We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Say "No"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
philadelphia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Just Say "No"”
Reviewed December 19, 2008

Dear Readers,

This was probably one of the worst hotel experiences I have had in 10 years. Other than the water pressure in the shower there is simply nothing nice nor positive to say about this property. I stayed here because of airline error, thus I received a free night. Never ever never stay here EVEN if you receive a free night.

Hotel Building: Big old building; looks like a building that other cities have torn down.

Rooms: Beds are hard; bathroom light has a timer on it; headboard is made out of material that is a perfect place for bed bugs (cheap wood). The door is hollow thus hallway noise is a problem. DO NOT BRING KIDS AS THE WINDOW IN THE ROOM CAN OPEN AND KIDS CAN FALL OUT-this is a big safety issue! Beds are as hard as rocks.

Food: Horrible! Greasy, poor quality and the free breakfast, if you can believe this, is served on PAPER PLATES! This tells you everything you need to know. The free breakfast was nothing but cheap, processed food. The bar was dirty and loud!

People: Grumpy. Front desk (except for one young and well meaning girl) was just cold to any request.

Location: Nothing is around the area expect a McDonald's across the street.

Hotel shuttle to the airport never came, front desk will hire illegal cabs (called limos). I had to take a $14 cab ride to the airport.

In short, this hotel should be torn down.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — Where would you like me to begin.....?
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Scot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2009
Thank you for your reviews! They are very helpful and appreciated so we can continue to improve our hotel and our customer service. We are continuing to make improvements in our hotel in the public areas as well as the guest rooms. TripAdvisor is a true measurement of guest satisfaction and it is our goal to improve the positive comments posted here. Give us a try soon...you will be pleased you did. Thank you again.
Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    748
    303
    106
    64
See reviews for
531
611
164
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central CA
Level Contributor
228 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2008

We booked the Best Western Grosvenor because it was convenient to the 49ers game we attended, had reasonable rates (including a $10 rebate), free parking, and free breakfast. The room was clean and adequate with a nice view of the ocean. The breakfast was good with hot food and a variety of other breakfast foods. Clientele was diverse and heard different languages spoken at breakfast. One of the elevators was broken, so that was inconvenient for some. Upon check out, the clerk didn't apply my rebate, had to wrangle with new computer software, and ended up crediting my credit card. Restaurants and gas stations near by and not far from the city. Adequate if you are on a budget.

  • Liked — Nice free breakfast.
  • Disliked — Hassle applying rebate to bill.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CentralCATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Comfortable hotel, ideal for a one night stop over before or after a flight. Good location, 5 minutes on the free half hourly shuttle from SFO airport. Facilities adequate, and a reasonable breakfast was included.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

I arrived at the Best Western Grosvenor in the early morning hours of July 23 on being rerouted through SFO by United after a missed connection in Denver. The shuttle was potentially a problem since it only runs every half hour and the last airport pickup is at 1:10 a.m., but fortunately we connected. I found the pronunciation of this hotel is "Gross-venner," unlike what you might have been brought up to expect, which would only matter, I suppose, if you were to try to reserve a room by phone through BW's central reservation system.

Both the late night and morning shifts on the front desk were largely indifferent, and the morning shift in particular irritatingly dismissive of guest problems, such as the fact that the computer terminals in the small business center were disabled for cookies and couldn't print boarding passes. ("Oh, yeah, they're not working; we'll have to get that fixed," was the response.) Fortunately the back room folks were much more astute to the problem and were actually helpful, and allowed use of other terminals that worked.

The room I was in was small, but in fairness the night clerk did ask me if "a corner room" would be all right, after I requested a change from a mid-hallway room right next to an extremely noisy vending machine installation. He didn't volunteer the reason for his question but on seeing the room I understood quite well. Nevertheless the room was comfortable. Or perhaps I was just too tired to care.

Breakfast the next morning was dreary, with the scrambled eggs, link sausage, fried potatoes and cold cereal that are typical when breakfasts are "complimentary." But the coffee was reasonable and the fruit juice was good.

The return to the airport was uneventful. The shuttle operator (S & S Tours) evidently scales the size of the vehicle according to anticipated demand, and so the bus back to the terminal was larger than the jitney I had ridden in on the night before. Others have noted the disadvantage of being the last on the dropoff-pickup circuit (possibility of an already- full bus) but that wasn't a problem on this particular day, and being the last stop meant my ride into the airport was the shortest of anybody's on the bus.

There are better places to stay in the airport area but all in all this BW was reasonable in a pinch.

  • Liked — Proximity to airport
  • Disliked — Dismissive attitude of front desk personnel
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank robertl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

An adequate, bland, airport hotel with an OK breakfast buffet and good (though somewhat expensive) dinner. The rooms have free wi-fi, and I could print out my boarding pass at the small business center. The big problem is the airport shuttle. The Best Western is the last stop (5th or 6th stop) for arriving passengers. The shuttle was packed and took close to an hour for a property that is very close to SFO. Departing the next morning, this hotel is the shuttle's last stop. It was packed again and I almost didn't get on. If that happened, I guess one would have to take a taxi. The hotels sharing the shuttle should correct this problem for the summer months when hordes of tourists are visiting.
I had the same problem with a different hotel chain when I visited SFO last May.

  • Liked — business center where I could print boarding pass
  • Disliked — slow crowded hotel shuttle
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We originally booked a different hotel, a little further from the SFO however, when I telephoned the hotel to confirm I found out the shuttle service did not operate as specified in the AAA Tourbook. So, I had to find another hotel fast. This hotel was okay. The bed was terrible so don't plan on getting a restful sleep. The shuttle service (park and fly) was okay. A little tense, because the van goes to many hotels and this one was the last one on the circut. So there was a chance it would have been full when it stopped thus we would have missed getting to the airport on time. We would have then taken a taxi as a back up plan. Luckily we got on the van - full though. We made it.
On the return home, the van driver was out of it. Made our tour bus driver in France look even more professional !

  • Liked — Close to Airport
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slosoosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax N.S.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

I did not like this hotel. I felt scared at night in the area, and my room was dirty and not fresh. I was going to complain but I could not find any service staff at the front desk at 2am I was alone.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — felt scared
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigshot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 29 in South San Francisco
934 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#6 of 29 in South San Francisco
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airpor...
#2 of 29 in South San Francisco
791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North
Holiday Inn Express San Francisc...
#12 of 29 in South San Francisco
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites -- South San Francisco
Quality Inn & Suites -- South Sa...
#10 of 29 in South San Francisco
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Address: 380 S Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in South San Francisco
#3 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
#5 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#6 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient hotel of 3 Best Western "Director's Award" and 11 consecutive "Excellent Housekeeping Awards". Newly renovated rooms, restaurant, bar and meeting space. Location, location, location! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Hotel offers all the amenities you need for business or pleasure! Restaurant, bar, business center, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, complimentary shuttle to SFO. PLEASE NOTE that our front entrance and porte cochere are currently under renovation and our entrance is located at the rear of the hotel. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Best Western, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South San Francisco
South San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing