We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay”
Review of Hotel V

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel V
Reviewed October 25, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank CAROLINE T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Services at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 585 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Christy A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Services at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank 172GO
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Services at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Room was cozy, bed was comfortable and overall a very clean space. However the bathroom looked horrible. The paint was coming off the walls, the shower head was old and covered in rust and the bathtub looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in months. Not what I expected. And then the room that was beneath us had a leak in their bathroom and we were interrupted by maintenance while we were sleeping to turn on our shower and leave it on until the front desk called us to turn it off so they could fix the leak. A little bit inconvenient.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Services at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear A D,

We greatly appreciate your review. We are actually about to renovate the bathroom soon so in the near future, if you decide to return to San Francisco, you are more than welcome to stay in our hotel and see the new bathroom! We apologize for the inconvenience in timing that the room below you had, it is certainly not our choice to try and interrupt a guest's sleep.

Again, thank you so much for your review and we do take these reviews into consideration! We hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Immediately upon entering the bathroom, my wife examined the towels. They were frayed and grungy. My wife was turned off immediately. The sheets had green stains. The room was small with one chair in a room with two beds. Old TV and no channel guides. No coffee maker as indicated. Room phone was not working properly. We could not call the front desk as they could not hear us. My wife had to walk down for a wake up call. They charge extra for the room safe. It was pure luck that my wife saw the sign indicating such as sign was hidden behind an other sign on the front desk. They did remove the charge when we asked them to.
We probably would have left but there were no rooms by the airport at the last minute. This was our last night in San Francisco. They promote a deluxe breakfast on their sign on the street. It is far from deluxe. Food was limited: bread, bagels, hard boiled eggs, banana muffin, coffee and juice. We do a lot of traveling and this was my first and last stay at a Howard Johnson.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank RONALD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Services at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Ronald M,

Thank you for the review on our hotel. We take every review into consideration to help us improve. We're sorry for your dissatisfaction and would loved to have moved you rooms since you were unsatisfied with your first one. We do our best to make sure our guests are as comfortable as possible and it dissapoints us to know that you were dissapointed.

Like I said, we take EVERY review as an opportunity to improve regardless if it is a positive or negative review. Thank you for your review and in helping us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

$147.00 is over priced for this hotel. I asked for a wakeup call which I didNOT get and as
I left I asked to make reservations for a room on my return.....which was NOT done.
That desk clerk should be asked about those items. The hotel was HoJo in South San Francisco.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank CRIBBIN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Mr./Mrs./Ms. Cribbin,

I am truly sorry you were not given the satisfactory service we strive for here at Howard Johnson Express. Please know there is no excuse to not receive a wake up call when requested, and a future reservation to be made at the time of request as well. Please know this matter is under review to ensure these issues are no longer made by the Front Office Team.

If I may be of any further assistance to you, please feel free to give me a call at 1 (800) 571-2933.
Thank you for your time and comments.

Ida Williams
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Not that we expected much. After all, it was just a place to stay before our flight the next morning. I only wish the guys partying in the next room were a bit quieter. Still there's not much to do out here so I guess they made their own fun. We did, however, ask our hosts if we could change rooms. They obliged but the room we were given was down the back, overlooking a wall and below par. It was dark and dank with the strangest smell - a cross between dirty socks and cleaning products. Probably not far from the truth. Would I stay here again? Nope with a capital N!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20Nov13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Please accept our most sincere apologies for not meeting to your standard with an overnight stay at our facility. I am happy to know we were able to move you into a different room to get you away from the noise, however, regretfully this room was unable to satisfy you overall. These rooms are checked daily to ensure satisfaction is obtained by all guests, and for this to slip thru the cracks is disappointing.
Thank you for your time in posting a review and providing us feedback on improvements that can be made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
2,076 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco  Airport North
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francis...
#16 of 28 in South San Francisco
574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl...
#15 of 28 in South San Francisco
707 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton San Francisco Airport
Four Points By Sheraton San Fran...
#14 of 28 in South San Francisco
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V

Address: 222 S Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in South San Francisco
Price Range: $96 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel V 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V is brought you by Lifestyle Hotels, and offers an elegant retreat in a classic San Francisco Boutique environment. Blending world class hospitality with an inviting atmosphere, we promise you'll be pleased with your stay. Our newly renovated 53-room hotel was designed to cater to business and leisure travelers alike by providing a complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle, in-room coffee, microwave and refrigerator, and complimentary Wifi through out the hotel.Great location and phenomenal service! Close to Downtown, Golden Gate Park, the Convention Center, Fisherman's Wharf, shopping, Alcatraz, and the San Francisco Airport. - Visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel South San Francisco
Howard Johnson Hotel Express
South San Francisco Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson South San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing