We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to SF airport, clean, quiet, and cozy, great deal”
Review of Hotel V

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel V
Reviewed February 25, 2012

If you need a place to stay before flying out of SFO, this hotel is cheap, clean, 2 miles from the airport, has a free shuttle, and you can leave your car for very cheap ($5/day when I was there, free while you stay there). Steak house next door, not a great breakfast for me and no decaf except in the room. Even though you are by the freeway, I had the fan on and didnt hear anything or adjoining room noise.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our staff always makes sure to have the rooms nice and clean for each guest. We thank you once again for taking the time to post your comment; we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to sunny San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 597 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

I spent 3 nights in this hotel during my road trip through the USA. The location is bed and I had some problems with people at the fron desk. I have no idea why, but I had to pay $30 more at arrival even I prepaid for the hotel. On the other hand, breakfast was ok and the room was clean. I lost my plastic card to open the doors, but they replaced it quickly.
Rooms were clean. Overall, just an average, nothing special, but the location was bad for me.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pawel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you very much for your review on our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our staff will always provide exceptional customer service, and we’re glad you got to experience that. We will look into the $30 fee you were charged, the matter has been forwarded to our Reservations Department for further review.

Thanks again for your comment and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to USA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Totally sorry I didnt checked out the reviews before I booked this reservation this place totally sucks. Let me you about the bathroom it has one of those toilet cushion seat and it's TORN. Room 118 bad . The only thing this hotel has going for it's self it's LOCATION

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dude12346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience with the toilet seat. We are looking into remodeling and renewing our bathrooms for the comfort of our guests. Thanks again for your comments, as your feedback is very important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This was the last hotel of our trip, we wanted to be as close as possible to SFA as possible for the plane home. After trying a few that were already full we ended up here. The rooms were normal fair for motels and quite ok, the problem was our room was right next to the freeway. Cars were roaring passed all night making it difficult to sleep, double glassing that back window would be a good idea. Next morning the breakfast room was way to small to enjoy breakfast, after people gave up room for us to sit down we felt pressured to move so others could sit down.
Satnav location: N37 38.908 W122 24.351

By the way, its 1.6 miles from the hotel to the National car depot at SFA, that drive took 5 mins, that at least was very good!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Cafe_Tester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thanks for posting your experience with us. We are glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay, unfortunately the noise is an issue for all our hotels in this street, but the trade-off is the location which is very convenient.

Thanks again for taking the time for your comments. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Initial dealing with the staff via email did not leave a very good impression. Enquired few weeks earlier, but was still comparing places.
Then 2 days before check in date, contacted the staff again via email, she was quite blatant rude. Price had gone up by then.
Since other places were over our budget for that weekend, decided to stick with this hotel.
Surprisingly, at check in, reception staff was friendly, fast and efficient.
Even the housekeepers were very helpful and friendly when we requested extra blanket and towels.
The beds and furnishing..absolutely a surprise. for the price we paid, it was very worth it. bed was plush and comfy..a bit regal for a room like that actually.

Parking was free which was great.
Breakfast was abundant..the breakfast area was small [in the reception area], so just took the food back to our room..no problem.

The location, since was out of SF city, so our first day was spent exploring the suburb nearby. can't remember the name, but it was great, coz it has so many outlets and well know names next to each other.

very near to airport, would be convenient for those who need to fly off to next destination. we were driving to LA after that, so did not benefit from this.

Room Tip: corner room..more spacious. we chose ground floor coz my aunt and uncle don't want to climb the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europe_tour05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are so happy to hear that you had a delightful experience with us. Our staff will always go out of their way to make sure that your stay with us is a memorable one. We’re glad you enjoyed all of our amenities and left a happy guest! Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to SF!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The room was large and clean. Very good price and the location is handy to the airport. Only drawback is that it is a bit noisy due to proximity to highway but this was not an issue as we wanted an early start. Basic breakfast - OK -

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuffaloLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We choose this hotel because the closeness to the airport, as we had an early flight the next morning; All and all, it wasn't bad.. The room was very clean and neat, but aged and a bit worn.There was an emply; clean ashtray in he room, but thankfully no cigarette oders.I thought this hiotel WAS non-smoking.... apparently not! , The hotel has outside hallways, so anyone talking outside near your room can be clearly heard; plus it's not too soundproof, so the strreet noise can be bothersom..( use earplugs.; it will help!) There was a group talking rather loudly outside our room , and once I told them to shut up, they did..(Couldn't call the office because of ....another problem... the in room phone DID NOT work

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbknopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. We strive to provide clean and neat rooms for each guest, we’re glad you got to experience that. As for the phone in the room not working, we will definitely look into that, and thank you making us aware of it.

We would love to see you again on your next trip to sunny San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco  Airport North
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francis...
#15 of 27 in South San Francisco
578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#5 of 27 in South San Francisco
978 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#2 of 27 in South San Francisco
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton San Francisco Airport
Four Points By Sheraton San Fran...
#18 of 27 in South San Francisco
185 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 27 in South San Francisco
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V

Address: 222 South Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6701
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in South San Francisco
Price Range: $101 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel V 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel V – A boutique hotel located in San Francisco near SFO international airport. Our rooms offer a relaxing and fun stay to guests who are visiting San Francisco for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel South San Francisco
Howard Johnson Hotel Express
South San Francisco Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson South San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing