We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was between average and very good”

Grand Palace Seafood Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
217 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Food was between average and very good”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our first experience at this place was being guests at a recent wedding banquet reception. When food is prepared and cooked in mass quantity, the taste and quality can suffer, which it did at this reception.

One of these days we would go back to try them out for diem sum and regular dinner.

Odd placement of the hand dryer in the women's rest room. It's in the opposite location of the sink so one could can slip on the water trail on the tile floor from the sink to the hand dryer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jpanda168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great portions, yummy food”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by as a party of 6 about an hour before closing time. The staff were prompt and professional. The restaurant was clean and well-lit. The menu offered a great variety for each category with dishes varying in price range. Overall, the average price was very reasonable. The dishes we ordered were delivered quickly. The presentation was impressive and the food was delicious. The portions were decent compares to the price. We will definitely come back to this restaurant...often!

Helpful?
Thank Angie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
120 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“"Best dim sum in SF"”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Everyone thinks that Chinatown has the best dim sum but we can't seem to find any in the past few visits. It's worth the drive. We went there twice on our trip. The food was fresh, tasty and well worth the price. Loved the crispy tofu wrapped shrimp, shrimp dumplings, shrimp stuffed eggplant. The noodles were prepared exactly how we ordered it. Everything was made to order. Loved how they had their elegant chopsticks in wrappers, white linen table setting. Everything was clean.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MissG67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Food was tasteless; presentation good”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Took my mother there for her birthday (9 of us) and selected one of the banquet menus and made a reservation. When we got there, we had to wait half an hour for some reason before they would even come to our table. There was a wedding going on also and that may explain the slow service and quality of food. The presentation of the all the dishes were beautiful but the taste was bland. We have eaten at many chinese restaurants: Koi Palace in Daly City, , Hong Kong Lounge in Millbrae, Harbor Village at the Embarcadero (not there anymore) and many chinese restaurants in Chinatown, Richmond and Sunset and I have to say that this was the worst. They also forgot one dish in the menu.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank foodandwine28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great banquet facility”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a banquet for about 60 people there. The food was very good, the service excellent. It was so good we went back for dim sum the next day which was also excellent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Goatman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Palace Seafood Restaurant also viewed

South San Francisco, CA
South San Francisco, CA
 
South San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Grand Palace Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing