We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have to...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“If you have to...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you need a place next to the airport for a quick overnight, and everything else is full, this will do. They have an airport shuttle service, which is good. Otherwise, it's a Best Western. And it's cheap. Adjust your expectations.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BlinkingDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks for posting your thoughts on our hotel. As I mentioned to you in a private email, I am sorry that you were disappointed in your stay. We are proud of our hotel and service and we were disappointed to read that you thought we were cheap. I do hope you give us another try in the future. Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    729
    287
    103
    62
See reviews for
513
582
158
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you're looking to spend one night close to the airport because your flight is due early the day after, this hotel is quite okay.

Don't expect the Ritz-Carlton, you won't find it. The hotel needs a freshing-up: there is this hotel smell all around (you know which one...) and the carpets are begging to retire. However the room we had was very clean, the queen bed was A+ and the large TV was new.

The breakfast buffet was included since we booked through Best Western website and did the job nicely.

Be aware that if you have a car, you will have to pay 7.00$ for parking, but that's not unreasonable. Rental car returns are easy to do, since it's only five minutes drive south on the boulevard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your clean room and accommodations. We look forward to having you back for another visit. Jim McGuire, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at this Best Western because it was close to SFO and had a good rate, but it ended up being the worst! Just by walking into the lobby we could predict that it was not to be a good experience! This was last month, april, and they still had the christmas decorations in the lobby!!! The carpet on the corridors was dirty and staines, the room dirty and the bathroom did not look clean at all! Did not even take my clothes off, my shoes slept on the night table! It was very noisy throughout the few hours tah we stayed there! Never again, pay a little more and stay in a nicer and cleaner place. We did not leave because it was late and it was prepaid, nonrefundable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
I believe you may have reviewed the wrong hotel. We do not have any Christmas decorations in our Lobby, and all of our carpeting in our hallways are brand new. Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I've stayed here about once or twice a year in the last few years, and have to say it is certainly one of the more reasonably priced hotels in the SFO area. The service is consistently good, and BW elite members get special recognition. Breakfast is ok for a day or two.

Room Tip: You're between a highway and a busy road.... pick one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank okazon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello Montreal! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your continued patronage. We hope to see you again soon! Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The hotel is super close to the airport (and provides a free shuttle), but it is not near anything else. Be prepared to drive if you're looking for a meal (other than the hotel restaurant) or a fun activity. The hotel was very clean, but the rooms are on the smallish side, particularly the bathrooms. The complementary breakfast was great; wide selection that varied each morning. The beds were comfy, good water pressure in the shower, and it was quiet. The Grosvenor was a good value compared to similar hotels in the San Francisco area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraftBrewTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello Washington and thanks for your review! I am glad you enjoyed our hotel and breakfast. For your next visit, please know that (besides our own restaurant), there are many great restaurants here in South San Francisco - about a 10 minute walk to downtown. We hope you get the chance to experience them the next time you are here. We hope to see you soon!
Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a good location if you have an early morning flight. The rooms are clean and well-appointed. Our experience of reception was not so good - it was slow and seemingly disorganised. The front concertina doors kept opening and closing which was noisy and brought in the cold.

The restaurant front desk was unattended and when we finally managed to get some service they couldn't find menus. That being said, the food and wine were good and tasty.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caite29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello Melbourne and thank you for your great review. Thanks for your comments regarding the restaurant staff - I will share this with them so they are aware. Yes, our front doors are automatic - I am sorry you were bothered by this. I am very glad that you enjoyed your food! We look forward to your next return! Thank you again. Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our room was robbed on May 10 while were were out for the day. Missing are a Kindle, an electric razor and professional documents. Management said it was impossible for anyone besides housekeeping to get into the room. Someone did, our things are missing and we did not even receive an apology. It was suggested that we had lost the items ourselves or that we were trying to con them. This is a prime example of adding insult to injury and we are very disappointed in how this incident was handled.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kersti07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hello Kersti and thank you for your post. I understand your frustrations about the missing items in your room. We have a very trusting staff who all have been here a number of years and we have the utmost trust in them. I am disappointed that you did not mention that we reached out to you on several occasions via telephone conversations and emails and even refunded your entire stay for your inconvenience. I know our Director of Housekeeping handled the situation in a professional manner and spoke to you a few times. I again apologize for the inconvenience and do hope you give us another try. Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airpor...
#2 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites -- South San Francisco
Quality Inn & Suites -- South Sa...
#9 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North
Holiday Inn Express San Francisc...
#12 of 28 in South San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Address: 380 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
#5 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#6 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient hotel of 3 Best Western "Director's Award" and 11 consecutive "Excellent Housekeeping Awards". Newly renovated rooms, restaurant, bar and meeting space. Location, location, location! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Hotel offers all the amenities you need for business or pleasure! Restaurant, bar, business center, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, complimentary shuttle to SFO. PLEASE NOTE that our front entrance and porte cochere are currently under renovation and our entrance is located at the rear of the hotel. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South San Francisco
South San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing