We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Nice remodeled rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Good hotel. Rooms were remodeled. The wifi sucked. The front desk told us time after time to restart our computers. Finally we used the wifi in the lobby. Overall a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brewers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 563 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2011

I admit it...I didn't want to like this place. I booked it expecting an "ok" experience for the value. I was wrong.

The hotel is renovated, tastefully decorated (minus the fake flowers near the elevators...hotel management...buy some flowers on your way in to work!), the rooms were huge, the bed was comfy, the decor was simple and clean and the grab and go breakfast was sufficient.

Needless to say, I was wrong. This is a great find for the SFO area on a budget!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelovers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Getting a shuttle to the hotel was an issue. The shuttle drivers were not that friendly and it took three trys to get the right shuttle. Then realized when we got to the hotel we had no transport into San Francisco without going back to the airport and riding the bart which is no fun!
If you have car it is a nice clean hotel with decent bedding and nice staff. Food was fine and staff were kind enough to call a car for us to travel into town the next day.

Room Tip: Good hotel if staying because of early flight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kudzie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEXS_Management, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

On behalf of the entire hotel staff, we would like to thank-you for your stay and constructive comments regarding the hotel. Our shuttle runs every twenty to twenty-five minutes to SFO between the hours of 4:00 AM to 1:00 AM daily. As with all San Francisco Airport hotels due to airport regulations, we share our shuttle service with other competing hotels. Nevertheless, we are proud to have one of the best shuttle schedules amongst SFO hotels. Most other hotels not in our shuttle group have shuttles that run to the airport every thirty to thirty-five minutes. Since the shuttle is provided by an independent contractor, we have passed along your comments regarding your experience with the driver to the independent contractor.

As for your comments regarding the car, there are multiple restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. Also, guests can get to Downtown San Francisco via BART, taxi (we have negotiated rates with the local cab company), and bus (the bus stop is just one block from the hotel). Our hotel shuttle service does provide complimentary transportation to the SFO BART Station. BART provides train service to most cities within the San Francisco Bay Area. Guests can also take Caltrain to many locations such as AT&T Park, Silicon Valley, and Gilroy. The Caltrain station is located one mile from the hotel and can be accessed from the SFO BART station mentioned above. Lastly, the hotel does have Room & Tour Packages that guests can book that include transportation to/from the hotel to Downtown San Francisco and Napa Valley. For additional details regarding these packages, please visit our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed here the night before we left San Francisco since we had an early flight. They start the airport shuttle at 4:30a.m.! We had to take the 5:50a.m. shuttle so we knew that we would miss breakfast that starts at 6--they should start MUCH earlier. There are not many restaurants in the area but we did find a great Chinese Buffet, for dinner, just a half a block to the right of the hotel--the desk failed to mention this! The hotel has been completely updated so everything was very nice and new. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet--we heard nothing when we went to bed at 8p.m. The price was good for the area and it is a short ride to the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WisconsinChippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Had a very late dinner in SF + very early flight next morning so stayed overnight at this HIE. Great hotel. Recently refurbished & definitely liked the modern decor: light, airy rooms. Very clean, comfy bed, good WIFI. Used the Park & Stay PKG as it was very convenient & cheaper than airport lots. Shuttle was a bit of a disappointment: took quite awhile to show up at SFO (watched other hotel shuttles come & go MANY times); ride from airport, stopped at every little hotel along the way, even though no one got on or off & upon return to SFO, did the same, made the ride take about extra 15 mins in both directions. Other than that minor complaint, good stay & would come back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel simply due to it's location to San Francisco Int'l Airport. After we checked in I was pleasantly surprised on how updated and clean everything was. I chose to sleep in so I didn't take advantage of their free full breakfast but the desk clerk was friendly at check in and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barros102181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Got a deal on hot-wire, newly renovated hotel. Rooms were spacious and clean! Parking was reasonable, and only 15 minutes from downtown. Perfect place to stay if using the airport, and not noisy! Free breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEB915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl...
#13 of 28 in South San Francisco
714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
2,105 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
1,009 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airpor...
#2 of 28 in South San Francisco
888 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North

Address: 373 S Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range: $113 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport North is centrally located just one mile north of San Francisco International Airport and minutes from San Francisco's world famous attractions and financial district. Complimentary amenities with each night's stay include a free hot morning breakfast buffet, free San Francisco International Airport and BART station shuttle service, free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, and free use of the hotel's 24 hour business center.The hotel also offers guests an expanded fitness room and whirlpool spa. In-room amenities in all of the the hotel's newly renovated oversized guestrooms include a luxury pillow-top mattress, 32" flat panel television, microwave/refrigerator, digital safe, cordless phone, two-line speakerphone with data-port and voice mail, iron/ironing board, coffeemaker, and a large 48" executive desk with an ergonomic chair. A coin-op guest laundry facility and ATM are also available on-site.Park Stay & Go Packages are available, which can include up to 14 days of covered parking beyond your actual stay at the hotel.San Francisco City, Alcatraz, and Napa Valley Room and Tour Packages are available, which include both accommodations and tour pick-up and drop-off services from and to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North Hotel South San Francisco
Holiday Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing