We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Clean room, helpful staff, courteous shuttle to airport & Fisherman's Warf. Just wish there were more restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. Very quiet rooms. Never heard a door slam or a loud TV. Our room was next to the vending room & business center but we were never disturbed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ovladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 875 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

1. Staff was nice and helpful.
2. Breakfast was good, plenty of options.
3. Offers a good night's sleep.
4. Little wine, beer and finger foods reception in lobby M-W afternoons, nice and definitely different, though the wine itself isn't very good but I wouldn't have expected it to be so.
5. Came back to room while they were in the middle of cleaning and saw beds had been completely stripped down, which means sheets are changed every single night of your stay, not just between guests. Not a big deal either way considering I don't change my sheets at home every single day, but it's nice to see a place that will do so each and every day.

Overall, pleasant stay, no real complaints to speak of.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comsewogian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Stayed here as convinenet for early morning flight and great rewiews on Trip advisor. Would not stay here again. Reception staff totally disinterested and unhelpful- left to struggle with our own luggage on and off the shuttle and getting to uor rooml, not even offered cart -, room smelt musty and wifi didnt work - arrived late at night so wanted to purchase food, a few bars only available from larder - breakfast very limited and poor quality food. apart from close to airport nothing else to recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kildare2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

we booked two rooms with Hotels.com in for three nights from July 11 to July 14. When we arrived they said they only had a reservation for one or the rooms. When Hotels.com (Expedia) confronted them on this they claimed that their computer could only book one room on a single transaction. Since we we didn't have two different confirmation numbers they didn't hold the reservation for our second room. The hotel was all booked up and it was obvious they had sold our room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank jorr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSFO, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Dear jorr50,

We would like to thank you for posting a review on tripadvisor. We take very seriously any suggestions and constantly aim to provide the best possible hospitality for our guests.

We would like to apologize for the inconvinience this mix up caused to you. Although not often, in certain instances reservations made by an outside source (and not through our hotel) may lead to similar situations. It is best to always call the actual property and confirm such reservations.

Again, our sincere apologies.

Best Regards,
BJ Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Most hotels in this chain offer the same things. What can make the difference is employee attitude. This hotel has very friendly staff, corteus and eager to help.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vilar30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This was not as good a hotel as I expected but for an airport hotel its ok. Next time I am trying a different hotel for a little bit more money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel4Fun7755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We booked based on the bowing Tripadvisor reveiws. The room was OK - what I have come to expect from chain operated hotels in the $125 - 150 per. Night price range except for the hair found in the prepared bed, an unwelcome present.

The main problem is that the sound insulation is poor, we did not need the wake up call as the noise from the guest showering in the room next door did the job. We were near the elevator, which is poorly located and difficult to get in to with suitcases, and could hear the normal conversation of folks in the hall.

The bed was also on the firm side for our preferences

Note for early departures no breakfast is available before 6 am

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FunOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSFO, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Dear FunOnly,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor.com
We would like to offer our sincere apologies for the issues you mentioned.

We seriously take any comments and suggestions from our guests and we try our best to continuously improve our services and ammenities. We are currently looking into expanding our breakfast hours and/or offer breakfast bags "to-go".

We hope we will get a chance in the future to offer you our accomodations and services and exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,
BJ Patel
General Manager
Hampton Inn San Francisco Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
997 reviews
0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport - South San Francisco
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Fra...
#10 of 28 in South San Francisco
1,650 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Francisco Airport North
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/...
#6 of 28 in South San Francisco
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco  Airport North
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francis...
#16 of 28 in South San Francisco
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport

Address: 300 Gateway Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-7016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range: $120 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 1.5 miles from the San Francisco International Airport, our hotels offers an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. Situated in the center of the biotech industry and minutes away from downtown San Francisco, our guests enjoy the best of the bay area. We offer free shuttle to/from the San Francisco International Airport, as well as a free shuttle to Union Square (shopping center in downtown San Francisco), Fri-Sat. We also offer multiple types of rooms including suites and meeting rooms. Free WiFi, free daily hot breakfast, free parking, fitness center, Manager's Reception (M-W). Also, each room has a 37in LCD flat screen TV with numerous HD channels. We Love Having you Here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Francisco Airport Hotel South San Francisco
Hampton Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing