We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome hotel - close to 101 and airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
504 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“awesome hotel - close to 101 and airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

awesome hotel - close to 101 and airport - great HGI location - very new, clean and great staff
super clean new lobby - spacious and enjoyable stay - front desk staff very friendly. I recommend this hotel to any business traveler and people looking for a weekend break in San Francisco. Great just out of town location with free parking - downtown parking is a rip off!

Room Tip: ask for top floor 7th
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadian175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rfrederick, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you received Genuinely Caring team members! We take a lot of pride in our customer service, living a clean and friendly mission every day with every guest.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    343
    113
    35
    22
See reviews for
219
222
64
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a beautiful facility. Great rooms with a very professional appearing and kind staff. However there seems to be a lack of management skills behind the desk. My reservation was not in order when I arrived. It took argument to get it corrected. My business trip was extended for a couple days. Confirmed extended stay with the desk. They checked, and told me they had changed it, "my pleasure." The evening shift did not communicate wit the day shift. The change was NOT made and another hassle.
I was there 7 days. They did not vacuum the room 1 time, and I had to get the front desk involved to get them to change my linens on the 5th day.
Nice, but BEHIND THE DESK, there needs to be some enhanced management. ENJOY!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDE53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rfrederick, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed our beautiful hotel and friendly/professional staff! However, I sincerely apologize you experienced some issues during your stay. These are certainly not normal occurrences for us and I have already taken action to ensure future guests are not affected.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Everything you need for a one-night stay. Rooms were large, clean, and warm. Free WiFi. Bar and Restaurant are in the lobby and not well used, but we had a good meal there with courteous service.

Gateway Boulevard has gas stations and is the direct route to the rental car return garage, so really easy to get your flight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timskitour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rfrederick, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed our large/clean rooms and you found our restaurant team providing courteous service!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
192 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I haven't been there for a year and a half. I needed a place to stay and had a lot of Hilton points so I decided to use them on this hotel. They have done a lot of renovation work in the lobby and restaurant. They have also replaced carpets at least on the floor that I stayed in. I also saw a new TV in the room. So a lot of new stuff. Room was clean and well furnished and the bed was comfortable. Check in and out was easy and the guy at the front desk was friendly and professional. But, the old restaurant layout had a friendlier character about it and the old fish & chips was the traditional fish & chips not what I got on my plate which was fish and what English people would call crisps. That was a bit disappointing although they did apologize and say that they could in fact deliver the standard Fish & Chips (french fries in America). They also didn't charge me for it so that was really nice of them. This hotel is very well situated if you need to return a rental car. The rental return is just 2 miles down the road and there is a gas (petrol) station on the way. That is very very convenient. I will stay there again, and be more attentive to the menu contents, all said it's still a good hotel.

Room Tip: If you want real fish & chips ask if you can have french fries with the fish
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel_travel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rfrederick, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

It is great to see you returned to us after a year and half! We have done a lot of updating and are excited to hear you enjoyed all of them.

Also, thank you for the feedback on our fish & chips! Our goal remains to exceed our guests expectations.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stay here at least 2 times a year when I travel to the bay for Giants games. Found it was the best in the area in terms of price value. Decent breakfast as good or better than than Embassy Suites down the street. In fact the whole experience is better than the Suites. I really like it for price and value. Many upgrades in the last year including jacuzzi tubs.

Room Tip: Took out the pool, but expanding the fitness center. I usually stay upper floors away from the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rfrederick, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

I enjoyed hearing you took advantage of our made-to-order breakfast and chose us when traveling in for a Giants games!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here after checking out of the Radisson near by because of service which as a seasoned traveler was not acceptable. From the moment i checked in at this hotel the welcome of staff and friendliness and can do mentality and doing everything to help me locate my phone without success despite there best efforts. The Assistant General Manager was one of the most professional lady i have experienced in a long time and is a real treasure for the Hilton Group.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bren53Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rfrederick, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed your first experience with us and we couldn’t agree more that Schelby is a great asset to our team!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Lobby was recently renovated and is very clean and modern. Room was also clean and quite spacious. When you need a hotel room close to SFO this hotel is definitely worth considering. Airport shuttle was also very convenient and punctual.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguinonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rfrederick, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

We are thrilled you enjoyed our newly refreshed lobby! We also sincerely appreciate you referring others to stay with us when in need of hotel near the airport.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airpor...
#2 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport - South San Francisco
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Fra...
#10 of 28 in South San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Francisco Airport North
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Address: 670 Gateway Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#4 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North is conveniently located off highway 101, just two miles from San Francisco International Airport (SFO), and provides easy access north to San Francisco and south to Silicon Valley. Travelers appreciate the complimentary shuttle service to SFO airport, and the nearby BART and CalTrain stations that connect you to the area's top destinations including AT&T Park, the Cow Palace, and Candlestick Park. This hotel provides the service and amenities to make it one of the top San Francisco Airport hotels by offering renovated guest rooms with free WiFi, Hilton's signature Garden Sleep System(R) bedding, flat-screen HD TVs, and in-room microwaves and mini-fridges. Guests also appreciate the onsite restaurant, the Great American Grille, which serves up a delicious combination of American favorites for breakfast and dinner. The brand new meeting rooms also offer the perfect place to conduct your next San Francisco business meeting, and provide flexible meeting space with complimentary WiFi, state-of-the-art A/V equipment, and a maximum capacity of 100 people. Choose the newly-renovated Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North, and enjoy the terrific location with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Hotel South San Francisco
Hilton South San Francisco
South San Francisco Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing