We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service!”
Review of Hotel V

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel V
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Recently stayed on my return trip from out of the country. The shuttle to/from the airport was timely and the location of the hotel to the airport was very convenient. I was extremely pleased with the friendliness and professionalism of the office staff. My room was very comfortable with every amenity I could want and/or need. The breakfast offerings were a surprise-cereal, eggs, toast, muffins, juice and coffee. A copy of USA TODAY was great. Caught up on the latest news while having my second cup of coffee! I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your comments. It’s great to hear about your experience with us, our staff will definitely always go above and beyond to make sure you feel comfortable and happy with your choice of staying at our hotel. We will also greet you with a warm smile and make sure to have a clean and fresh room for each guest. We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed our delicious free breakfast and courtesy newspaper. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
There are newer reviews for Hotel V
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 575 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mellissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed one night and found it to be a very pleasurable experience. The lights leading to the bathroom very very cool. We talked to two employees and they were both very helpful. The free breakfast and free WIFI were much appreciated! We would stay there again! NEVER NEVER USE FOX RENTAL CARS!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marti606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thanks for sharing your comments! It’s nice to hear about your pleasurable experience. Glad to know you enjoyed our amenities and exceptional customer service from our front desk staff. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to San Francisco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was working close to this hotel and had stayed there two vears before, so I remembered my last stay being pleasant and checked in at this HoJo again for three weeks straight.
First of all: the friendly staff might be up to their necks in work, but they do the best they can to get you in and out in no time (thanks, Anjuli!).
Second: they must've put in new matrasses not long ago, because I just slept like a baby.
Third: the free wireless network works fast and hardly ever hiccups. I ran a laptop and an Xbox over the wireless at the same time and it really only stuttered on the weekends, when most rooms are booked out and everyone is online.
The rooms are clean, you get cable, a microwave and a rather big fridge.
The only thing missing would be a nice, mid-sized HD-TV, but that's really complaining on a high level. And getting breakfast in the small lobby can be a bit of a hassle.
At this rate, you can't really go wrong. I stayed at a few hotels in the area, but this is my choice. I'll be back next time I'll work down there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HardW0rkinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We’re so happy to hear about your return to our hotel. It’s with great delight that our staff provides outstanding customer service; it’s our pleasure to serve you in any possible way to make your stay an incredible one. You are correct, we have renovated some of our rooms and that is the reason for your very comfortable mattress, we’re glad you enjoyed it. Our housekeepers will always make sure the rooms are in impeccable conditions for each arriving guest. The cleanness of our rooms is vital, amenities are great, free delicious breakfast and Wi-fi are a bonus. Once again, thank you for your comments; we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here one night. The shuttle from SFO airport comes every half hour, very convenient. There's an iHop about 5 minutes away for dining, and free breakfast and wifi at the hotel. What really surprised me was the fantastic warm, comfortable decor of the room. The room was very inviting and warm, with nice carpeting, a comfortable king sized bed, a refridgerator and a microwave oven. I will definitely stay here again.

(I accidentally clicked 'excellent' for the swimming pool, but I don't think they have a swimming pool, so disregard that).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aloha_Fiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

We would like to genuinely thank you for taking the time to share your review. It’s great to hear about your amazing experience with us. Our housekeepers will always make sure to provide exceptionally clean and neat rooms, sanitized and fresh for each guest. We’re also happy to hear you enjoyed our King size bed, free breakfast and Wi-Fi. As you mentioned, our location is very convenient, glad you had no problem getting to and from your daily plans. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. the room was very clean. The employees are pleasant to talk to. slept well all three nights (Love the King sized Bed). This was the best price I could find for New Years 2013. check it out especially if your going into San Francisco. its just a few minuets away from the city and taxis anywhere can get expensive. the taxi we took was $65 for a trip to the Castro but it is still better than driving after a very long night of drinking.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazmanjeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are very glad to know that you had an incredible stay with us. Our staff will always greet you with a warm smile and make sure you feel right at home... We're also glad to hear you enjoyed your room and king size bed. Thanks again your review, we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a 6:20 am flight out of SFO and needed a place to stay the night before. We chose this place because at $64 it was reasonable. If I were to do this again I'd pay more for a better location and nicer facility. Noisy room renovation was going on near our room and didn't stop until after 7 pm. The first room we were assigned had a door that was open and debris had blown on the carpet. We were afraid to enter and went back for a different room. You take your life in your hands walking to a restaurant in that location. We ended up having dinner at IHop and risked being flattened by traffic to cross the street. There were iffy types on cellphones in the bus stop shelter we had to walk by. All in all a creepy experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It’s unfortunate that your experience was not such a pleasant one, as you mentioned; we are renovating rooms for the comfort of our guests. We do this during the day time so that it does not disturb the guest’s sleep, we’re sorry if we didn’t meet your expectations in regards to quietness. As for the restaurants and bus stops, those matters are out of our control, however, it is a safe area and we have not had complaints regarding that. Thanks again for your review, as your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
2,006 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#5 of 28 in South San Francisco
946 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco  Airport North
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francis...
#17 of 28 in South San Francisco
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
307 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton San Francisco Airport
Four Points By Sheraton San Fran...
#16 of 28 in South San Francisco
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V

Address: 222 S Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6701
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in South San Francisco
Price Range: $118 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel V 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V is brought you by Lifestyle Hotels, and offers an elegant retreat in a classic San Francisco Boutique environment. Blending world class hospitality with an inviting atmosphere, we promise you'll be pleased with your stay. Our newly renovated 53-room hotel was designed to cater to business and leisure travelers alike by providing a complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle, in-room coffee, microwave and refrigerator, and complimentary Wifi through out the hotel.Great location and phenomenal service! Close to Downtown, Golden Gate Park, the Convention Center, Fisherman's Wharf, shopping, Alcatraz, and the San Francisco Airport. - Visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel South San Francisco
Howard Johnson Hotel Express
South San Francisco Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson South San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing