We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an overnight before heading to Napa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North
SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good for an overnight before heading to Napa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2007

We needed a nice, clean, but inexpensive hotel for a night before we went to Napa for a few days. The hotel was clean and exactly what we needed. We didn't expect any frills, just a comfortable place to sleep for the night. The staff at the desk was courteous and the breakfast in the morning was a typical continental breakfast--something to tide us over during our drive to Napa the next morning. If you need something that is clean and inexpensive, this was great. The only negative was the shuttle ride from the airport. We had to wait about 30 minutes to be picked up, and then the following morning, the shuttle was extremely overloaded for our ride back to the airport to pick up our rental car. But all in all, it served our purposes. I would recommend this hotel, and I would stay there again.

  • Liked — It was very clean.
  • Disliked — The shuttle service was slow.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CBCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    175
    103
    45
    42
See reviews for
145
143
48
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2007

After researching SFO airport hotels on Trip Advisor and Expedia, I booked the night of March 19, as we were flying out of SFO the next morning. I checked reviews on Trip Advisor and Expedia, but I booked directly through the Holiday Inn website in January and paid in advance for the best rate ($95) for a king room.
We arrived around 8:30PM, after two days of wining and dining in Napa Valley. The hotel was easy to find, just off 101 and very close to the rental car return. Check in was fast and efficient, though the desk clerk had a bit of an attitude – as if we were disturbing him by being there. We were assigned a room (229) and schlepped our bags to the elevator. The room was quite adequate -- large and comfortable, but looked like it was decorated by IKEA. The mattress was just average and the pillows were small and thin. The room was clean, but there was visible soap scum on the bathroom sink. I wiped everything down with a disinfectant wipe to be safe.
Having had an early dinner in Napa, we decided to forego another meal (there are several restaurants in the immediate area), repacked our luggage and settled in for the night. Water pressure in the shower was good. The towels were a bit thin, but we didn’t really expect luxury in an airport hotel. The coffee maker, fridge and microwave were nice touches, but we only used the coffee maker. An in-room safe for valuables was also provided. A complimentary SF Chronicle was left at our door in the morning. The free breakfast was nothing to rave about: the usual cereals, fruits, muffins, juices, etc. The warm cinnamon roles were a nice touch. Eggs and bacon were also available, so I made a sandwich on a toasted muffin. There’s a MacDonald’s next door and an IHOP just down the road if you need something more substantial for breakfast. Check out was quick and we were back at the airport and returning our rental car in less than 10 minutes.
Overall, the stay was okay, but I probably would not stay here again. On our previous trips to SF, we stayed at the nearby Hilton Garden Airport in Burlingame, which was far superior to the Holiday Inn Express. The best rate I could find, however, was $129, so we opted to save the money for fine dining.

  • Liked — Location and access to SFO airport
  • Disliked — Thin pillows.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morlaix, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2007

Arriving at SFO at about 1 am after a delayed flight and its pouring with rain, you need a good hotel. Look no further.

Our flight had been delayed an hour and we arrived at SFO and made it to the taxi rank. "Downtown Sir?" "No, Holiday Inn Express North"
"Ah, there is a free shuttle bus, upstairs"

Well, after making the trip upstairs and standing in the rain for 20 minutes waiting for the shuttle bus and then ringing the hotel, the shuttle bus driver had gone home! The taxi driver obviously wanted a big fare!

We trudged back to the taxi rank and told the driver the address. He dropped us off and in we went. Only to find he had dropped us off at the Holiday Inn and not the Holiday inn Express!!! So, walk 3 blocks in the pouring rain and present ourselves like drowned rats to
"Denny" on reception at the H.I.Express.

Its now 2am but Denny made us very welcome and sorted our keys straight away and we dragged ourselves to bed. Hotel room was quite large, clean and airy and we flopped until morning. Breakfast was good with the usual choices, staff were attentive and filled up the food and coffee as it was used. Reception was efficient and called a cab for us. Overall, a pleasant stay at an airport hotel.

  • Liked — Close to airport, friendly, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Had no view, leaky window.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DickG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hpt
Level Contributor
286 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

We booked the room for the week taking advantage of a long holiday week (Prez Day).

Our plane landed late from the East Coast in SFO so all I really wanted to do was check-in and rest. Ahhhh, checking in. I made my reservations with Holiday Inn almost 45 days out. Upon my arrival they said my charge card was not approved for the stay.

The stay hundreds...my limit...thousands......!!@!! So after about a 63 minute hold-on session with my credit card company & the hotel staff, it was discovered someone entered my card expiration incorrectly thus putting a "identify theft flag" on it. During this wait period, I noticed two different parties arrive to find out the hotel was FULLY booked & their reservations would not be honored.

(Mind you it was a holiday weekend, start of Chinese New Year, and Tour de California)

The breakfast selection was limited. The eggs made us ill...I would stay away from those!

Hours for whirlpool end at 10pm. Maid staff spoke Spanish & had "interesting" comments on our wardrobe and was SHOCKED when I was able to reply to their remarks...in Spanish.

The business center was a nicety, the shuttle runs every 20 minutes
and a McDonalds is next door, chinese buffet & IHOP down the street...makes it not so bad.

Room service pizza was GREAT!!!!
The bathroom was nice & bright...

The rooms decor was also nice...the Mini Fridge & Microwave made up.....for some of the early on glitches...

Overall it was a nice spot & would stay there again.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank pky_pook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2007

We checked in for 2 nights at this hotel as priority club members. The rooms are a little worn, bedspread was outdated. The carpet in our room was very dirty otherwise the room was clean and we didn't experience anything too bad. The beds are not comfortable and the pillows are very small and flat. You do hear the people upstairs walking on their floor. The hotel has an average free breakfast, not what we expected as we have had in other hotels. No eggs, sausage on weekends, only during business days. This hotel seems to cater to the business person. The cinnamon rolls are nice but came out of the kitchen much later than everyone expected. They should be on the breakfast bar along with the other foods when it opens up. Mostly cereal, milk, and toast. The front desk employees are very nice. The airport shuttle was a nice feature which is why we chose this hotel. I would stay somewhere different on our next visit. Be careful walking around in the neighborhood. Some homeless people camped out in the bushes.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2006

My family and I stayed here Nov. 8-10, 2006. Check in was fast and accurate. Our room was clean. We did not hear any airplanes during our entire stay. Breakfast was OK. All employees we encountered were courteous and friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — None
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiyomi-San
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2006

Last stopover on the California family road trip before our flight home.

Arrived late as we made the most of our final day in Yosemite before the drive over. Even later because of the poor directions on the confirmation email. ...and who decided to call it Airport Boulevard South, when it is North of the airport??

Checked in OK, though had to change one of the 2xQueen rooms to a King because they were fully booked, and then arrange a roller-bed. This wasn't too much of a problem, unlike for other travellers who'd spend an hour trying to source one!

Had noticed Houlihans restaurant at the other Holiday Inn nearby so tried to eat there, but they'd 'closed early as it was a slow night' - it was only 9.40pm on a Saturday!! The only recommendation the desk could make was the IHOP across the road, so we made do; not the best end to a great holiday.

Whirlpool is for 18+ years only, which was a pain as I wanted the 13 & 15 year olds out of my hair whilst I packed. At least they could make use of the in-room Nintendo, albeit for an additional $8.95.

  • Liked — Proximity to airport
  • Disliked — Directions & lack of nearby amenities/restaurants
  • Tips/Secrets — Look it up on Mapquest first!!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob_Anderson_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl...
#17 of 28 in South San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites -- South San Francisco
Quality Inn & Suites -- South Sa...
#9 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airpor...
#2 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North
Address: 373 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport North is centrally located just one mile north of San Francisco International Airport and minutes from San Francisco's world famous attractions and financial district. Complimentary amenities with each night's stay include a free hot morning breakfast buffet, free San Francisco International Airport and BART station shuttle service, free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, and free use of the hotel's 24 hour business center.The hotel also offers guests an expanded fitness room and whirlpool spa. In-room amenities in all of the the hotel's newly renovated oversized guestrooms include a luxury pillow-top mattress, 32" flat panel television, microwave/refrigerator, digital safe, cordless phone, two-line speakerphone with data-port and voice mail, iron/ironing board, coffeemaker, and a large 48" executive desk with an ergonomic chair. A coin-op guest laundry facility and ATM are also available on-site.Park Stay & Go Packages are available, which can include up to 14 days of covered parking beyond your actual stay at the hotel.San Francisco City, Alcatraz, and Napa Valley Room and Tour Packages are available, which include both accommodations and tour pick-up and drop-off services from and to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North Hotel South San Francisco
Holiday Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing