We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”
Review of Hotel V

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel V
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Our flight arrived around 1:30pm and check in at HJ was at 3pm but the staff member was very kind and friendly and allowed us to check in early.

We were very satisfied with the room and the wifi was great. Only one minor complaint was the main light did not seem to work but all the other lights worked fine.

Complimentary breakfast was satisfying. You had cold cereals, boiled eggs, bagels, toast (choice between white and whole grain), muffins, coffee and juice. Newspaper was complimentary also.

Airport shuttle was every half hour which was great!

Bottom line...happy and satisfied for a budget hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank magharmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

We're so glad to hear everything was suitable for your needs here at The Howard Johnson. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 585 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Staff, Anjuli, Pierre, and everyone else we came into contact with were friendly and very helpful. We will be staying at this location when we return for another visit to San Francisco. The rooms were clean and well maintained. Stay here, you will be satisfied. Tell Anjuli that her new friends from Cincinnati said Hello!!! Request room 110....

Room Tip: For the money, the location, and the great staff. Stay here. You will not go wrong. Request room 110...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

We thank you sincerely for the great 5-STAR review! Here at The Howard Johnson, we always "aim-to-please", and we're glad we did just that.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rodrigo B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at the Howard Johnson's, Airport Blvd. in San Francisco. The room was clean (including the bed), but this hotel is in need of a total rennovation. Anjuli, front desk person, was great. Her customer service is excellent. Sometimes the schuttle service to the airport can get to be a little hit and miss, sometimes late. This is important because this is where access to the Bart transit system is located.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Our Valued Guest,

It's great to hear ALL out Guest's feedback, including yours. To hear our property needs an 'entire renovation' is interesting - as we all have our own opinion. Guests love our property and the diversity of the rooms, sensational location - and shuttle service! Thanks again for the review,

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Overall, the frontdesk service by Anjili was very helpful and friendly. The room was mostly clean. Carpeting is a bit dated, but bathroom was remodeled and clean. Microwave and mini-refrigerator is very helpful for extended stays.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markp226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay - and our staff was attentive to your needs! We are happy to offer our Guests in-room microwaves, fridges, coffee makes...etc. We take pride in our rooms and are so happy you loved them!

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The lady at the front desk was super nice and helpful. My brothers and I stayed 2 nights on a trip to see a 49ers game. The hotel is super convenient if you are looking for a place in south San Francisco or just to be near the airport. There is a free shuttle to/from the airport. You have to make sure to call the front desk though to ensure that the shuttle actually comes. There is a schedule that shows it could come every 30 minutes, but it may not if you don't call.

The room was great. I have no complaints about it at all. I didn't notice any noise from the highway that would keep me from sleeping or annoy me either.

If you are looking for a place to stay while visiting the city you might find it a bit inconvenient as you are quite far away. You can take the airport shuttle for free from the motel to the airport and then catch the BART into the city though. That will take you about an hour and a half though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyghe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

We're so glad you loved your stay! Being conveniently located right off the 101 and only minutes away from Downtown SanFrancisco is a huge convenience for our Guests. We hope to see you again soon,


Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Glorine J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
2,076 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco  Airport North
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francis...
#16 of 28 in South San Francisco
574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl...
#15 of 28 in South San Francisco
707 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton San Francisco Airport
Four Points By Sheraton San Fran...
#14 of 28 in South San Francisco
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V

Address: 222 S Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in South San Francisco
Price Range: $96 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel V 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V is brought you by Lifestyle Hotels, and offers an elegant retreat in a classic San Francisco Boutique environment. Blending world class hospitality with an inviting atmosphere, we promise you'll be pleased with your stay. Our newly renovated 53-room hotel was designed to cater to business and leisure travelers alike by providing a complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle, in-room coffee, microwave and refrigerator, and complimentary Wifi through out the hotel.Great location and phenomenal service! Close to Downtown, Golden Gate Park, the Convention Center, Fisherman's Wharf, shopping, Alcatraz, and the San Francisco Airport. - Visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel South San Francisco
Howard Johnson Hotel Express
South San Francisco Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson South San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing