We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North
Ukiah, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Airport Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is a great place to stay when flying in or out of SFO. They have a park n fly rate and some covered parking. Staff is always friendly and the hotel is usually quiet with few airport noises.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    175
    104
    48
    42
See reviews for
145
145
48
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marengo, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here one night before we flew back to Chicago. The hotel general areas were clean and the front desk staff was very friendly. The room was large (full couch and king bed) and clean. This property is located in an industrial area near the airport. We checked in in the evening and the area was quiet - virtually empty. We felt comfortable walking around, but your restaurant choices are limited. We didn't have a car and had to rely on what was in the immediate area. This is a great property if you want to stay near the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eye-tripped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed the night here after missing a connecting flight. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were clean and appeared to be relatively new. They serve a nice breakfast as well. My only caution is that the shuttle bus only runs about every 30 minutes. We waited a long time at the terminal and finally called. The shuttle drops at 3 hotels...this being the last for drop off and the last for pick up. So....we were exhausted and had to wait to be dropped and then in the morning, they had to send a back up shuttle as the first one was full. The good news...the shuttles stick to their scheduled times, so they are predictable and the back up shuttle was to the hotel in less than two minutes. I would stay here again...I would just plan ahead for the shuttle.

Room Tip: Rooms were pretty quiet...ask to not be at the end where the shuttle bus turns around as he backs up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just stayed there for one night- Had an early flight out the next morning. Asked for a 3:30 a.m. wake up call. Got up early anyway- went to front desk said no call was needed. Just as I was to hop in the shower, the wake up call came in. Thought hotel was rather old and a bit run down. Only there for 8 hours. Free shuttle came at 4:06 a.m. right on time. Short drive to airport. Had trouble printing boarding passes, but that was not the hotel's fault. Wouldn't stay there again, due to the age of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEXS_Management, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
On behalf of the entire staff at the Holiday Inn Express SFO North, we would like to thank you for your stay and comments. Also, we would like to address one comment in your post. The hotel was built in 2002. There are only two hotels in the entire SFO market, which stretches fifteen miles, that are younger than this hotel. These two hotels were opened in late 2002 and 2003 respectively. Moreover, our hotel was completely renovated in 2011. The renovation was extensive and included all new paint, carpet, vinyl, tile, and furniture throughout the entire hotel. Thus, we are surprised by your observation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldapple360
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

When I entered my bathroom for the first time i couldnt help but notice the many dark hairs around the tub and floor--I'm blonde so I know for sure they are not mine. Shortly after checking in Friday afternoon, I took a shower and noticed that there was, what appeared to be, blue gel toothpaste on the inside top of the shower curtain. When I left for dinner that night, I asked for a new shower curtain. It was not replaced. Saturday morning when I left for the day, I asked again for a new shower curtain and also for someone to check out the tv as it wasn't working. When I returned later that afternoon, the dirty shower curtain was still in place and the tv still wasn't working. Upon heading out for dinner that evening I once again asked for a clean shower curtain and someone to check the tv. Finally, when I returned that evening, the shower curtain had been replaced. However, housekeeping must have rinsed the curtain in my sink as there was the same blue gel left around in the sink. Seriously? This was my first and last stay at a Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank goldapple360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear goldapple360,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Note: though this hotel is located on South Airport Blvd, it is considered Holiday Inn "North". So don't get the wrong free shuttle bus when you get to the curb.

I find this place comfortable, clean, convenient (especially if you arrive late at night after hours of delays and flying, there is a McDonald's right next door - I know, it is McDonalds, but a simple apple pie sure is better than an empty stomach). I like the small but functional gym which I can get a good exercise very early in the morning. The breakfast was surprisingly ok.

The heater can be a bit noisy - but really, heaters in all small hotels/ motels are noisy so I can't pin this down to Holiday Inn alone.

Bottom line: if you just transit in San Francisco, get this hotel. I know I will.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Tourist_B,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We are glad you like our hotel location and amenities. We are sorry for any inconvenience the noise from the heater caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Like so many other hotels/motels, this Holiday Inn Express San Francisco-Airport North is one of many just a few miles north of San Francisco Airport. As you drive up to the property you immediately get the impression that it’s old and small, unlike many neighboring hotels. The front desk was friendly on arrival. The hotel was clean and the room was comfortable. It was rainy in San Francisco and it was cool at night, so we had the window heating unit on. It stopped working around 10pm. The maintenance man worked on it twice, and the choice we finally had was to let it run full-blast all night. Then we found ourselves opening the window every 10 minutes to let the place cool off, getting a good amount of aircraft noise every time we did open the window. So that didn't work out well, and we called the front desk a 3rd time, where that once-friendly voice had become very irritable. Around Midnight we personally had to move all of our unpacked belongings to another room. The following night, the heating unit gave out in the 2nd room. We just put up with it, and were overjoyed to check out the following morning. The front desk did not ask us how our stay had been. If you have to stay here, make sure you get a very low room rate.

Room Tip: Stay here if you're positive you won't need to use the window heating and air conditioning u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgeblomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear georgeblomme,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the heating unit issues you experienced. We did indeed have a problem that took a couple days to completely repair. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl...
#18 of 28 in South San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites -- South San Francisco
Quality Inn & Suites -- South Sa...
#9 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.3 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton San Francisco Airport
Four Points By Sheraton San Fran...
#14 of 28 in South San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North
Address: 373 S Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport North is centrally located just one mile north of San Francisco International Airport and minutes from San Francisco's world famous attractions and financial district. Complimentary amenities with each night's stay include a free hot morning breakfast buffet, free San Francisco International Airport and BART station shuttle service, free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, and free use of the hotel's 24 hour business center.The hotel also offers guests an expanded fitness room and whirlpool spa. In-room amenities in all of the the hotel's newly renovated oversized guestrooms include a luxury pillow-top mattress, 32" flat panel television, microwave/refrigerator, digital safe, cordless phone, two-line speakerphone with data-port and voice mail, iron/ironing board, coffeemaker, and a large 48" executive desk with an ergonomic chair. A coin-op guest laundry facility and ATM are also available on-site.Park Stay & Go Packages are available, which can include up to 14 days of covered parking beyond your actual stay at the hotel.San Francisco City, Alcatraz, and Napa Valley Room and Tour Packages are available, which include both accommodations and tour pick-up and drop-off services from and to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North Hotel South San Francisco
Holiday Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing