We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay if catching a plane”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
CT
Level Contributor
173 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good place to stay if catching a plane”
Reviewed June 6, 2010

The rooms are clean, there is a free computer room with printers, and the price is right. (Less than $70) We stayed at the Clarion on an earlier trip and it was awful. We changed our reservations to the Best Western and we happy to learn that it was less expensive and so much better. Near to the airport and they have free transportation to the motel and to the airport.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CTNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    739
    298
    104
    64
See reviews for
521
600
162
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2010

The room was a great price especially considering that you received a complimentary breakfast with multiple choices (cereal, bacon, yogurt, eggs and/or breads). There is a fee for parking overnight not included in the room rate, but it was minimal ($3 I think). Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated, though it was odd to have only one bedside table. Really surprised that the room was so quiet despite being so close to the airport. Rental car facility is just a mile down the road. Would suggest you hit downtown SSF(Grand Ave.) for a wide choice of restaurants. We're definitely staying again when we fly out of SFO and need a room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redshoedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2010

This was our first stay at this hotel and I must say it was an enjoyable experience. The beds, often a criticism, were very good, the rooms were clean and up to date, and the breakfast was first rate. I would confidently recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family looking for a place to stay before flying out of SFO, or just for a get away period.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopSarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We chose this hotel by the airport since we have always had great experiences with the Best Western chain, but this hotel was the unfortunate exception. Our room was so gross we didn't stay our second night. The first thing we noticed was that the remote control had food all over it, so we covered it with the ice bucket bag just so we could use that night. Then we discovered the guest books and materials by the bed were soaked in old still sticky soda. The bed was scratchy so I pulled back the sheets, there were black dots all over it. They later tried to convince me it was just sand all over the bed (we were not near a beach) but I have a strong feeling it was Bed Bugs...yuck! The sheets also had body hair all over it. Needless to say I itched all night and thus did not sleep well. The next morning when I got up to use the restroom there was a tick crawling on the bathroom floor which we put in a plastic bag to show management. Then when I got in the shower there was hair all over the bathtub, walls and ceiling. When my husband went to talk to management they said the only thing they can do is give us 15% off...really? We would rather just leave! There are tons of other "clean" options in this area to chose from.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lekhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2010
We are proud to say that we are a recipient hotel of 3 consecutive "Excellent Housekeeping Awards" given to us by Best Western International, Inc. and although this review is somewhat over exaggerated, we apologize that this guest found the room to be in such condition. We do not have bugs in our rooms and our hotel is very clean. Although the guest requested a complimentary room and/or a complimentary room at another Best Western hotel, the guest was given a 40% discount (not 15%), in which he said satisfied him. We would like to again apologize about any inconvenience he experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington VT
Level Contributor
156 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

I concur with those who give the Grosvenor high marks. The rate was low, the quality high. This may not be Grand Hotel, as I noted some flaws in the service in the restaurant, but given that their mission is getting people in and out on time, comfortably, with a good meal and a good night sleep, I think they meet their goals admirably. The shuttle service is efficient and easy. The bed was very comfortable and I had no noise problem at all. I recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
299 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2010

After a week in scenic coastal California and the wine country, this was the last night before flying home. This hotel was very convenient for rental car return, good shuttle service to the nearby airport, and decent meal in the Brass Elephant bar and restaurant. A good cooked breakfast bar, fairly quiet considering location.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We are here now, using the complementry wi-fi. We are here as a way of recovering from a 14 hour flight, with a futher stay before we fly home. Our choice of hotel was dictated by cost and the shuttle bus from SFO. Rooms are fine, if a little noisey from traffic and of course aircraft. However I personnaly think sleep disturbance was due more to jet-lag than excessive noise.

We chose to take in a bar snack the evening of our arrival and found the bar, staff & food excellent and to make things even better it was happy hour so 50% off!

In the morning breakfast was basic but adaquate if you want fine dining put your hand in your pocket and go to a premium hotel.

There are quite a few hotels of the same type in this area and yes a McDonnalds too although we never used it. It does look a little industrial here but then its not where we would choose for a full holiday stay. If you have any doubts checkout its location on google street view as we did before booking!

You can't please everyone all the time and indeed entering the lift to our room someone was complaning about a problem with the shower!

I am sure that most airport hotels around the world are the same and this one is no different.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie Gremlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airpor...
#2 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites -- South San Francisco
Quality Inn & Suites -- South Sa...
#10 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North
Holiday Inn Express San Francisc...
#12 of 28 in South San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Address: 380 S Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
#3 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
#5 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#6 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient hotel of 3 Best Western "Director's Award" and 11 consecutive "Excellent Housekeeping Awards". Newly renovated rooms, restaurant, bar and meeting space. Location, location, location! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Hotel offers all the amenities you need for business or pleasure! Restaurant, bar, business center, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, complimentary shuttle to SFO. PLEASE NOTE that our front entrance and porte cochere are currently under renovation and our entrance is located at the rear of the hotel. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South San Francisco
South San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing