We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at most of the SFO hotels over the last couple of years. We have found that the Hampton Inn is the best all around hotel in the area. Rooms are well equipped with a nice working shower. The breakfast is very good, they have lots of staff working, so everything is immediately filled and fresh. Front desk is very experienced and knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    268
    88
    34
    30
See reviews for
269
171
51
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed one short night before catching a very early shuttle to the airport. This Hampton is very clean with great beds,nice rooms and bathrooms. They had a bagged breakfast ready for those leaving early. A typical great Hampton Inn visit. There is a restaurant in the Embassy Suites next door that was very good, didn't see any others nearby. The shuttle service is a shared one and we waited for quite a while at the airport for the correct one to get there. The shuttle trip to or from the airport may stop at 3 or 4 others, so plan accordingly. I think hotels should let you know on their website if it is a shared shuttle so you can consider alternatives.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OshkoshTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Overall we had a good experience. The room was clean and quiet. The breakfast was very typical. It was a bit of a drive into the city but for the price of the hotel it was worth the drive. The only problem was the internet was VERY glitchy. This made it difficult to search for attractions in the city. We ended up leaving the hotel and found a Starbucks to help with planning our day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19Sam65
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We needed to say near the airport for a night before catching an early morning flight. The hotel location was very convenient. It was nice not to have to pay for parking. The room was clean and well maintained. It is great that Hampton offers a one bedroom suite. While the room was next to the elevator, it was surprisingly quite. We had a great night sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 19Sam65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

clean, comfortable, helpful, friendly, & efficient staff! For the price, this was an excellent value. The breakfast included in the price provided the necessary options for when you are on the move and do not have time to get very selective. The staff was very friendly, courteous, and professional.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jesus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

The thing about the Hampton Inn chain is you can depend on them to be a good value solid accommodation choice.

I stayed in a King Corner non smoking room. The room was large and very clean. They are nothing fancy in terms of fit out, but they have all the usual amenities. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The room was quiet and had a partial outlook over the bay (although the primary view was of another hotel and parking). Each time I showered it took a while for the hot water (3-4 minutes) which felt like a long time given the drought warnings when I was there, but once it got hot it was plentiful.

As with all Hampton Inns, they have an excellent complimentary hot and cold breakfast.

The staff were friendly and professional.

I was in the middle of a two week trip and was pleasantly surprised to find they had laundry facilities that were clean, inexpensive and quick.

One thing to note, compared to many SFO hotels, parking at the Hampton Inn is complimentary.

The location is excellent - just 5 minutes from SFO and convenient to both downtown San Francisco and Silicon Valley.

All in all, another good value dependable Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iznik8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, CA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was the best value, best staff, super clean, and extremely comfortable! I will definitely stay at this hotel again on our next visit. We were in a King/sofa sleeper room which was perfect for my two daughters and myself. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was clean. I have zero complaints and was extremely happy about our stay. I absolutely would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the area. We stayed here so we could visit San Francisco, which is about a 15-20 minute drive. I have no doubt this was much better than if we stayed within the city or even another hotel near this one. Excellent value!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Yumiko O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport - South San Francisco
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Fra...
#10 of 28 in South San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#5 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport

Property: Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Address: 300 Gateway Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-7016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
#6 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 1.5 miles from the San Francisco International Airport, our hotels offers an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. Situated in the center of the biotech industry and minutes away from downtown San Francisco, our guests enjoy the best of the bay area. We offer free shuttle to/from the San Francisco International Airport, as well as a free shuttle to Union Square (shopping center in downtown San Francisco), Fri-Sat. We also offer multiple types of rooms including suites and meeting rooms. Free WiFi, free daily hot breakfast, free parking, fitness center, Manager's Reception (M-W). Also, each room has a 37in LCD flat screen TV with numerous HD channels. We Love Having you Here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Francisco Airport Hotel South San Francisco
Hampton Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing