We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellet service, excellent location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellet service, excellent location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

For the price, the park-and-fly deal at the Grosvenor SFO can't be beat! In addition to being ten minutes from the terminal at SFO, its a well run hotel with all amenities (bar, restaurant, etc.) Room were absolutely quiet, even though hwy 101 is right next to the property. We'll stay here on our way back from Hawaii. Icing on the cake, a full hot buffet breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello South Carolina! We hope you had a nice visit to Hawai'i! Thank you for your great comments - we really appreciate your feedback! Hope to see you again soon the next time you visit the Islands! Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    728
    285
    102
    62
See reviews for
512
580
158
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel makes travel to-from SFO very easy. PLUSes: Simple, clean, nicely decorated room and a comfortable bed. A restaurant/bar downstairs allowed us to get a good meal after an all-day flight. Dependable, frequent SFO-hotel transportation. Best Western is a good brand at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DownByTheBay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked the Grosvenor because it was the better (though more expensive) of two hotels that were still available on a website we found dedicated to park, sleep and fly packages at SFO. These packages are especially useful if you have to take an early morning flight and will save you the cost of paid parking, making the effective hotel rate that much lower. We booked the night before arriving and paid $146 including tax and hot buffet breakfast for one night plus up to 10 days of parking. The hotel was sold out by the late hour we checked in, perhaps because of the World Series game up the road. But there were still some available parking slots.

The site we used for booked called the hotel the "Best Western SFO" which turned out to be the Grosvenor. We found out when we went down for breakfast that not all such sites include breakfast. So be careful to read the fine print on the site/package you choose. We had to correct the host at breakfast when he first told us ours wasn't included. He double-checked his print-out and then confirmed that it did.

Our room was refreshingly clean and nice, especially relative to the effective price we paid. It had two double-beds, a desk and chair, two sitting chairs, a mini-fridge, coffee maker, and free wi-fi. The bathroom was basic but clean and included a hair dryer. Breakfast started at 6 am and if you have to leave before that, they can pack up a take-out breakfast which we were told is pretty basic. The free airport shuttle leaves every 30 minutes. It serves several hotels, but on the way to the airport and back, the only other hotel it stopped at was the Holiday Inn Express right across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank castriker888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The pluses for this hotel for me would be that I thought it had an excellent breakfast, decent wifi service in the room and a free on-time and reliable airport shuttle (you are literally 10 mins from SFO) that runs every half hour. The bed was also nice. Everything else (rooms need updating) was very mediocre. The men at the front desk are nice. The woman in the evening? Not so much. The restaurant adjacent to the lobby has so-so food, a bar, and a happy hour from 5-7.

Would I stay here again? Yes. Would I stay here again if I have the option of staying at Travelodge right down the street for a lesser price? Absolutely not. (And by the way....they both share the same on-time, free and reliable airport shuttle service.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aimster9870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is almost used by business people. Room was clean but could use some updating. Bathroom was very small and shower head was low which was uncomfortable for me. Parking is $5 per day and limited. Tried breakfast buffet ($10pp) 1 morning and is so so. Front desk kid was helpfull.

Room Tip: No need to use car if you want to get to downtown San Francisco. Just hop on the free shutle to airp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Axl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Happy Halloween Axl, and thanks for your review! You can book your reservation directly with us or on the BEST WESTERN website, and breakfast is complimentary, instead of the $8.95 fee. Please give it a try next time and we hope to see you again soon! Jim McGuire, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel before and were pleased to return, it is very convenient to SFO. Our room on the 5th floor was large and airy, well decorated and very welcoming. We had a fridge, microwave, and good tea & coffee making facilities. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the meal was hot and nicely served. My husband is a platinum BW member and so we were given a 'turn down' service (a very nice touch) a towelling elephant on our bed with chocolates on the pillow, the lights put on and soft music. Breakfast in the morning provided a good choice and was available although we had an early start. The only downside - the front desk staff could be more welcoming, and the lounge staff need to advise guests that "happy hour" does not apply to all drinks, this would prevent mix ups later. All said we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieFareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hello Winnie and thanks so much for your great review! I am happy that you enjoyed all of our amenities including the turn down service! I will share your comments with the front desk and lounge staff so we can make some improvements. Thanks so much for your feedback and hope to see you soon! Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Rooms are small but that's what you get for the price you pay 80usd/night
Comfy and soft mattress with fluffy pillows and blanket. Crisp and white linens.
Bathroom is clean.
Breakfast has few variety. Only 1 or 2 items change (sausage/cornbeef/etc) the rest stays the same.
Staffs are not friendly. They will treat you like a 3rd class citizen even if you smile and stay humble.
The hotel have a lot of foreigners. There are guest foreigners who have a habit of banging doors and running down the hallways and speaking loudly in the corridors.
Far from shopping centers and food stalls. There's only Ihop and mc donals nearby.

Room Tip: If you're staying for max of 2 nigths this bearable. But more than that better find another hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spytime2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello Manila and thank you for your review. You are correct - we do have a lot of foreign travelers from all over the world, just like yourself from the Philippines, and we welcome all of our great International guests. I am sorry if some of our guests were loud during your stay. I do apologize about the customer service you received. I will share your comments with them to remind them how important a smile is! We hope to see you again on your next visit. Thanks again, Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airpor...
#2 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites -- South San Francisco
Quality Inn & Suites -- South Sa...
#9 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North
Holiday Inn Express San Francisc...
#12 of 28 in South San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Address: 380 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
#5 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#6 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient hotel of 3 Best Western "Director's Award" and 11 consecutive "Excellent Housekeeping Awards". Newly renovated rooms, restaurant, bar and meeting space. Location, location, location! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Hotel offers all the amenities you need for business or pleasure! Restaurant, bar, business center, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, complimentary shuttle to SFO. PLEASE NOTE that our front entrance and porte cochere are currently under renovation and our entrance is located at the rear of the hotel. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South San Francisco
South San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing