We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Hotel V

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel V
Reviewed October 20, 2007

My family of 5 stayed in this hotel for what was the end of a big trip. We decided to stay outside of SF due to cost and we were not disappointed. The airport shuttle they offered was great, from there we took the subway into SF. The desk clerk was very familiar with the area and made it much easier for us. Our room was fine, we were not in it much.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chatty3867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 581 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2007

Planned to use the park & fly package the night before we left for our honeymoon to save a little money. First, they wanted us to leave our car keys in a little envelope with our name on it. I wasn't into that idea, but I took the envelope and went to the room. We walked in and I almost just walked right back out and drove away. My husband talked me into toughing it out. After checking out the dirty towels and hairy bathroom I was terrified to see what was under the covers. Needless to say, we slept in our clothes. Our neighbors and their 4 children were up until 11pm screaming and running around & smoking outside our room. Every time they slammed their door I jumped thinking someone was coming in our room. I told the front desk I wouldn't leave my keys, he said that was fine. The next morning I noticed old bubbles in the bathtub. It was very easy to see it hadn't been cleaned. The towels were stained so bad I decided to get a beach towel out of the car. So...finally its time to get out of there! We go outside 15 minutes before the scheduled shuttle bus. We wait....wait...30 minutes go by and no shuttle bus. We have a plane to catch! Two families were waiting outside the locked office 30 minutes after it was supposed to be open. Finally someone comes and unlocks the door and then dissapears. A few minutes later I go in to see where the shuttle might be. I rang the bell...no one came. We decided we really didn't want to leave our car there anyway and we didn't have time to deal with it so we left. I just called to see about getting a refund for the parking & shuttle fee, after a lot of trouble I finally got a "give me your number & I'll get back to you". Not a fun start to our honeymoon!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lisaphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2006

Want to ruin your vacation? Here's a good start. Fraudulent charges, promised refund not delivered, calls not returned. The desk clerk could not take his eyes off my young-adult son's girlfriend. On flimsy pretexts, until late at night, he repeatedly called their room, once suggesting the young woman come down to the office. My son repeatedly -- and finally angrily -- told him to stop calling and leave them alone. Next morning, because of the clerk's error (or deliberately) they were charged for two nights when they stayed only one. When my wife and I intervened, the clerk promised to process a refund but refused to give us the credit receipt. Later, he processed the false charge instead of the promised refund. Two months of unreturned phone calls later...no refund. This outfit is shabby from top to bottom -- from the desk person, to the hotel manager, to the top customer relations person in San Diego. Note that they have a negative rating at the Better Business Bureau, and consider yourself warned.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DrDAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2006

The manager/front desk was rather strange. The room okay for overnight, new paint, unfinished renovation. The breakfast minimal. If I had a choice, I would not stay there again.

Stayed: November 2006
1  Thank gwanma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2006

We are from Europe and wanted to book a hotel from home to have a bed for the first three nights in the US. Due to the mostly positive reviews here, we chose Howard Johnson South San Francisco.
Overall, it was okay, but there are some bad points too: the hotel cost 400 $ for 3 nights, which is definitely too much. breakfast was simple, they had cake and coffee, but there is an IHOP nearby. The room was clean, but one of the sheet had stains on it and the surface felt sticky. The a/c did work, although it was very loud. We had a room on the upper floor, and there was some kind of hole (might have been a fan?) in the ceiling. The freeway is next to the hotel, and also the airport, so we heard cars and planes all night long. Closing the door to the bathroom didn´t help much. Internet access is wireless, but it didn´t work the first day. When we complained at the front desk, the woman said the only thing she could do is to turn on our phone (which has nothing to do with wireless internet access in my opinion), but it didn´t help. The second day, internet access worked, we don´t know why. TV worked, there was a microwave and a fridge. Bathroom was clean.

I wouldn´t stay here again, because it was simply not worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank winodino84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fresno, CA
13
Reviewed April 27, 2006

We were supposed to stay here for one night before flying out to the East Coast. We had made a reservation for their "park and fly" rate. When we arrived we were informed we had to leave our car keys with them while we were gone for a week. We were not previously informed of this, and were not willing to leave our car keys. We waited around to speak with the manager, VIJAY, who is terrible!!! He informed us that they required everyone to leave their car keys so they could move the cars to a different area. We said we were not able to leave the keys, and decided to stay across the street where they didn't require this. VIJAY was hard headed and not willing to compromise, and still charged us when we didn't even stay at the hotel!!! Horrible customer service. Since when do hotels require you to leave your keys, not inform you of it, and then charge you when you decide to go elsewhere!!! HORRIBLE!!!!!!

Stayed: April 2006
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Grand Prairie TX
13
Reviewed February 24, 2006

The outside of this hotel is not very attractive and the rooms have the standard hotel decoration. I was pleasantly surprised by my room though. My room was very clean and even though I was put in a smoking room it didn't smell like smoke at all. The door was a little difficult to close but I felt safe and was comfortable during my 3 night stay. Saturday night parking was a little difficult to find. It was the cheapest place I could find and had free parking.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
2,043 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco  Airport North
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francis...
#16 of 28 in South San Francisco
570 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#5 of 28 in South San Francisco
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl...
#17 of 28 in South San Francisco
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V

Address: 222 S Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in South San Francisco
Price Range: $116 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel V 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V is brought you by Lifestyle Hotels, and offers an elegant retreat in a classic San Francisco Boutique environment. Blending world class hospitality with an inviting atmosphere, we promise you'll be pleased with your stay. Our newly renovated 53-room hotel was designed to cater to business and leisure travelers alike by providing a complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle, in-room coffee, microwave and refrigerator, and complimentary Wifi through out the hotel.Great location and phenomenal service! Close to Downtown, Golden Gate Park, the Convention Center, Fisherman's Wharf, shopping, Alcatraz, and the San Francisco Airport. - Visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel South San Francisco
Howard Johnson Hotel Express
South San Francisco Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson South San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing