We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty pie, great service and very reasonable pricing.”

Bear Mountain Pizza
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Tasty pie, great service and very reasonable pricing.”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife and I stopped here before venturing into Sequoia NP. The restaurant is literally off the highway.

Very friendly service and the pizza was flavorful and tasty. I'd even go so far to state the pepperoni was the best I've ever had. Had some type of pepper on it that just kept getting better.

One note, they make pan pizza. Not Domino's crust, not Chicago deep dish, but in the middle. I'd say the crust is about 3/4" think. Not bad, but a lot of bread. However, it was perfectly cooked.

My pizza was like $9 or $10 for a 14" pie. Great opportunity to bring some take home into the park as a snack.

Lastly, 3-4 retro arcade games. I could see a family with kids doing well here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COSouthpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    32
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Pizza at Squaw Valley”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This place was recommended by my sister and niece who live in Visalia, and who sometimes just drive up there for the pizza. We had camped all week at Hume with my son and his family and wanted to stop there to try it out. We were there in time for lunch and ordered the Special they had on the board for a 14 inch pepperoni pizza for $9.99. It fed 4 adults and 1 child and it was very good! We have been going to Hume Lake for years, but never knew about this place. From now on out we will be making it a point to stop there for lunch or dinner. They also have specialty pizzas that sounded very good as well. The pizza was crisp on the bottom and soft dough inside; the crust was even good. The only downside was we couldn't wait for the pizza to cool off and burnt the roof of our mouths on the hot cheese, but I would still highly recommend. I did not pay attention to their hours, but most pizza places are open into the evenings.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gramsally04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good place to get pizza”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

If you are staying in the area, then there is no other choice for food. We had a pizza here for dinner and it was reasonably priced and good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank praspn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonifay, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We were in the Squaw Valley area Oct 2012 and had rented a house ( Bunny Hill VRBO ) in the area. There's not many places to eat in the area and we passed Bear Mountain Pizza the night we got there so we figured we'd give it a try after a day at Kings Canyon.....WOW, very good pizza. The prices were beyond reasonable, even the beers were only about $2. The folks working there are super friendly and made you want to come back. They also have very tasty sub sandwiches which we picked up for a picnic in the parks because you either take your food with you or go hungry. My kids still talk about Bear Mountain Pizza.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyfromFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Great choice in a limited area”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Squaw Valley doesn't have a lot of restaurants...or much of anything, really. It's greatest advantage is that it's close to Sequoia and Kings Canyon National parks and so expectations about what to find in the town itself were low for us. Bear Mountain Pizza was next door to the motel we stayed at and the only place in town open past 9:00pm, so we sort-of had to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised to find great food, helpful, fast service and a warm, inviting atmosphere. The place is full of stuffed bears on window sills and extra tables (a play on "Bear" in Bear Mountain) and has a big screen TV in the corner. They have a bar as well as outdoor seating and serve sandwiches, hot wings and ice cream in addition to pizza, though pizza is obviously the main attraction. No thin crust here-it's all traditional pan crust-but there's a wide range of toppings and sizings and service is fast-we had our order within 10 minutes of placing it. The owner is part of the team, helping to refill drinks and clear tables and is friendly and talkative with customers. Though a small town, we didn't get the "Look at the strangers who just walked in the door" stare that can be typical at some local joints and we felt welcomed from the moment we entered. It was a great way to relax after a long day of hiking and the pizza was great-tasty and cheesy and hot. We liked it so much we came back the next night and this time tried the garlic cheese bread-highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melindalou7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Mountain Pizza also viewed

 
Squaw Valley, CA
 

Been to Bear Mountain Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing