We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Served it's purpose for an early morning flight. Room was clean and had three beds ( hide a bed and two reg). Clerk was fantastic and gave me a key quick so my traveling 4 year old could pee!! WATCH the driveway entrance if your car is low to the ground:(

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank B_RSmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    116
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
53
111
14
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and quality of this hotel for the price (considering it was near the San Francisco airport). But we were most impressed at the friendliness, efficiency, and helpfulness of the gentleman at the front desk. I didn't get his name (the owner-manager?), but he went out of his way to help us in arranging for wake-up calls and a reliable ride to the airport at 4 am. The neighborhood wasn't great, but we didn't feel unsafe. The microwave and refrigerator added to the convenience of the room--everything else was pretty basic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLS311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. I will be sure to let our staff know how much of an impact they made on your experience. We are always pleased to be your second home when you're at the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
312 reviews
311 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a family run hotel. We were greeted by a very friendly gentleman who was happy to chat a bit. Rooms are simple but clean and the rates are reasonable. Nobody would stay here for a romantic weekend, but if you have to spend a night in the area, this is an excellent option.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The manager was very friendly and accommodating. Worked hard to make sure our stay was comfortable. The room was clean and quiet. The sheets had a a couple of small tears in them but it wasn't very noticeable. It was a good value and good location close to the airport. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments and I am pleased that you had a good stay overall. However, I apologize about tears on the sheets. This feedback will be used in training our staff. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We needed a night's rest on our way back from Lake Tahoe to the SFO airport and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of this hotel. We checked in late around midnight and the check in counter staff were available immediately. The free on-site parking was a big bonus for us given the expensive parking rates for SFO hotels in general. The room and the bed were extremely clean and well maintained. The TV was almost sparkling new with extended cable. Basic amenities like microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, iron, hair-dryer were all present. Even though the hotel was more or less full, it was extremely quiet at night and that helped us to catch up with the relaxing sleep we had been deprived of for the last few days. The city is about a 20 min drive and the airport is about 15 mins during traffic. Before catching the 11:30 AM flight we were able to make a quick trip to catch a glimpse of the Golden Gate Bridge as well.
The only downside or in other words the only thing that would do well with a major upgrade is the lackluster, somewhat stale and barely adequate breakfast that they serve. It comprises of just basic coffee, tea, cereals and some prepacked bagels/danish etc. Given the price range the breakfast was most certainly below expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SrvDutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. I am disappointed to hear that our breakfast didn't meet your expectations. This critical feedback will be used in improving our breakfast. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Indiana
Level Contributor
172 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were warmly greeted upon arrival by Sam. As it was almost dinner time, we asked for a recommendation and were promptly directed 2 blocks to Grant Ave. within walking distance which featured numerous non-chain ethnic restaurants. Sam also suggested parking facilities for our trip into SF the next 2 days. If you are looking for a budget friendly motel within minutes of all Bay Area attractions we highly recommend you consider this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. I will be sure to let our staff know how much of an impact they made on your experience. We are always pleased to be your second home when you're at the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is the second year that I have stayed at this hotel, and again it didn't disappoint. I was attending a conference downtown, and going on my own dime, needed affordable accommodations in easy reach of the city, and this is a great choice.

I stayed here for three days, and arrived a little before check-in time, but there was absolutely no problem checking in early. The rooms are relatively basic but comfortable, functional and exceptionally clean -- while this certainly isn't a luxury hotel, it has everything you need. The bathrooms are possibly a little tired, but extremely well maintained, and again, spotlessly clean.

Despite having a no vacancy sign at both check-in and check-out, the hotel was very quiet, and I was never disturbed by other guests. Aircraft noise from the nearby airport is audible outside, but I never noticed it in the room. The air conditioning unit worked very well, and the bed was comfortable if on the firm side. The two car parks were always almost full, but even arriving back late I was always able to find a space.

This hotel is conveniently located for the Caltrain station, a good option for reaching downtown. The station is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, and even walking back at night I never felt unsafe. The Caltrain costs $3 to get downtown and takes about 15 minutes, so this is a very good option to save on the cost of parking if you are going to be there for a few hours.

The only downside I can think of is that the wifi, which last year had been faster-than-average for a hotel of this type, was this year often slow to the point of unusable -- on a few occasions I had to switch to tethering via my phone, as the wifi would only partially load webpages at best. This may have been a result of the hotel being at capacity, or the location of my room, however.

I would have no hesitation in staying here again next year -- I just hope that, as they are appear to be becoming very popular, I'm able to get in!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for making our hotel your second home when you're in San Francisco. Your continued patronage of our hotel is sincerely appreciated and we hope to be part of your future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airp...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#6 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inn at Oyster Point
Inn at Oyster Point
#2 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airpor...
#5 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 642 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
Address: 701 Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
#2 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
#2 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport 1.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Airport/South San Francisco. We are conveniently located off Highway 101, only three miles north from San Francisco International Airport and eight miles from downtown San Francisco. Our hotel is a short ride from Fisherman's Wharf, Cable Car Stations, Pier 39, Presidio, Fort Mason, Alcatraz, and the Golden Gate Bridge. Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Airport/South San Francisco features 23 newly renovated hotel rooms and suites with beautiful decor. Our hotel offers a free continental breakfast served daily from 7am to 10am. Our guest rooms feature free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, mini-fridges, coffeemakers, cable TVs with HBO, hairdryers, irons, ironing boards, and free local calls. Free on-site parking is available. Our hotel is ideal for families, couples, and individual travelers. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Airport/South San Francisco offers the perfect blend of bay area charm, luxury, and modern amenities. We understand that it is the little things that make your stay comfortable. At Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Airport/South San Francisco, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites - San Francisco Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing