We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hotel, expensive for no reason, only one household...”
Review of Hotel V

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel V
West Vancouver
1 review
“Awful hotel, expensive for no reason, only one household...”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Awful hotel, expensive for no reason, only one household type toaster, no room to eat, no bread. Every item had to be asked for @ breakfast. This was my first and last stay at HJ hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Seyedm V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    171
    125
    57
    62
See reviews for
152
145
75
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Clean room, bed was fine, a little noisy was there for 3 nights for a reunion. Got a good deal online from that location website not corp website (price difference). Only problem was I use a dedicated credit card for hotels, 2 days after I made the reservation a fraudulent charge appeared on my credit card bill. had to report it to CC company and had a new card issued, only purchase i made over a year. The staff was great and friendly had to use the shuttle to the airport with no problems...

Room Tip: Check your CC statement after you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertfolks22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, General Manager at Hotel V, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear DesertFolks22,


We would like to thank you for taking the time to give our Howard Johnson South San Francisco a great review. It is our pleasure to make sure all our guests are taken care of no matter what time of day it may be. Our staff is exceptional in all things customer service related and we thoroughly enjoy making each guest feel special each and every stay. So I will be sure to pass along your compliments. We also would like to advise it's best to book directly with us for your future stays. We also will do our best to match rates with any third party sites such as expedia, booking.com, priceline, orbitz, hotels.com ect...We offer lots of benefits with booking directly with Howard Johnson.com or HOJOSFO.COM. Thank you again for your wonderful feedback.

We appreciate your business and we look forward to your next visit with us.


Yours in Hospitality,



Alvyn Prasad
General Manager


Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Staff was courteous and helpful, room was clean, no foul odors, bed was very comfortable, close to airport, and easy access to freeway to the city. Nothing fancy, but met our needs just fine.Spent the first 2 nights of our vacation here and the last 2 after a brief trip north to the Redwoods.

Room Tip: second floor seems a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regnadkcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, General Manager at Hotel V, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. It sounds like we hit a home run in your case!

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.


Warm Regards,


Howard Johnson Express Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Unimpressive exterior and neighborhood but the room was clean and adequate. No frills and definitely worn. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Parked our car while on a trip out of SFO and returned to find it undamaged.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank pvilleblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, General Manager at Hotel V, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about your experience. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a home away from home experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please visit HOJOSFO.com for all future reservations.



Regards,


Howard Johnson SFO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Thanks to Krish and Alvyn at Howard Johnsons, South San Francisco, for helping us out in emergency. Their listing here stated that they were 'Pet Friendly' and we found them because of that. They allowed us, at a moment's notice, to bring the cats when we were temporarily displaced from our home. The service was excellent and the rooms clean and comfortable. All that being said, we are extremely happy to recommend HoJos for their kind response to our emergency. Pet owners, they were great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanFranciscoPetOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, General Manager at Hotel V, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to give our Howard Johnson South San Francisco a great review. It is our pleasure to make sure all our guests are taken care of no matter what time of day it may be. Our staff is exceptional in all things customer service related and we thoroughly enjoy making each guest feel special each and every stay. So I will be sure to pass along your compliments. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your next visit with us.


Warm Regards,


Alvyn Prasad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South San Francisco hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 29 in South San Francisco
1,915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton San Francisco Airport
Four Points By Sheraton San Fran...
#13 of 29 in South San Francisco
146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#4 of 29 in South San Francisco
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#6 of 29 in South San Francisco
910 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 29 in South San Francisco
934 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites -- South San Francisco
Quality Inn & Suites -- South Sa...
#10 of 29 in South San Francisco
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V

Property: Hotel V
Address: 222 S Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6701
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel V 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V is brought you by Lifestyle Hotels, and offers an elegant retreat in a classic San Francisco Boutique environment. Blending world class hospitality with an inviting atmosphere, we promise you'll be pleased with your stay. Our newly renovated 53-room hotel was designed to cater to business and leisure travelers alike by providing a complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle, in-room coffee, microwave and refrigerator, and complimentary Wifi through out the hotel.Great location and phenomenal service! Close to Downtown, Golden Gate Park, the Convention Center, Fisherman's Wharf, shopping, Alcatraz, and the San Francisco Airport. - Visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel South San Francisco
Howard Johnson Hotel Express
South San Francisco Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson South San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing