We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not Grand Hotel, but a great value and gets you to the airport on time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 14, 2010

I concur with those who give the Grosvenor high marks. The rate was low, the quality high. This may not be Grand Hotel, as I noted some flaws in the service in the restaurant, but given that their mission is getting people in and out on time, comfortably, with a good meal and a good night sleep, I think they meet their goals admirably. The shuttle service is efficient and easy. The bed was very comfortable and I had no noise problem at all. I recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,812 - 1,818 of 2,114 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2010

After a week in scenic coastal California and the wine country, this was the last night before flying home. This hotel was very convenient for rental car return, good shuttle service to the nearby airport, and decent meal in the Brass Elephant bar and restaurant. A good cooked breakfast bar, fairly quiet considering location.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We are here now, using the complementry wi-fi. We are here as a way of recovering from a 14 hour flight, with a futher stay before we fly home. Our choice of hotel was dictated by cost and the shuttle bus from SFO. Rooms are fine, if a little noisey from traffic and of course aircraft. However I personnaly think sleep disturbance was due more to jet-lag than excessive noise.

We chose to take in a bar snack the evening of our arrival and found the bar, staff & food excellent and to make things even better it was happy hour so 50% off!

In the morning breakfast was basic but adaquate if you want fine dining put your hand in your pocket and go to a premium hotel.

There are quite a few hotels of the same type in this area and yes a McDonnalds too although we never used it. It does look a little industrial here but then its not where we would choose for a full holiday stay. If you have any doubts checkout its location on google street view as we did before booking!

You can't please everyone all the time and indeed entering the lift to our room someone was complaning about a problem with the shower!

I am sure that most airport hotels around the world are the same and this one is no different.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie Gremlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

The front desk staff was quite nice when we checked in. The room was nicely appointed for a relatively budget price. The furniture showed a little wear. We were placed on the east side of the building, a plus considering the airport flight pattern is on the west side. Checking out wasn't as nice. The desk lady was alone and had to multi task incoming phone calls, and unhappy client, and us simultaneously.I couldn't tell if she was talking to me or the person on the phone.It took longer than a normal check out. Free breakfast is included with free shuttle to airport.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 51Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

If you are traveling for pleasure to San Francisco, Do not stay here, I wish someone would have told me. They charged my card for a so called hold, I found out by waking up and seeing my bank account overdrawn, no one told me they would do that (Thanks Expedia). The manager was very dismissive about it and I guess he felt an apology was not in order even though they charged me without saying anything and then the amount they charges was incorrect it was doubled. The beds are very hard, very industrial type area. Only place to eat is Mc Donald's, after reading the reviews (at the hotel when I found out how bad they are) I did not touch their breakfast. And one thing I have not heard anyone mention is the HORRIBLE transportation. In order to get into San Francisco you have 3 options 1) Find the one cab that services the area (It seemed like S. San Francisco had some breakout and no one will come here, it was weird) we called 7 different cab companies and they would go to the airport but not here and this place is in between the two. So if you find the one cab (I forgot the name) it cost 40 dollars one way or 2) you can take the free shuttle to the airport (back track) and spend an hour getting there via BART (10 per person rndtrip) or 3) you can hire a limo. And I think 10.00 per person is very expensive for bus/train service, that’s crazy if there are two people for 1 week = 140 + what you spent on this hotel = San Francisco ocean view room. Do your homework. This is a bad hotel. We tried to be green on this trip so we did not take a car, so we are not sure about the parking prices around SF, so be sure to check that out if driving.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecritic83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Travel to this city every year, and found this hotel a good place to stay before depature or just arrival. near to airport and the city. Good breakfast, clean and comfort.

But now there is a charge for parking, this might be not good but still cheaper than others in the downtown..

Will come back again next year.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_from_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We've stayed here a number of times over the last ten years. Despite its website, this is NOT a luxury hotel, but it is nonethelss a very acceptable tourist hotel. Our room appeared to have been remodeled recently, and was very clean, especially the bathroom. They still have CRT televisions, but we use this as our base for visiting The City, not for hanging around watching TV. A full breakfast is still part of the deal, and is surprisingly good, although they have eliminated bagels from the bread selection. Freeway access is excellent, and getting to The City is a matter of ten minutes, except in prime rush hour traffic. Parking no longer is free, but the per-stay charge is only $3; compare that to the $40 daily fee routinely charged by the hotels in S.F. The staff is friendly and efficient, but we did check in and out at "off-peak" times so maybe they were not stressed. Our base room rate (standard double beds) was $69 for Friday and Saturday nights, but to that must be added the multiple Bay Area hotel taxes of roughly 16%. It is immediately adjacent to SFO airport, and shuttles run every half hour or so. All in all, a good place to lay your head, but not to hang about in.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 27 in South San Francisco
1,022 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North
Holiday Inn Express San Francisc...
#11 of 27 in South San Francisco
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco  Airport North
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francis...
#15 of 27 in South San Francisco
578 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#5 of 27 in South San Francisco
979 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airpor...
#3 of 27 in South San Francisco
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel

Address: 380 S Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
#2 Best Value Hotel in South San Francisco
#3 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
#4 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range: $117 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient hotel of 3 Best Western "Director's Award" and 11 consecutive "Excellent Housekeeping Awards". Newly renovated rooms, restaurant, bar and meeting space. Location, location, location! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Hotel offers all the amenities you need for business or pleasure! Restaurant, bar, business center, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, complimentary shuttle to SFO. PLEASE NOTE that our front entrance and porte cochere are currently under renovation and our entrance is located at the rear of the hotel. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South San Francisco
South San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing