in one of the cabins for 3 nights - the location is fantastic being a 2 minute walk to the beach - the cabins are spacious and we used the kitchenette to do some home cooking which was badly needed after being on the road - we used the cabin as a base to visit Muir Woods (which are less than 15 minutes drive away, San Franciso (less than 45 minutes to Fisherman's Wharf) and Bolinas (where we did our very first family surf which was amazing) - added to that we did lots of walks on the beach and slept like puppies - we had a truely wonderful time and will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

SO clean! Impressing me on cleanliness is hard to do but this little place did! Loved the tile floors and all the amenities this little place offered. Along with the small fridge, microwave, coffee maker and picnic supplies, they provided BIG beach towels and a quilt for enjoying the beach AND a flashlight for late night beach strolls. The Sandpiper really surprised and delighted me, I'd recommend it to anyone staying in Stinson Beach but bring some earplugs for sleeping. We stayed in Room#1 (downstairs, right next to the little office). There was minimal noise from other guests but the gas log fireplace that is so romantic & cozy (and the only heat source for the room) is a bit noisy for the light sleeper. Ear plugs made this place the perfect place for my husband & I to enjoy an incredibly romantic weekend together. If you are traveling to Stinson Beach, I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoutiqueTraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Sandpiper is a great place to stay in Stinson. The cabin (#8) was clean and cozy, the kitchen had everything we needed and the bed was comfortable. The garden was a lovely place to sit and read, the staff was really friendly and helpful and the office had movies, books and beach chairs to lend. And it was just a five minute walk to the beach and to town and close to Muir Woods, Point Reyes and the town of Bolinas. It was a perfect little getaway.

Room Tip: Cabins 8 and 10 are off the road so they seem to be quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j9leepea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We just stayed at the Sandpiper Inn for the very first time in room 3 (an upstairs room) and we will definitely be back. The off season, mid-week rate ($99 before tax) was very reasonable for it's location close to the beach, dining, and right between Muir Beach with the Pelican Inn and Bolinas with it's sweet museum and gallery. This area of the California coast is one of our favorites and I have always wanted a little place to stay when visiting. Pt. Reyes has Cowgirl Creamery with excellent cheeses, sandwiches and wines for picnics, and Zuma there (unique gifts and jewelry) is always worth a visit. Drake's Bay Oyster Farm is also a must and it's in the area (get directions, it's hard to find). But back to the Sandpiper! It was excellent accommodations with many thoughtful extras. We had a gas fireplace that kept us very toasty and it was nice when it rained the night we arrived. I liked the decor and furnishings which looked like they had been updated and the carpet looked new. The room had a flat screen TV (not too big, not too small, just the right size) that accepts DVD's in a slot on the side. There is a small walk in closet to store belongings, and a clean bathroom (we both liked the shower - not huge, but nicely tiled and more than adequate in size). Even though our room didn't have a kitchen (some of the rooms do), we had everything necessary to facilitate a light meal in our room including bottle openers, silverware, plates, bowls, paper towels, regular glasses, wine glasses, coffee cups, Taz teas, organic coffee, hot chocolate packets, a small fridge and a microwave, as well as dish detergent and a sponge for cleaning up afterwards. The Lunch Box is very close and they sell sandwiches and on Thursday nights Mexican food to take away, but there are several other places to get food within a 5 minutes walk. The Inn had an extra trash basket for recycling (I wish more hotels did that!). There is a lovely communal garden area down past some of the other rooms that had garden furniture and tables and umbrellas which would be perfect for a picnic or to sit and read. Even in early March it was lovely. Heather at the front desk was friendly and helpful. On the down side: as others have mentioned sound carries through the walls, but only faintly and our neighbor was quiet after 10:00, so it wasn't a problem for us. Also, the comforter/cover on the bed was very heavy and I didn't realize until the morning that there was a lighter quilt on a shelf in the closet that would have been a better alternative for the night. Oh, and the reception desk is only open from 11:00 AM to 7:00 PM, so if you need access to the maps, brochures, or DVD's in the office, you need to take care of it between those hours. In any event, we loved our stay and have been recommending it to family and friends and we plan to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ambersantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our room (#2) was large and had everything we needed....and more. Besides the comfy bed and fireplace, there was also a mircowave, fridge, bowls, utencils, paper towels, dishwashing liquid and a kitchen towel and new sponge! Free DVD's are available in the office. We went to the local market and bought cereal, fruit and healthy snacks. The market was well stocked and carried many organic items. We only ate at a restaurant for one meal on our two day stay.

The beach is a two minute walk from the inn, and two minutes in the other direction leads you to a wonderful selection of hiking trails (note: buy sandwiches in town before heading out for the longer hikes). We hiked the Dipsea trail to the Steep Ravine trail. Steep Ravine is amazing, huge redwood trees, ferns, waterfalls - the only things missing were the dinosaurs!! At the top you connect to the Matt Davis trail wihch has lovely ocean views and takes you back to town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CelticChick52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stinson Beach
6.6 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
557 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
10.0 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
9.6 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
997 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Address: 1 Marine Way, P.O. Box 208, Stinson Beach, CA 94970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Stinson Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stinson Beach
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic rooms and cozy cabins a few minutes walk to the beach and trails. Gas fireplaces in all rooms. Private garden. Clean and friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Stinson Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing