We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service and Refreshing Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Bahrain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Refreshing Location”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We moved to this hotel after a horrible experience in another hotel located in Union Square area in which we couldn't spend more than one night. We called Marriott call center and requested for spacious room that fits 3 adults. They immediately offered us an early check in (@ 9 am) in a 2-bedroom suite at this hotel. We actually checked in by 10 am and the receptionist was adorable. Although we requested for bay view on the phone, but none was available at that time. The receptionist mentioned that they had few 2-bedroom suites with proper bay view (few other ones had partial view only). Anyway, we cannot complain as their prompt service was a lifesaver. We stayed here for three nights.

The receptionist on duty always advised us of the nice touristic places and also guided us to amazing nightlife areas. Their only issue was that they never answered phone calls at times when we called from the room. So the staff were very helpful, but we had to go downstairs in person to ask them things.

The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. One day housekeeping missed cleaning our room because we had DND sign hanging outside although we removed it when we left the room by 4 pm. So we used to remind housekeeping to clean the room everyday before leaving (last call was 5 pm if I recall correctly). The rooms also had free wifi connection, which was useful to book for attractions using the iPad. Unfortunately, there was no T-mobile network coverage in the rooms (that was annoying), so we relied merely on the free wifi. The hotel premises had plenty of free parking spaces so we never had to worry about finding parking at anytime of the day. The only thing that we missed in the room was a safe. So we had to take a security safe box from reception and had to carry key with us everywhere.

The hotel location was refreshing being on the bay and far away from city traffic and noise. The scenery was very relaxing and it prompted us to go jogging every morning. Unfortunately the pool was closed (probably for renovation), so we couldn't go swimming as a morning exercise. There was delicious hot breakfast that was served till 10 am during weekends (earlier during weekdays). The hotel was located less than 10 or 15 minutes drive to San Francisco downtown and other attractions such as Golden Gate Bridge.

The experience in this hotel was wonderful and just proved to us that we should never change from staying at Marriott hotels. We definitely recommend staying at this hotel (but only if you have a car). Otherwise it will be far from SF downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had such a great experience. I am pleased that our Guest Service Representative's were so helpful as our goal is to deliver excellent service. During your visit in November 2011 our pool was closed for renovation and I am pleased to announce that we reopened our pool in February 2012. We now offer a completely new pool and spa, new furniture and patio area with beautiful views of the San Francisco Bay. Thank you again for staying with Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    111
    63
    17
    4
See reviews for
122
57
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. We were upgraded to a Bay view room and it was very nice, although very far from the front (304). They overheard us saying it was our 50th anniversary and upon returning to our room after dinner, we found a bottle of wine and a nice card waiting for us. We definitely did not make an issue of its being our anniversary so that was a case of somebody taking it upon themselves to do a really nice thing.
They offer a free shuttle to the airport about every 20 minutes from about 5 am to midnight so that is a nice way to get to BART to take public transportation to San Francisco. That was a big plus for us.
On the other hand, they said they offered a free (!) ride to Fisherman's Wharf on Saturdays and Sundays, but there were some big problems with that. We asked if we needed to make a reservation to get on the first van and they said "no." HOWEVER, they did not tell us that the van makes many stops before getting to the Residence Inn, therefore the van was FULL. We could and did get on because the driver said he could take 5 people.
We assumed that meant there were 5 seats. No, no seats. We stood for the entire trip of about 45 minutes. We would have paid to take BART if we had known about standing for 45 minutes! Very poor public relations.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OnTheRoadTucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback concerning your recent stay at our hotel. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your 50th Anniversary with us. Please accept my apology for the miscommunication regarding the complimentary shuttle to Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco and that you had to stand due to the shuttle's capacity. We regret that we did not meet your expectations with this service. It is our hope that you will visit us again if your travel's bring you to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for only one night. The room was ok but could have been cleaner. There are no restaurants near by and I had just missed the dinner service so I ordered food from the in room service that was offered. I called and was give a completely different price than what was listed in the menu. I was told I must have an old menu and was not offers an apology or a discount. I was starving so I paid the ridiculous amount. Would not recommend. There are much better places to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juneever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments during your recent stay with us. I do apologize about the room cleanliness and dinner service. We will review your comments with our housekeeping and front desk associates to ensure that we improve in these areas. I am pleased to let you know that we do have a restaurant located right next door in our newly renovated lobby at the Courtyard by Marriott that offers dinner 7 days/week from 5pm-10pm. In addition, we Proudly Serve Starbucks coffee in The Bistro restaurant. We do hope you come back and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at this Residence Inn recently after arriving late at night at SFO. We selected the hotel because we needed to be in the Union Square area the next morning to pick up a rental car in a very precise time window and a gentleman I had spoken to at the front desk a week and a half in advance had told me that on the Saturday we would be there, there would be a complementary shuttle to Union Square. He and I were both referring to the correct date. However, we discovered that morning that the shuttle that day would instead go to Pier 39. We ended up having to take a very stressful $20 cab ride to pick up our rental car on time. We never would have stayed here if it weren't for the shuttle, so it was very disappointing that this wasn't as promised.

Other than that, the room was fine though some of the furniture was pretty run down. The walls were on the thin side and we could hear the young boys in the next room until very late at night. Breakfast was pretty good (except for a very sad looking fruit salad). Not a horrible place to stay by any means, but the misinformation in our case was unacceptable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crims0ngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments during your recent stay with us. I do apologize about the incorrect information you received regarding the drop off location of our complimentary weekend shuttle to San Francisco. We will review your comments with our front desk associates to ensure that this does not happen again in the future. We do hope you come back and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Used the hotel as our base for a 5 day visit to San Francisco and the neighboring area.
The check-in was fast and efficient with friendly service. The rooms were big and very well designed and furnished. The kitchenette is well equipped and we saved a lot of money on cooking the family dinner rather than dining out every evening. The rooms were clean and the daily cleaning was very good. Beds were great. Breakfast was good. Marriott seems to do a good job in standardizing quality so once you have been in one you more or less get what you expect at the next one.
The amenities at the hotel are a nice addition: We used the outside gas-grill to cook steaks, the (small) fitness room and the basket-ball court.

You definitely need a car if you stay at this hotel and want to do some sight-seeing. It’s conveniently close to the highway and there is free parking. If you are only staying a day or two and only plan on visiting downtown SF you might be better off in a more central location. If however like us you are spending several days, are traveling with kids and have a car then this is a great place to stay.

The ultimate test: Would I stay there again? Definitely and with no trepidation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gestur_Traustason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here to visit San Francisco State University to tour the campus and this location worked out perfectly. It's right next door to the Courtyard and a Business Park with a train that runs in front of the properties. There is a bay on the backside with a walk way. We didn't have a problem with train noise as we were on the bay side. The front of the hotel is quite nice & welcoming. The lobby has a small fireplace with dining room. Free coffee & tea, breakfast, & light dinner, beverages. The chicken noodle soup was quite good. We had a one bedroom and the living area was quite adequate. The bedroom area was small for lugguge but we just put the luggage in the livingroom. Room was clean & bed was comfortable, clean bathroom. Small kitchen included which was nice to have meals in the room. Some noise from the room movement above & the refridgerator hums often. The public areas a bit worn, but we enjoyed this hotel. A short distance into San Francisco city, Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bayside away from the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annew1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

While we had no major complaint during our stay here, we did not feel the quality that Marriott is known for here.

The staff were friendly as always and I would rate them as excellent and exceed standard when it comes to customer service.

The first room we were given had some minor issues but we were ok with it until we realize it was right next to the train track and the train seems to come by ever hour or at least timed it where we were getting ready to dose off. We only requested to be relocated because of the train being too loud but the other minor issues with the room were small stain on the couch, TV remote did not work, several sprinkler caps were missing and painter's tape were left on the door. Again, we would have tolerated the minor issues but the train was too much.

At our request the staff was able to accommodate us and relocated us to the other end of the property which was 100% better. The room was clean and no other issue with the train.

Although it's always crowd and nothing spectacular, we appreciates the free breakfast buffet that Residence Inn always offer their guests.

Overall we think the property deserve an average rating but we probably won't be staying here again because it's too far from everything we like to do in San Francisco. Only one side of the hotel is bearable and has gorgeous scenery but I don't want to get stuck on the side with the annoying railway sound.

I would like to see more Residence Inn in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train track
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ObjectiveUnknown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.1 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/...
#7 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Francisco Airport North
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport - South San Francisco
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Fra...
#9 of 28 in South San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at Oyster Point
Inn at Oyster Point
#5 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
Address: 1350 Veterans Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-1954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront Hotel
Residence Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing