We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place but Slow wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 13ed to 14th Apr. Price is good . The room is clean and big . The staff in the front desk are pleasant and helpful . The offer breakfast . You can drive 20 minutes to the San Francisco downtown . And it will take you 20 minutes to drive to redwood city , which has a very beautiful main street and nice food. Because the inn located near to the highway 101 and the airport it not very quiet .I have to say , the wifi is very bad I ever exprienced.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

We are always looking for ways to make our guests' stay more enjoyable and being able to offer larger rooms with free breakfast as well as great customer service are just few of the benefits we are proud to offer to our guests that choose to stay with us at Comfort Suites SFO-North. I am sorry to hear that the internet connection was very bad in your room; we will work on fixing this issue soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 574 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Comfort Inn SF Airport North for a single night. Interior of our room was larger than a typical airport motel. Large enough for a small sofa, coffee table and desk. Nice touches with deep crown moulding, acceptable decor, okay beds, and a 42 inch flat screen. Free wifi is a plus I always think.

Bathrooms are better than most airport motels with Corian like vanity/sink unit and a granite like shower/tub enclosure instead of those ugly prefab flimsy units.

They offer a free breakfast bar till 10am with cook your own waffles, pastries, cereal, fruit, eggs and full size sausages (not that paper thin bacon I run across too often nowadays. Coffee, tea and juices round breakfast out.

They also offer a park n fly program for approximately $130 for a single night you can leave your car up to two weeks. That's a bargain given the airport charges about $18-20 a day to park.

Only irritating issue was the freeway and train noise at night and early morning. Double pane windows was not enough to quiet the noise and the door seemed to let the noise seep through effortlessly. Perhaps a room on the opposite side of the property facing the airport (lol) would be quieter? So a pair of ear plugs, or one if their nice pillows over my ears might have helped.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charmking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Comfort Suites SFO-North. We are in the process of retro-fitting the doors and windows of the rooms facing the train to minimize the noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was in town for a job interview in downtown San Fran. Not knowing the area well, I chose to stay here because it's located toward the city, but with free shuttle service to/from the Airport. I used the shuttle to airport daily to access the BART, as there isn't a station nearby the hotel. This was quite effective and not problematic. The room and bathroom were both remarkably large and clean--though there was no countertop for my toiletries, only a pedestal sink. The AC worked as it ought, and I have absolutely no complaints. Worth my money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachaelHoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We at Comfort Suites SFO-North always enjoy hearing positive feedback which provides even greater motivation to us to continue to maintain our highest standards of service and excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent two weekend nights at this property. Everything was fine. We saw no signs of any of the problems described in older reviews, mostly from 2011 and earlier. Front-desk staff personnel were very pleasant, room was spotless and quiet, included breakfast was well above average, no signs of homeless people.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sokolker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

We appreciate all of your wonderful compliments and would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about Comfort Suites SFO-North. We always enjoy hearing positive feedback which provides even greater motivation to us to continue to maintain our highest standards of service and excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We spent a weekend staying in South San Francisco and choice this motel for the price and location. We were able to get a "Suite" room which also was equipped for the handicapped. I was impressed with the size of our room and bathroom. The only thing I did not really care for was in the bathroom there was a pedestal sink and no area to put our toiletry bags. A shelf near the sink would be nice.
Our room was very clean with a nice mini fridge and micro wave in its own little niche dividing the sleeping area from the sitting area. We did use the wireless and had no trouble with the connection so that issue seems to be fixed.
We had the breakfast one of the mornings and thought it was well stocked and offered plenty of choices including two flavors of waffle batters to cook as well as fresh fruit, scrambled eggs and sausages. Much more than I have found at other motels of the same caliber.
We did get a change to enjoy the hot tub one evening and found it to be very nice, large, and centered in a nice courtyard. The staff members we encountered that weekend were all polite. Our room faced the parking lot and I didnt notice any excessive noise during our stay. We will stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeekendTraverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

We are very happy to hear that we were able to make your stay more enjoyable. Your comfort is our top priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed one night here recently to catch my flight the next morning.

The good -
We were given a room on the second floor, near the elevator. The room smelled like it had been recently painted, (which would be a problem for some people - fumes). The bathroom was very nice and large, more than the usual.

The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was wonderful.

Paking was super reasonable!

We were too late arriving to use the hot tub, but it looked very nice.

The airport shuttle service was wonderful, AND included!

The cons -

Upon arrival, there was a police car out front. We left to return our rental car, and the police car was still there when we returned. Made us a bit wary of the area at night.. perhaps they have a lot of car break ins though. (Hence the super cheap parking) LOL

Our door to our room looked like it had been kicked in, with a gap so big, that during the day you coud see light coming through. Probably about 1/2 inch wide.

The curtains are right above the air conditioner, and when you have it turned on, the curtains blow around... and there's only one layer of curtains, so anyone outside can see everything through it.

The walls were very thin, we could hear the guests next to us flush their toilet. Also this location is surrounded by streets, so it can be pretty noisy early evening and morning. But it does quiet down through the night.

All in all, weigh your options for airport hotels, but this place does have a definite bonuses! I would stay here again, but not if I was travelling alone.

Room Tip: Interior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 902Queenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments we take them very seriously.
We have asked the police to circulate around our area for more peace of mind. This area is very safe and guests walk around with no problem. We do apologize for the issue you encountered with the door. As we are in the process of remodeling, we will fix all issues including paint.
We thank you for considering staying with us again, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has cleaned itself up alot since I was there a few years ago but I think they still have a long way to go . Looks old and tired . The staff seemed not into there jobs .

The hot tub was nice . I thought the beds were poor . Old style bed bedding that makes me nervous about the last time it was cleaned .

For someone like myself one quick night and not concerned about dark parking lots and weird homeless people its fine

I would not stay here with my family due to or being dark and not safe area .

A short walk away is a Embassy Suites , a Hampton Inn and a Hilton Garden Inn . Even since they are more money if you are traveling alone or with a family avoid this place and look at other options .

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ammo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

I am surprised to hear that our staff seemed not into there jobs. We at Comfort Suites SFO North strive to provide the best customer service. I will share your concern with the staff and will stress our ultimate goal to them, as you mentioned that we have cleaned up and we are still cleaning up and working on making our guests' stay much more enjoyable.
We thank you for your valuable comments; we would like you to give us another chance to experience the upcoming changes at Comfort Suites SFO North.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South San Francisco hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
2,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
988 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airpor...
#2 of 28 in South San Francisco
869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel V
Hotel V
#11 of 28 in South San Francisco
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport - South San Francisco
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Fra...
#8 of 28 in South San Francisco
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North

Address: 121 E Grand Ave, South San Francisco, CA 94080-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in South San Francisco
Price Range: $94 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North for your next business trip, family vacation or romantic retreat to South San Francisco.At our hotel near San Francisco Airport, enjoy our peaceful deluxe rooms, an array of modern services and features, friendly hospitality and value-added packages for the ultimate Bay Area escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites San Francisco Airport North
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North Hotel South San Francisco
Comfort Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Comfort Inn
Comfort Suites South San Francisco
South San Francisco Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing