We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay at budget price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel V

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel V
Dubai
1 review
“Comfortable stay at budget price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

Plus - close to the airport, free shuttle to & fro airport, incomparable budget price, basic complimentary breakfast, friendly service
minus - not recommended for people wanting to go to heart of san francisco everyday, best for short stop overs and for those who want to get to the airport quickly

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiTravelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alondra_vazquez, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay! We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Fransico!

- Vicky Patel , Guest Services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    165
    124
    57
    61
See reviews for
148
141
72
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

Stayed at the Howard Johnson at the end of a road trip to Northern California, on the night before flying out of SFO. The motel is close to airport, just of Highway 101.

Simple motel that meets the simple needs. Friendly check in, also noted that it has a shuttle to SFO, although I didn't use.

Clean room, with fridge, microwave and coffee maker.

I'd use if i was flying from SFO, but not great for city, and roads close by are very busy, unsurprisingly, during rush hours.

Overall, OK stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alondra_vazquez, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay! We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Fransico!

- Vicky Patel , Guest Services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

After reading the negative reviews and seeing the pictures of this hotel I really was not expectimg much. When we arrived at the hotel i was really surprised. Everything in the room was updated and the service was good. We paid less then $50 dollars a night and it was well worth it. I would stay here again. The drive into San Francisco is aout 15 mins, but that did not bother us. Over all I was really happy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjb03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alondra_vazquez, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay! I am glad to hear that you got the best bang for your buck! We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Fransico!

- Vicky Patel , Guest Services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

handy for accessing downtown and close to good restaurant. friendly staff. only downside was tv remote didn't work and wasn't fixed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grimbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alondra_vazquez, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay! We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Fransico!

- Vicky Patel , Guest Services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

There are several lower end chains in the vicinlty of the airport. We drove past them ALL. Some look pretty bad, some almost looked like they were rent by the hour type places. This hotel was wonderful, good price, clean room and 10 minutes from the rental car return.

If you want or need pampered pass this place by, if simply need a place to flop for the night near the airport, this is great find.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clyde21222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

This a no frills place, but quite adequate. Hubby and I got to spend our money in san francisco having fun instead of paying a lot for a place where we just laid our heads. I mean, san francisco is a great place (my first visit!) and spendiing time in your room is a waste of time. We got just what we wanted: good value, no frills , ok location, adequate continental breakfast, comfy bed, and polite staff. A great value for a quick trip to the city.
We saved a bit of money by eating in our room-had microwave and fridge.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turtlegirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

Recently, my dad visited California and stayed at this Howard Johnson. During his stay at the above hotel,a hispanic man at the front desk (whose name is unknown to me)behaved in an outrageously rude and harsh manner when he requested a bottle of water. The man was sitting infront of a computer monitor browsing through a photo album (and clearly not doing any official work). My father approached him in a friendly manner and asked him where he could find a bottle of mineral water and he told him it was not available without bothering to get up from his chair or even look up. Seeing how this man was completely ignoring him my dad told him his behavior was rude and asked him for his name. He replied, "I don't tell my name to people like you." Taken aback, shocked and humiliated, my dad then asked him how he could behave like that with guests being the front desk agent at a hotel. At this the man's anger triple-folded and he burst out thumping his right hand repeatedly on the counter yelling, "Man you deserve behavior like this. Do you know I can call the police and cancel your reservation?." My dad told him to call the police and that he would complain to the manager. Anways, it's a good thing that my dad was leaving that day anyway.

Keep in mind my dad is a senior citizen, visiting from out of country and travelling to California for the first time. He is normally a very couteous, calm and patient man. I am enraged that his frist trip to CA was partially spoilt by encountering such terrible rude service from the staff at this Inn. The previous week he had stayed at the Westin with my unlce who was there on a conference. After my uncle left he decided to move to a cheaper hotel since he was travelling alone. Previously, he and my mom has stayed at other Howard Johnson Hotels' and received decent service and he was not expecting anything less this time.

Anways, to end the story- the bottom line is that when my father complained about the matter to the manager, Mr. D.P. Rishi, who absolutely ignored the ill-behavior towards my dad. It's unbelieveable how the manger of the hotel/ Inn could indulge in such rude behavior of the employee. We have formally lodged a complaint and wanted to let all travellers know to stay away from this INN because of horrendous customer service. My father has travelled a lot around the world (India, Nepal, HongKong, Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore, London to name a few) and stayed at the best hotels. He has also stayed at other Howard Johnson Hotels many times in various states. However, this is the first time he has ever encountered such horrendous behavior. Just a note of warning to other travellers so they know what to expect from this Inn.

The room itself was okay. The location was great. The carpet was worn out and has some stains in it. Also, the bathroom was really small, looked like they ha dnot cleaned it properly and the floor was wet.

On a positive note, my dad found California to be absolutely gorgeous! His overall experience touring around the state was very pleasant. He also visited LA and stayed at the Howard Johnson there and the staff there treated him well.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BushraA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South San Francisco hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco  Airport North
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francis...
#14 of 28 in South San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#6 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites -- South San Francisco
Quality Inn & Suites -- South Sa...
#9 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V

Property: Hotel V
Address: 222 S Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6701 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco)
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel V 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V is brought you by Lifestyle Hotels, and offers an elegant retreat in a classic San Francisco Boutique environment. Blending world class hospitality with an inviting atmosphere, we promise you'll be pleased with your stay. Our newly renovated 53-room hotel was designed to cater to business and leisure travelers alike by providing a complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle, complimentary breakfast, in-room coffee, microwave and refrigerator, and complimentary Wifi through out the hotel.Great location and phenomenal service! Close to Downtown, Golden Gate Park, the Convention Center, Fisherman's Wharf, shopping, Alcatraz, and the San Francisco Airport. - Visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel South San Francisco
Howard Johnson Hotel Express
South San Francisco Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson South San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing