We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Rooms, Great Staff and Amenities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tired Rooms, Great Staff and Amenities.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Strengths:

1). The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Answered about a thousand questions for me about the general area and about getting to the airport without any frustration at all.

2). Great fitness room for a small hotel. Looks like it was just redone.

3). Two miles from the SFO Airport. Runs a shuttle from 4 AM to midnight.

4) Microwave and Refrigerator in my room.

5). An evening happy hour that serves beer and wine -- 2 glasses per person.


Weaknesses:

1). The decor in the rooms was incredibly dated. Looked like the early 90s all over again. Cheesy wallpaper. Glass doors on the closet. Gold trim on things.

2). Really small bathroom.

3). The airport shuttle is shared with three other hotels, so even though the hotel is about 10 minutes from the airport, it will still take you 30-35 minutes to get there simply because you have to stop a bunch of times picking up passengers from other hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wferriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    274
    91
    35
    31
See reviews for
283
180
52
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I decided to stay overnight at the airport rather than travel into central SF after a long flight from London - and I was glad I did because our flight was five hours late! Our room was well decorated and furnished and we slept very well. There was a reasonable complementary breakfast in the morning. The staff were efficient and friendly and checkin and checkout went very smoothly. We took the free shuttle from the airport to the hotel and a big bonus was the shuttle from the hotel into Union Square the next morning - free except for a gratuity. The lack of good dining facilities near the hotel was not a problem because after a long wait at LHR and eleven hours of airline food we were not very hungry when we got to the hotel! It was quite expensive for a Hampton Inn but I think it was competitive for the night of our stay. (In 2010 I paid £46 for another hotel at SFO, the quote this time for the same hotel on the same date was £124.) I would certainly consider staying at the Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V3971RTjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

All in all, I wasn't thrilled with this hotel, however, I do like the consistency of Hampton Inns. Also, the staff was very good, so I can't let them be missed in this review.

The room was your typical Hampton Inn room. The beds were comfortable and it was a good sleep. As stated before, the bathroom sinks are just outside the bathroom and right when you walk in the door of the room - which for some reason is a big turnoff for me. Another problem - besides Asian/Mexican foods, there were not many other restaurants close to this hotel. Although not the hotel's fault, I would like there to be something close within walking distance that served regular food (when you travel for a while on business sometimes you just want regular boring food that you "know"). I did end up driving to some mall area (forget the name now) which was a semi-disaster since it was before the holidays, but there were some chain restaurants around there (BJ's Brewhouse, Red Robin, etc).

If I have to catch an early morning flight again out of SFO, I think I will try to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank embee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have stayed here twice in the last 2 months. The room is clean and the bed is comfy which is the best part to me. The sink/counter is in a nook just outside of the bathroom which is not what I'd prefer. Breakfast is typical continental style and they have a waffle iron with pre-made mix. I have to say the accessible bathroom was not as clean as the standard bathroom that we stayed it. Also they turn the fridge off when the rooms are vacant so beware it takes time to cool down once you turn it on if you're bringing left-overs in. It's fine for the price and location if you want to be close to both the city and the airport. We come up for the 49ers games so it's perfect. It's just a few miles from the stadium and it's on the same side of the highway. If you get hungry there aren't tons of options unless you eat at one of the other surrounding hotels. There's a Wendy's and Starbucks down the street at the gas station. Otherwise, you'll have to venture out away from the area where the hotel is.

Room Tip: Go with a standard bathroom unless you truly require an accessible one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_riddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent only one night right after Thanksgiving, but did not know lobby area would be totally under renovation. Even the staff had to reassign our room number after discovering we could not get to it due to construction. We had reserved an upgraded room with a jacuzzi. Obviously it had not been used for some time as the on/off switch barely worked, and when it finally came on all kinds of brown bubbles appeared in the bath water.

Room Tip: You might want to ask if the hotel is still under renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieFlutist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The lobby was being remodeled while we were there. But they are working quickly and it should be completed by the end of November. Overall a very decent place to stay. Not really in walking distance to anything. But it is very convenient to the freeway. The breakfast was really quite good though not as good as an Embassy Suite, but far better than most chains. Very quiet, nicely decorated, excellent shower pressure. Manager was very accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days in November. Typical Hampton - Clean, comfortable beds, free breakfast, free parking, and good price for value. Would stay here again when in SF. Hotels in downtown SF charge $40 and up for parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist-Pitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
943 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
1,947 reviews
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport - South San Francisco
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Fra...
#8 of 28 in South San Francisco
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#5 of 28 in South San Francisco
921 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Francisco Airport North
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport

Property: Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Address: 300 Gateway Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-7016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 1.5 miles from the San Francisco International Airport, our hotels offers an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. Situated in the center of the biotech industry and minutes away from downtown San Francisco, our guests enjoy the best of the bay area. We offer free shuttle to/from the San Francisco International Airport, as well as a free shuttle to Union Square (shopping center in downtown San Francisco), Fri-Sat. We also offer multiple types of rooms including suites and meeting rooms. Free WiFi, free daily hot breakfast, free parking, fitness center, Manager's Reception (M-W). Also, each room has a 37in LCD flat screen TV with numerous HD channels. We Love Having you Here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Francisco Airport Hotel South San Francisco
Hampton Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing