We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SLOW, SLOW, SLOW Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“SLOW, SLOW, SLOW Internet”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Overall, this is a nice property. The suites are spacious and if you're in the better locations in the property, the views of the bay are good. Very disappointing is the terrible Internet connection. Seems slower than dial-up. However, if you choose to pay for it, they offer a faster connection. So they give you Internet for free, but it's really a trap to buy the real connection. Uncool! I downgraded my rating due to the Internet scam.

The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable. The seam in the carpet was coming apart and the desk chair had a hole in it. I expect more from a Marriott. Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner.

Breakfast is typical and very good. There is a good variety, including make-your-own waffles, always fun for the children. Also, several waffle toppings are an added plus. Juices, coffee and herb teas. Breakfast was very popular and the staff kept pace with the demand.

Pool and spa are clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDBeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We appreciate your commenting regarding your stay with us at the Oyster Point Residence Inn by Marriott. Please accept my apology for the desk chair hole and carpet issue. I feel bad that you did not have a completely enjoyable visit. We have recently installed all new mattresses and in order to continue improving our product we will renovate all of our rooms starting in December. I am sorry that the internet speed was not up to your standards. While we do offer an upgraded internet for a fee, which works well for streaming video, we also have complimentary internet which is good for checking email or browsing the internet. We continually are monitoring our bandwidth and add additional based on customer need. Thank you for your comments that you enjoyed breakfast and that the staff did a nice job. I do hope that you will come back and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    114
    66
    17
    5
See reviews for
130
57
17
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel was a disappointment considering the price. First, the front office manager had an attitude when I checked in. She had a negative tone when speaking and did not make us feel welcome at all. It prides itself on being on the water, but it would have cost a whopping $ 120 extra just to get a glimpse of it. We passed on that, and decided to just take what they had available at the regular rate. At the time, we were still considering where to stay the entire two weeks in San Francisco, so if this had been a great experience it could have been the place. The lobby at this hotel is "okay" but very small and crammed. On our way to the elevator, which is down the hallway and just one of them, I noticed it was not very clean. It seemed old and was not fresh at all.

When we got to the room, it was 80 degrees. It was hot and uncomfortable, and the windows were not opening (turns out they open from top down). We tried to get the A/C to work but it did not kick in so we had to call the front desk. When we called, no one picked up the phone, and we had to go downstairs and get some assistance. Again, the manager there had little regard for the initial experience, but did send up Thomas. He was the highlight of the stay - positive, respectful and very helpful. By the time he left the room, the A/C had started to work and he showed us how the windows worked.

The functionality of the one bedroom suite was fine, and the room was clean (however, still seemingly had an old and outdated feel to it).

The next morning, we went down for breakfast and it was like a pack of wolves eating there. There is a small "food" island with the breakfast options, but such little space that people were on top of each other. The staffing was scarce and no one was around to wipe down the tables when guests had left. This left the tables with left over food scattered on the surfaces and in general just presenting a dirty environment. The plain choices were fine, but the "hot options" were non tasty, and mass delivered. They tasted as if they came out of a microwave and had been previously frozen. There was nothing fresh about it.

Once we had breakfast we decided to leave the hotel; it was just too outdated, chaotic and no thought put in to it. I have stayed at other Residence Inns before, and some of them were excellent. This was not well managed and needs an overhaul. Not to mention, we were quoted one rate, but on our invoice another rate showed up (to their advantage of course). Also, they charged $ 3.25 for a Vitamin water. This was unacceptable, in my opinion. Mind you, they have you where they want you because there are no gas stations, markets or restaurants close to that hotel. If you want to go somewhere and get your own groceries or eat elsewhere, you must have a car. We did not have a rental car.

We ended up in a boutique hotel in downtown San Francisco for the same price and the two are light years apart. I will be writing my review on that later this week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goeverywhere83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for writing about your stay on Trip Advisor and sharing your thoughts. I am sorry that the Front Desk Manager was not helpful in finding a room for you and that the cleanliness of the hotel did not meet your standards. We pride ourselves on guest service and cleanliness and feel bad when we don't deliver on that promise. I am pleased to hear that you had a positive interaction with our engineer Thomas and that he was able to get your A/C working. I have shared your comments with my Housekeeping and Front Desk team on areas for improvement. We are excited to announce a full lobby and rooms renovation beginning in December. I do hope that you will give Residence Inn another opportunity in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much, rooms were clean, staff was awesome. They do have a shuttle on Fridays and Saturdays to take you to either Union Square or Fisherman's Wharf, we waited for about 20 minutes for the driver to come in to tell us his shuttle was full. We had them take us to the Cal train stop and learned the bus routes very quickly, about 10 dollars a day for both, round trip. Ill stay here again!

Room Tip: ask for a bay view , our view was the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shortnsassy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I am not a hotel snob by any means but the two different rooms we were given were filthy. We were booked for nine nights, but it was all we could do to make it through the first night. Marriott was kind enough to cancel the remaining nights and rebook us in San Mateo about 10 minutes away. The first room was filthy, called the front desk and they switched us. It was worse than the first. I have never stayed at a Marriott level 5 property so outdated. The location is great but the rooms need a major overhaul.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments during your recent stay with us. I am sorry that this was not an enjoyable visit and you felt the rooms were dirty and outdated. I feel bad that you did not have a positive experience. I have shared your comments with my Housekeeping team about the importance of cleanliness. We have recently installed all new mattresses and will renovate all of our rooms starting in December. I do hope that you will continue to stay at Marriott hotels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Every time I take a family holiday to the US, we stay in a Residence Inn. The San Fran one was excellent and convenient for many of the road trips we took. Breakfasts are always fantastic and the doughnuts , which are not something I usually eat at breakfast, were so good that we became addicted and around 5lb heavier when we came home, lol. The staff were courteous and helpful and will sticking the Residence Inns for future trips to the US

Room Tip: We had a 2 room suite and it was clean and tidy. Ground floor worked for us. I recommend the doughnu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsdean99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turgtusteynam
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Oyster Point can be very beautiful and scenic on San Fran Bay. The room was kept well. The internet worked well. It was nice to not be right in the city. It was right next to a Courtyard so you could go over there and buy supplementary prepared food and Starbucks coffee it you didn't get enough of what they made downstairs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights with 2 teenagers. I am a Platinum member and the service was excellent.

We stayed here because parking was free and the prices were low. Our room faced the bay and was great to wake up to such a pretty view. The hotels downtown charge for parking and was nice to save money. It will take you at least 20-30 minutes to get downtown in normal traffic .

This Residence Inn has the biggest pool and pretty to see the bay. I recommend it for families.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeccaN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.1 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/...
#6 of 28 in South San Francisco
367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
942 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Francisco Airport North
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
1,945 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airpor...
#2 of 28 in South San Francisco
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
Address: 1350 Veterans Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-1954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront Hotel
Residence Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing