We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family oriented” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gena's Sierra Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Squaw Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gena's Sierra Inn
Save
You added Gena's Sierra Inn to your Saves list
37692 E Kings Canyon Rd, Squaw Valley, CA 93621   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Squaw Valley
2 reviews
“Friendly family oriented”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Sierra Inn was suprisingly inviting. The rooms are just big enough, very clean, and dog friendly. Gena, the owner, was more than accomadating and went out of her way to make my stay comfortable she even took care of my dog while we went for pizza. And, did I mention the home cooked meals served in the restaurant, let me just say thanks Gena for watching the dog but we won't go out for pizza again. Sierra Inn is 10 min. from the park entrance I don't need to even consider staying somewhere else so, Gena you rock and we'll sa ya soon!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cambren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

After driving through Fresno and realising it was a dive regardless of what side of town your on we headed like many to the national parks ... Deciding that we were tired, hungry and it was getting late we risked a motel ... It looked like something from a horror film... Thankfully the owners were accommodating and very friendly.

The only thing I regret is taking advice that kings canyon was any match for Yosemite - it wasn't.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FTUK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Highly recommend. Basic on the road side accomodation we stayed before going to Kings Canyon.Old fashioned but with character.Sat outside with beers in heat watching paragliders Gena food very good she works extremely hard. All you need, food and outback bar.Karioke the night we were there hidden talent there. Highly recommend for experience Well done Gena and family a very welcoming place

Room Tip: All on road side but very little traffic to Canyon after dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tig07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed at the Sierra Inn cabins down by the Go West Deli. At first I thought Go West was a bar, but Gina quickly corrected me. Boy - Do I miss the Go West breakfast sandwiches. Anyway, my better half is wheelchair bound and Gina insisted on giving me the key to cabin two and getting my betterhalf inside and around within the cabin to make sure that the two of us would be comfortable staying there. Overall, in retrospect Gina could not have been nicer.

Yes, the cabins are old and in need of some external ( outside ) repairs, but inside the room was immaculate, the beds were made up daily, and once again the inside was pristine. We loved the himmingbird pictures on the walls. The airconditioning worked perfectly, and overall for $ 85 per night you could not beat the value....

Room Tip: Room 2 is where we stayed and I would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I have read some bad reviews for Gena's Place. We stayed in room 3 for 3 nights and it was fine.
The air con worked well and was not too noisy and the shower also worked fine. The bed was comfy and clean and looking at my photos now the room looked warm and cosy.

The food was yummy and Mum and Daughter served us and were very friendly.

It feels more like a cabin then motel and so a bit of dust and odd spider or moving leaf insect in the room seems to fit and who doesn't have at least one spider in their home!

Its only about 15 min drive to Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Forest.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3. If you don't like spiders go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stumputtella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma Wine Country
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2007

Today, we can only look back and chuckle at my gullibility.

Sierra Inn is a clapboard mistake by the highway, probably built in the early 1900s from tin and saw-board. Unwittingly, I made a reservation the day of, by phone, on Memorial Day Weekend - they said they'd had a cancellation. Planned to drive 4.5 hours to Sequoia Nat'l Park and stay just one night outside the Park.

The room was straight out of a nightmare. It reeked of bathroom cleaner, had no functioning anything. A sagging bed with thread-bare sheets. The AC wall unit in the room, that didn't work, had a cord running to a plug inside the bathroom. Effectively you couldn't close the bathroom door without the cord interfering or unplugging it. The bathroom contained a rusted tin shower stall.

We returned to the BarRoom that serves as their front desk and asked for a room refund - which they provided. I'm thankful because it was 9:00 PM. This place had other wayward travelers trapped there who had looks of abandonment on their face.

We drove 45 miles back to Fresno from the Park Boundaries to try to find a room at 10:00 PM. Every call we made to hotels and motels resulted with "no vacancy". We allowed that we would sleep in the car and still be better off than the pit we had just witnessed an hour earlier.

Eventually we found a refurbished Super 8 Motel, the room was so brand new, there was a layer of construction dust on all the surfaces. Sierra Inn is listed for Sale on a real estate website. The only sensible thing an investor could do would be to 'bulldoze it and start anew."

  • Liked — Impossible, there is not a single redeeming quality
  • Disliked — It should be bulldozed. It cannot be up to standards for any kind of building code.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ArturoPaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Squaw Valley hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Squaw Valley
9.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
23.9 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,671 reviews
15.5 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Branded Calf B & B
The Branded Calf B & B
#1 of 1 in Squaw Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
17.9 mi away
Stony Creek Lodge
Stony Creek Lodge
#16 of 20 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
3.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
9.5 mi away
Wonder Valley Ranch Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gena's Sierra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gena's Sierra Inn

Address: 37692 E Kings Canyon Rd, Squaw Valley, CA 93621
Location: United States > California > Squaw Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Squaw Valley
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the late 30's, "Gena's Sierra Inn" is conveniently located just 17 miles from the "Kings Canyon National Park" entrance. We have friendly rates, clean rooms, great food and are open 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Squaw Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing