We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Offers more than an airport stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport - South San Francisco
Reviewed June 12, 2006

We stayed for one night, prior to our recent trip to SF. I was unsure whether to book with them, or go for something cheaper/budget, but the two rooms (suite) swung it for me, the rate being $149, booked direct.

The accommodation was absolutely huge and felt like a small flat. The surroundings are attractive, and while I would not want to be based there for more than one night (unless I was there on business). the central atrium and koi carp pool with plenty of bar seating area is attractive.

Beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was fine with a large selection of neutrogena products. Shower was a little tricky to use however.

We ate dinner and had some drinks in the bar. The drinks seemed a little expensive, but not overly so (USA seems so expensive for alcohol!). Dinner can be expensive if you want it to be, but i stuck with a pasta dish which was under $20.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank helencb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,548 - 1,554 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2006

Stayed here on the 16th April 2006 for 1 night before an early flight to the UK. Firstly, remember that this is never going to be a resort hotel - it is a transit hotel for those who are travelling, and on that basis we found it to be a very pleasant surprise - it is only 5 minutes from the rental car drop off at SFO airport and was so stress free!.

Check in was painless, staff were business like and fine. Room was huge, a suite with separate living area, with comfy sofa, king bed, and large bathroom with good shower - fluffy towels, nice linens and bathrobes - it might have made a difference that I am a hilton gold member and we were on the gold floor. Concerige was helpful and gave us lots of info on Pizza co's who delivered and which one was best. Reataurant seemed expensive, but the menu looked good. There is free inernet access in the lobby, behind the bar, and the bar staff were really helpful when we asked for 2 empty wine galsses and a corkscrew for some wine we had. All of the rooms surround an internal enclosed courtyard and there is a tropical garden theme with ponds and carp which is lovely - the tables are dotted around this area. A nice change form corporate receptions

Happy hour/manager's reception is from 5-7 and drinks are free for residents! We were amazed and had several generous G&Ts plus beer etc - saved a fortune and a nice way to unwind after a grim drive. You can also get really nice snacks for minimal cost, plus free nibbles such as tortilla chips etc. Pool looked nice but was full of kids, however when it was adults only later in the evening it was very nice. All of the shared areas were really clean. B/fast was great, included in our rate and the Chef cooked to order, and they don't mind you raiding the buffet for fruit and bread/muffins etc - we took loads of bananas and apples and they offered us more!.

We found the staff to be very nice - however we were nice to them and noticed a marked difference from the folk who simply ordered them about or were not respectful - so perhaps you get what you give. We did not have kids, but it looks like it would be a good place to take them.

Overall I would stay here again and would recommend it if you are travelling and want space, good food and a comfortable bed within a certain budget.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank vicki1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
South San Francisco 250 gateway
18
Reviewed April 3, 2006

We stayed at the Embassy this weekend and had some security issus. Our teams books this hotel every year for basketball tournament. At our stay weekend our boys were in our room playing cards and security came up and said they had over limit in the room. There were 10 boys and the limit in the room was 6. I explained to them they were not all staying over just her playing cards. I asked where there complaints of noise or anything and they said no. they came and check alot of rooms. So I understand if they had to many people in the room we dispersed the boys and allow only 6 in the room. The security people were very rude. After awhile the 5 boys stayed and continued to play card. Security again came back around 1:30 and complaind again about to much noise. I was sleeping the room and did not hear the excessive noise. They were totally harassing the kids. We did not want the boys running around the hotel and I told them to stay inside and the could play cards. I understand the hotel not wanting kids running around and disturbing others. My friend next door also complain the they also knocked on their door at 2:00 am to check. They were all sleeping and she had to get up to answer the door. I have never in all these years been treated like this. I am a parent and keep control of the kids in our room. they did not even adk the boys to speak to me. i did not find this out till the next morning.

Stayed: April 2006
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Singapore
18
Reviewed March 18, 2006

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Miranda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2006

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank jamkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2005

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank lite2shine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
997 reviews
5.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Francisco Airport (SFO) - Waterfront
0 mi away
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airpor...
#2 of 28 in South San Francisco
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Francisco Airport North
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
2,085 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/...
#6 of 28 in South San Francisco
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport - South San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport - South San Francisco

Address: 250 Gateway Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-7018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range: $137 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport - South San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport - South San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Francisco Airport Hotel South San Francisco
Embassy Suites South San Francisco
Embassy Suite South San Francisco
South San Francisco Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing